[RC4] GYM Sitemaps & RSS (aka mx Google Sitemaps)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

rockboyteek wrote: http://www.able2know.com/forums/about15132.html

number 23... would that be right to do.. static URLs?.. and how long will it take for google to pull the topic pages?


You may have missed that I updated the package to add the able2know contrib file.

You must install it (meaning overite the actual file on your ftp), otherwise, you'll send vanillia url to google !

++

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

right uploaded the file in mod_rewrite into includes file... is that it?... no other changes?...
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators
rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

do i have to changes mo rewrite to yes in admin?.. it mentions about .htaccess... but i had nothing to with that...i did edit it with the able2know mod but not with this mod...
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

rockboyteek wrote: do i have to changes mo rewrite to yes in admin?.. it mentions about .htaccess... but i had nothing to with that...i did edit it with the able2know mod but not with this mod...


No more changes than overwriting the regular sitemap_forum.php with the one located in the contrib folder (which you have not done yet according to what I can see at your site).

The mod rewrite feature you are talking about in acp is only ment to rewrite your sitemaps url :

sitemap.php would thus be sitemaps.xml
sitemap.php?fid=xx would thus be forum-sitemap-XX.xml
sitemap.php?forum would thus be sitemap-forum.xml.

To do this, but it's not mandatory (just cosmetic type of feature ;) ), you have to add the rewriterules provided in the contrib .htaccess in the .htaccess you ar using. Read the read me file and make sure tu properly ste path (should be the same as able2know's, if you install the fiel one level up, you'll have to put those rules in the .htaccess located at the root level and set path accordinaly).
Then, you should activate the feature in acp and test your sitemap ;)

You could also resubmit your new sitemap : sitemaps.xml, but the old sitemap.php registration will still be working as is, providing rewrited sitemaps url.


++
Last edited by dcz on Wed Mar 08, 2006 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

i have uploaded the new file from contrib to includes folder.... isnt it working?
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

rockboyteek wrote: i have uploaded the new file from contrib to includes folder.... isnt it working?


nope.

here : http://etcworld.co.uk/etcforum/sitemap.php?fid=16

I still see http://etcworld.co.uk/etcforum/viewtopic.php?t=420

where it should be : http://etcworld.co.uk/etcforum/about420.html

What and where did you upload ?

++

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

i uploaded it to overwrite the sitemap_forums.php in /includes folder...
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

rockboyteek wrote: i uploaded it to overwrite the sitemap_forums.php in /includes folder...


it's gg_sitemaps/includes/

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

o ye.. did that on first installation.. there uploaded it :D
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

rockboyteek wrote: o ye.. did that on first installation.. there uploaded it :D


And ... it's working ;)

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

good good...:D
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators
Blue Ninja
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:58 am
Contact:

Google says "Sitemap not found", but looks right i

Post by Blue Ninja »

Hello,

I just installed this mod today, and I *think* I set it up correctly, but Google's sitemaster tools tell me the sitemap was "not found". The sitemap I added was http://blueninja.boldlygoingnowhere.org ... itemap.php and it comes up in my browser as what appears to be a proper XML file listing the categories and forums.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance...

EDIT: Doh! I had edited lines 42 and 68 as per the instructions when I was going to sitemap from the root of one site, but only un-edited one of them when I copied to another site that was sitemapped from the forum folder. In the immortal words of Rosanna Rosannadanna, "Nevermind!"

All fixed now!
Last edited by Blue Ninja on Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Peter77sx
Registered User
Posts: 3260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:51 pm

Post by Peter77sx »

Hi, Do I still have to have a mx_ggsitemaps directory ( http://site.com/phpbb/mx_ggsitemaps ) if I have already one in my mx bb Portal Module directory?
Blue Ninja
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:58 am
Contact:

Updating forum location...

Post by Blue Ninja »

I made a slight change, so that the Googlebot will show as "Viewing sitemap" on the admin page if it is, in fact, viewing the sitemap and not crawling the forums.

As I've mentioned elsewhere, I'm very new to PHP, but experience in other languages makes me think I'm probably not screwing this up TOO badly!

Comments/corrections/etc. welcome...

Code: Select all

Open: admin/index.php

Find (This is in 2 places - though, the first one is irrelevant unless the Google bot logs in, or you have a mod that makes it show up as a "egistered" user):

						case PAGE_FAQ:
							$location = $lang['Viewing_FAQ'];
							$location_url = "index.$phpEx?pane=right";
							break;

After, add:
						case PAGE_SITEMAP:
							$location = $lang['Viewing_Sitemap'];
							$location_url = "index.$phpEx?pane=right";
							break;						

Open: includes/constants.php

Find:

?>

Before, add:

define('PAGE_SITEMAP', -123);

Open: language/lang_english/lang_main.php

Find:

?>

Before, add:

$lang['Viewing_Sitemap'] = 'Viewing sitemap'; 

Open: sitemap.php

Find:

$userdata = session_pagestart($user_ip, PAGE_INDEX);

Replace with:

$userdata = session_pagestart($user_ip, PAGE_SITEMAP);

Save/close files.
I chose -123 out of the air just because it didn't seem to be used by any other mod, but it can certainly be changed if there's a conflict.
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

Peter77sx wrote: Hi, Do I still have to have a mx_ggsitemaps directory ( http://site.com/phpbb/mx_ggsitemaps ) if I have already one in my mx bb Portal Module directory?


nope, for mx, just upload everything in the modules dir and go acp to install ;)

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”