[MODDB]Better Captcha

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
User avatar
Kieran007
Registered User
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 9:28 am
Location: London, UK
Name: Kieran O'Shea
Contact:

Post by Kieran007 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:52 pm

I have just applied this mod and can say that it looks great. Can't be sure if it will stop bots properly yet as it hasn't been in long enough, but I can read the codes so it won't stop human registrations. If it does stop the bots then this mod is A*

Great work :D
Kieran
[ RouterTech - Tech Support for all things networking ]
Useful phpBB links: Use the Forum Search!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!

philmck
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 12:08 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Fantastic!

Post by philmck » Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:45 pm

This has completely solved my spam problem and new registrations are still coming through, so so far it's 100% successful for me. Please make this part of the standard installation!

User avatar
Kieran007
Registered User
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 9:28 am
Location: London, UK
Name: Kieran O'Shea
Contact:

Post by Kieran007 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:46 pm

As a follow-up to my previous post I can confirm that all bot registrations have stopped on the forum to which I have applied this mod. I will now be installing this on all my other boards. Top marks :)
Kieran
[ RouterTech - Tech Support for all things networking ]
Useful phpBB links: Use the Forum Search!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!

akreider
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by akreider » Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:11 pm

I reinstalled the script and it still doesn't work. I'm using 2.0.21. When you click on "registration" it comes up with a blank page.

I don't have any other mods applied to phpbb, and the mod is so simple that I'm doubtful that I made an error.

I have GD extension enabled.

Example:
http://www.seac.org/phpBB2/

Could it be affected by file permissions? (This is a total guess, eg an inability to read/write/execute the file?).

Do any other php.ini settings matter?

Note: I got this to work fine for me on another site running 2.0.20

-Aaron-

akreider
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by akreider » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:10 pm

The problem might be a lack of an "id" variable (see line 28 or so of usercp_captcha.php):

// Do we have an id? No, then just exit
if (empty($HTTP_GET_VARS['id']))
{
echo "no id"; //I added this line
exit;
}

This is echoing "no id" when I try to register as a user.

If you want to observe this problem in action, go to the URL listed in my previous message.

Note: I've seen this do wonders with a forum I have in 2.0.20 - so I'd really appreciate any help in getting it to work with 2.0.21!

I tried disabling the section of code that was exiting, but apparently the script won't work without it because it needs to get the confirm_id.
Last edited by akreider on Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JoeTheZombie
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 11:18 pm

Post by JoeTheZombie » Sat Jul 01, 2006 6:05 pm

Brilliant! This improved captcha + hidden website field hack has completely solved my 50+ a day spam problem. You guys are life-savers!!!

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25454
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Post by Paul » Mon Jul 03, 2006 7:58 am

akreider wrote: The problem might be a lack of an "id" variable (see line 28 or so of usercp_captcha.php):

// Do we have an id? No, then just exit
if (empty($HTTP_GET_VARS['id']))
{
echo "no id"; //I added this line
exit;
}

This is echoing "no id" when I try to register as a user.

If you want to observe this problem in action, go to the URL listed in my previous message.

Note: I've seen this do wonders with a forum I have in 2.0.20 - so I'd really appreciate any help in getting it to work with 2.0.21!

I tried disabling the section of code that was exiting, but apparently the script won't work without it because it needs to get the confirm_id.
Check if you has usercp_register.php has changed well.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

akreider
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by akreider » Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:26 pm

>>Check if you has usercp_register.php has changed well.

I'm not sure what this means. The "has changed well" part didn't make sense.

I have the usercp_register.php file.

Registration works fine when I have your MOD turned off.

Thanks for any help.

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25454
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Post by Paul » Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:10 am

Hmm, misunderstand. Better captcha doesn't change anything to usercp_reister.php :oops:
Now I must think about what the problem is. As the old captcha works, the new captcha basicly works also, because it use the same code to find the id.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

akreider
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by akreider » Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:20 am

Since I was having trouble with 2.0.21 I tried to install 2.0.20 on the site, however it doesn't work.

Site 1 - Has 2.0.20 working
phpinfo: http://www.campusactivism.org/phpinfo.php

Site 2 - 2.0.20 doesn't work. It doesn't display the image. Do I need to have '--enable-gd-native-ttf' enabled? It is enabled on the site that works, but not on the other one.
phpinfo: http://www.seac.org/phpinfo.php

The two sites are on the same host, however they have slightly different configurations of php.

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25454
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Post by Paul » Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:47 am

Yes, that must be enabled. But the weird thing is, if it isn't enabeld, he will display the old vc :|
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

pierro78
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2002 9:09 am
Contact:

Post by pierro78 » Sun Jul 09, 2006 1:16 am

I was trying to make it work but I don't have --enable-gd-native-ttf neither ...
any solution ?

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25454
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Post by Paul » Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:30 pm

No. This mod requires it, and without it cannot work.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

alfatek
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:04 am
Contact:

Post by alfatek » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:44 pm

Hi,

I want to make the letters bigger (sometimes i see codes where a 7 looks like a 1) to make the codes readable. I changed it in the size function but what else should I change to make sure all the letters are spaced ok (not overlaping) with fonts upto 30


edit:
variable names in dutch = bad idea :) Please make the code a bit more configurable and more readable ;) oh, and thanks it's working great, i will see if it stops bots

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25454
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Post by Paul » Tue Jul 18, 2006 2:35 pm

In next version all vars are renamed to engelish. But because my pc is broken, and I can 4 weeks not on it, I cann't release the next version.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”