[Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
darwing12
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:28 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by darwing12 » Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:01 pm

AHHHH okay Puddys-World,

I get it now, yea I see what you mean, Damn PHPNUKE always knows how to make things look so damn good!

I will definately look at the code and try to figure out how to accomplish this. I have looked at the coding pretty deep and have an Idea how to do it and the only issue with that is there is not a defining line between shouts. but Im sure I could get that to work as well... alright I'll get back to you after some hella code scrounging! :)

Puddys-World
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:20 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Puddys-World » Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:05 pm

This is the php nuke shoutbox mod if you wana check out how they did it ... sry i cant help, I have so little time.

Puddy.

Kinfule
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:16 am
Location: Chile

Re: Re:

Post by Kinfule » Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:30 pm

diabolic.bg wrote:
Kinfule wrote:
diabolic.bg wrote: Yesterday my string was: Пон 05 Мар 2007.

But I see:

Image

The problem is only data's format in the chat.

In archive it's OK.

Image

My browsers: IE 7, Firefox 2.0.2 and Opera 9.10, OS Win XP SP2, encoding Windows-1251.
My users are seen wrong data's format too.


They way it displays the data is diferent. It's not wrong :P


But in chat data's format this are NOT Cyrillic symbols... THIS is wrong :idea:

what Is wrong? Could you circle it with red or something? Cause I'm not understanding
My Mods:
Show Voters || Moderate Own Topics || Thanks Mod || Tibian Char BBcode || Tibian Guild BBCode
Working on:
Ajax Shoutbox
I don't support by PM

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: Re:

Post by diabolic.bg » Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:28 pm

Kinfule wrote:
diabolic.bg wrote: Yesterday my string was: Пон 05 Мар 2007.

But I see:

Image

The problem is only data's format in the chat.

But in chat data's format this are NOT Cyrillic symbols... THIS is wrong :idea:

what Is wrong? Could you circle it with red or something? Cause I'm not understanding

THIS is wrong.

darwing12
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:28 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by darwing12 » Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:02 pm

OKAY DOES ANYONE ELSE HATE THE FACT THAT 3.0 URL's DON'T OPEN UP IN A NEW WINDOW???

MAN THIS BLOWS! Usually when you upgrade you make things better...

baerenwurm
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 2:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by baerenwurm » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:59 am

I don't know if it has been mentioned before but German Umlaute are not supported, i.e. user names with an Umlaut are not displayed properly.

Puddys-World
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:20 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Puddys-World » Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:40 am

darwing12 wrote: OKAY DOES ANYONE ELSE HATE THE FACT THAT 3.0 URL's DON'T OPEN UP IN A NEW WINDOW???

MAN THIS BLOWS! Usually when you upgrade you make things better...

Yeah I dont like this new phpbb version, I wont be using it while v2 is still supported.

If you still need to open the links in a new browser ... hold down your ctrl key and then hit the link.

boggintuff
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:44 am

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by boggintuff » Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:15 pm

First of all I am somewhat of a noob.

I see the Chat in the menu functions. Is there a way to have it displayed along with the forums as maybe a forum category so its always displayed?

I didnt have the time nor the patience to surf through 59 pages to find the answer if its there.

Thanks

Puddys-World
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:20 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Puddys-World » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:10 am

boggintuff wrote: I see the Chat in the menu functions. Is there a way to have it displayed along with the forums as maybe a forum category so its always displayed?

This option is not yet supported, and not recomended.

Puddys-World
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:20 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Puddys-World » Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:57 pm

kinfule i have a small reqest ...
this is code from shoutbox.php

Code: Select all

		// we don't want users shouting images so we take them out before
		// parsing the bbcodes
		$message = ereg_replace("\\[img\\]([^\[]*)\\[/img\\]", '', $message);
That removes images, and works very well
Below is code i have added to remove any link tag:

Code: Select all

		// we don't want users shouting images so we take them out before
		// parsing the bbcodes
		$message = ereg_replace("\\[img\\]([^\[]*)\\[/img\\]", '*Image Auto Removed*', $message);
		$message = ereg_replace("\\[url([^\[]*)\\]([^\[]*)\\[/url\\]", '*Link Auto Removed*', $message);
And it to works very well, so long as the url is in tag form ie: [url= or [url] etc etc
Can you enlighten me as to what to add to make is so normal links are auto deleted also ie: http://somewebsite.com or www.somewebsite.com withour tags are also not allowed.

Basically i want an option to not allow links in the shoutbox :D
Would this be to difficult? Or would you consider this a personal modification that you wont support?

Puddy.

Kinfule
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:16 am
Location: Chile

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Kinfule » Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:10 pm

I dont come with a solution for what tyou need.
I suggest you look for google for a regular expression which take away all links.


I'm still having some problems with the encoding. For example the german ä works for me.
Those with problems, can they tell me what charset encodning your databse have?
My Mods:
Show Voters || Moderate Own Topics || Thanks Mod || Tibian Char BBcode || Tibian Guild BBCode
Working on:
Ajax Shoutbox
I don't support by PM

User avatar
cherryworld4u
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:39 pm

How to Put Shout box in index page and smilies

Post by cherryworld4u » Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:32 am

hye

i want to put ajax shout box on my index page

but i didnt get any post regarding this or may be m unable to find it
plz help me

and also tell me how i can put simlies with shout box so that user click on it and it will display in shout box directly. So, that easy to click rather than writing codes like :lol etc

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: How to Put Shout box in index page and smilies

Post by diabolic.bg » Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:23 am

cherryworld4u wrote: hye

i want to put ajax shout box on my index page

but i didnt get any post regarding this or may be m unable to find it
plz help me

and also tell me how i can put simlies with shout box so that user click on it and it will display in shout box directly. So, that easy to click rather than writing codes like :lol etc


I think you can insert shout box in frame on your index page

Code: Select all

## Or if you would like to use an iframe to have the shoutbox in any html page use this to configure the dimension:
<iframe src="www.dom.com/shoutbox.php?width=900&height=600" width="900" height="600"></iframe>
but don't display the header of the page in the chat. For this you must insert into chat.php

Code: Select all

include($phpbb_root_path."includes/page_header.".$phpEx);
The smilies are working but you must know it codes and must writing it. :lol:

User avatar
cherryworld4u
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by cherryworld4u » Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:47 am

Thnx for quick reply

yeh thts i know to put simlies i hav to know da codes but is there any way tht i can put simlie bar so tht other users will jus click on them and simlies will be displayed


and i want to put shoutbox in forum page is tht code works there in index.php of phpbb. and if works then where i hav to paste tht code as the index.php is very vast and complicated to understand.

manny many Thnx

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by diabolic.bg » Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:30 am

cherryworld4u wrote: and i want to put shoutbox in forum page is tht code works there in index.php of phpbb. and if works then where i hav to paste tht code as the index.php is very vast and complicated to understand.

Don't do this. This is very bad - I has tested it. :evil:

In my board I made a pop-up shout box. Place this link in your index page:

Code: Select all

<a href="chat.php" onClick="window.open('chat.php', 'chat', 'toolbar=no, directories=no, location=no, status=yes, menubar=no, resizable=yes, scrollbars=no, width=760, height=570'); return false" onmouseout="clean()">Chat</a>
And of course must use code from my previous post to remove logo.
For me this is very useful.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”