[Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
reshurc
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:22 am

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by reshurc »

No ideas as to why I can't post to our shoutbox?
avskiran
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by avskiran »

Hi,

I installed the shoutbox into my forum. But I am getting the java scrpt error like this in ie 7

There has been a JavaScript error.
Error: 'document.getElementById(...)' is null or not an object

Loading

and a seperate error in fairfox

Please help me.

Thanks,
avskiran
reshurc
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:22 am

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by reshurc »

I figured it out, why it gave me warnings when trying to post.
If you have non-standard naming on your phpbb-tablenames:
open includes/constants.php.
find:

Code: Select all

// Begin Ajax Shoutbox Mod
right after that you have:

Code: Select all

define('SHOUTBOX_TABLE', $table_prefix.'shoutbox');
define('SHOUTBOX_SESSIONS_TABLE', $table_prefix.'shoutbox_sessions');
after:

Code: Select all

$table_prefix.'
in these two rows, add what might be different from the standard "phpbb_" prefix you might have.
we have the phpbb tables named like phpforums, phpsessions etc.
ours had to look like:

Code: Select all

define('SHOUTBOX_TABLE', $table_prefix.'bb_shoutbox');
define('SHOUTBOX_SESSIONS_TABLE', $table_prefix.'bb_shoutbox_sessions');
since shoutbox installed as phpbb_shoutbox, phpbb_shoutbox_sessions.
ostiaxboz
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by ostiaxboz »

Hi
thanks for the mod Kinfule

i'd like to put a number of the total users chatting near the "chat" link in the phpbb index page near profile
I know i need to modify overall_header.tpl and I'd must add "L_TOTAL" variable but I've tried and I can't get it work....

can you help me?

Thanks,
ostiaxboz
Earth is my skatepark!
User avatar
elusiveness
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 6:00 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by elusiveness »

Kinfule wrote:Yes it's to save a little of bandwith, not much but you can make it more often if you want so. Just edit this lien in the js

Code: Select all

var su = (parseInt(30000/refresh_time)-2);
Hey there, thanks for your awesome work on that mod, an ajax shout/chatbox was a brilliant idea and it works great!!! :mrgreen:
I'd have a few questions though, since we tried to modify the refresh rate of the "who's online" part as you suggested: it did act weird and we couldn't really notice any difference so we went back to the original parameters.
Would you have any recommendation about that refresh rate, in order to both updating more often that online users list without wasting too much bandwith??

It seems like we're also experiencing a little crash with IE users: people using that browser can shout but the content of the chat window is blank and they have to read the archives to follow what's going on in the chatroom. Any idea about the possible cause of this problem?
(of course, this is really tempting to spread the word about the greatness of Firefox and to make people install it, but I guess we have to find a solution anyway hehe).

About the chat itself and the way it works: are all the users connected on the index page of the site appear automatically in the chat?
Because here's how we use that mod: we're displaying on the index page a preview of what's going on in the chatroom (sort of shoutbox.php page, without the chat fields / send button, the whole thing included in an iframe) and people can take part in the chat by clicking on the chat link.
We thought it was nicer to let registered people have a look at the current talks in the chatroom on the index page and take part in the conversation only if they want...I think it would be awesome to include such a function in the forthcoming versions of this mod!!!!

By the way, would you have any idea about changing the date format of each shout without changing the date format of the whole board in the admin panel??

Thanks a bunch for your help!!
Without music, life would be a mistake. (Nietzsche)
ostiaxboz
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by ostiaxboz »

ostiaxboz wrote:Hi
thanks for the mod Kinfule

i'd like to put a number of the total users chatting near the "chat" link in the phpbb index page near profile
I know i need to modify overall_header.tpl and I'd must add "L_TOTAL" variable but I've tried and I can't get it work....

can you help me?

Thanks,
ostiaxboz
UP please. I really need it
Earth is my skatepark!
gamalbb
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by gamalbb »

hello,..
What's the problem in including the shout box in the main page ??
I did included the file chat.php and the code appeared as it's ....
and it' supposed to be parsed ..
I think i did something wrong .. but i don't know what is it ??

ThanQ
EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf »

I am having torubble with this shout box. >_< The new posts do not show up in the box but do show up in the archive.
rejq
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by rejq »

Ajax Shoutbox is extremely nice MOD... Well done !!! Thank you
scott_thewspot
Registered User
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:13 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by scott_thewspot »

Is this mod still alive?

I've recently adapted it to work with Microsoft MSSQL databases, and I've posted over at the authors forums, but Kinfule doesn't appear to be responding at all (since mid May?). Is anyone else taking this mod over or know what's happening with it?

Scott.
Forcing phpBB to submit on Microsoft platforms since 2005
Windows Server 2012R2, IIS8.5, MSSQL2012
Kinfule
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:16 am
Location: Chile

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Kinfule »

As I said before, This year I'm very busy to continue developing the mod as normal. So I would say it's on stand by for now. I also apologize for not giving a reply on my forums but I haven't check it lately
My Mods:
Show Voters || Moderate Own Topics || Thanks Mod || Tibian Char BBcode || Tibian Guild BBCode
Working on:
Ajax Shoutbox
I don't support by PM
scott_thewspot
Registered User
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:13 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by scott_thewspot »

No problem then. I was just curious. It seems to work perfectly fine as it is for me anyway. I would be happy to call this a RC rather than alpha or Beta version as I can't see anything particularly wrong with it at all.

If you are interested though then I'm happy to share what I've worked out to get it working with MSSQL. Some of the changes actually simplify the logic you've used as well so might be worthwhile for the MySQL version also.
Forcing phpBB to submit on Microsoft platforms since 2005
Windows Server 2012R2, IIS8.5, MSSQL2012
origina1
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 12:13 am

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by origina1 »

I got the code But I dont no where to put it plz help??????????????
andrey087
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 12:16 am

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by andrey087 »

It doesn't accept Cyrillics characters in Opera and Firefox...
Help me please...
http://img61.imageshack.us/my.php?image=43171409zk9.jpg
User avatar
iyeru42
Registered User
Posts: 1120
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:22 pm
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Ajax Shoutbox

Post by iyeru42 »

andrey087 wrote:It doesn't accept Cyrillics characters in Opera and Firefox...
Help me please...
http://img61.imageshack.us/my.php?image=43171409zk9.jpg
The shoutbox DB table may need to be set to the correct encoding for that to work.
My Website | My MOD Requests | Foreign Key Docs (some topics are not requests)
"It's easy to rebel, but it's hard to be recognized."
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”