[Beta] Custom Pages MOD 0.1.1

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:23 pm

You mean something like pages.php?page=somepagename ?
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

PikachuMayhem
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:09 pm

Post by PikachuMayhem » Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:26 pm

I'm meaning something like, using this site as an example:

www.phpbb.com/phpBB/somepagename.php

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:29 pm

PikachuMayhem wrote: I'm meaning something like, using this site as an example:

www.phpbb.com/phpBB/somepagename.php


That's not possible, you'd have to create a new page for that.
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

skarabbit
Registered User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:49 pm
Contact:

Post by skarabbit » Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:13 pm

the first one is pages.php whats the second one?

skarabbit
Registered User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:49 pm
Contact:

Post by skarabbit » Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:20 pm

never mind, i didn't read your first post carefully enough

Peter77sx
Registered User
Posts: 3257
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:51 pm

Post by Peter77sx » Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:48 pm

One could always have this MOD SEO'ed on thier site so that content is yousite.com/phpBB/this-is-content.html - assuming, of course, that your forum is already SEO'ed. :)

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:54 pm

Peter77sx wrote: One could always have this MOD SEO'ed on thier site so that content is yousite.com/phpBB/this-is-content.html - assuming, of course, that your forum is already SEO'ed. :)


Would require something like mod_rewrite though ;) But it would be possible.
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

skarabbit
Registered User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:49 pm
Contact:

Post by skarabbit » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:01 pm

all my attempts to use html have failed... it seems only BBcode works.. i tried
including the html BBcode MOD into the custom_pages_Edit_body... but failed...

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:38 pm

skarabbit wrote: all my attempts to use html have failed... it seems only BBcode works.. i tried
including the html BBcode MOD into the custom_pages_Edit_body... but failed...


Explain better or paste your code into pastebin ;)
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

skarabbit
Registered User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:49 pm
Contact:

Post by skarabbit » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:49 pm

Ok, in the acp you create the pages... i want to be able to include html in my pages.. but by default i cannot.

there is a mod on this forum that lets you add a BBCode button for html into your posts (not the text field for custom pages)

i tried to install that into my custom pages but failed... i didnt save my work:(



Is there a way to allow html? other than turning it on in the configuration as that is dangerous

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:50 pm

skarabbit wrote: Is there a way to allow html? other than turning it on in the configuration as that is dangerous


Just use it, it isn't THAT dangerous ;)
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

skarabbit
Registered User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:49 pm
Contact:

Post by skarabbit » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:53 pm

if i turn it on, do my work, then turn it off. will the work still remain shown?

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:54 pm

skarabbit wrote: if i turn it on, do my work, then turn it off. will the work still remain shown?


No, just use it! It's not really dangerous, if you use it correctly. It's just easy to mess something up using html, that's all ;)
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

skarabbit
Registered User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:49 pm
Contact:

Post by skarabbit » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:56 pm

i'm not worried about my abilities, it's my forum members.. if there was an "admin only" setting then it would be no problem

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Post by igorw » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:58 pm

skarabbit wrote: i'm not worried about my abilities, it's my forum members.. if there was an "admin only" setting then it would be no problem


What do you mean? Only admins can edit the pages.
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”