[RC1] Random Quotes 1.7.2

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
rydaz
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 3:53 am

Post by rydaz » Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:44 am

I just redid the coding and still.. Nothing happens after I enable the quotes in the ACP.. I inserted an 'x' before and after the code in the TPL file. I see the 'x' but no quotes.
## Files To Edit:
## common.php
## admin/admin_board.php
## includes/page_header.php
## includes/constants.php
## language/lang_english/lang_admin.php
## templates/subSilver/admin/board_config_body.tpl
## templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl


Are there now two files that I need to ignore? has anyone tried installing the most recent Quotes MOD?

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:24 pm

yes many people have installed it and it works fine for them

the admin_board.php and the board_config_body.tpl are both governing the same phpBB page and it was originally where the quotes config was located, but i had decided (if you look in the MOD history) to change it to its own page and i must have forgotten to remove those two "you need to edit these" files

the MOD works fine for me and all others who have installed it

rydaz
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 3:53 am

Post by rydaz » Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:38 am

thanks for the reply.. I guess I'll have to do without this MOD.

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:33 am

rydaz: check ur pm's

rydaz
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 3:53 am

Post by rydaz » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:34 pm

thanks for the effort.. even when I put the code in a non-portal page, it doesn't show up.

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:17 am

well apparently ur just not entering the code correctly, cause as you can see with my test board, it works fine, and the other people that are using it have no problems.

setup a standard phpBB installation somewhere separate on your site (without any portal stuff, just a fresh copy of SubSilver phpBB) and then try installing the MOD

rydaz
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 3:53 am

Post by rydaz » Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:44 am

If there weren't anything wrong with the files I sent you, then I've entered the codes correctly. But if it has something to do with the Smartor's Portal then I'll just take your word for it and move on..

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Post by RMcGirr83 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:14 am

I have random quotes on my phpbb...click the www to see. They're right above the welcome box.

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:29 am

is that my Random Quotes MOD or someone elses, or did you just make a few slight modifications to fit it onto your portal?

if you edited it to fit on your portal you need to talk to rydaz because he seems to have problems with his portal

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Post by RMcGirr83 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:55 am

It's my own but is very similar to yours so it can be done. Just trying to give him some encouragement. :)

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:19 pm

sorry, i switched servers and didn't update the link.

it should be working now

colin_bb
Registered User
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:40 pm

Post by colin_bb » Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:13 pm

I just installed this with easymod on a fresh 2.22 forum. The installation is succesful, but when i view the forum index i now have these errors at the top of the page:
Warning: explode() [function.explode]: Empty delimiter. in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php on line 31
Warning: shuffle() expects parameter 1 to be array, boolean given in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php on line 34
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php:31) in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\page_header.php on line 541
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php:31) in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\page_header.php on line 547
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php:31) in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\page_header.php on line 548


What's causing this?

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:02 am

let me see what my installation is doing on a 2.0.22 forum. i havent checked since the update

User avatar
dfritter4
Registered User
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by dfritter4 » Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:54 am

interesting. im not having any problems with my board.

try installing the mod manually, maybe its a problem with easymod.

spamyboy
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:15 am

Post by spamyboy » Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:33 pm

I'm getting same error

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”