Page 5 of 7

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:44 am
by rydaz
I just redid the coding and still.. Nothing happens after I enable the quotes in the ACP.. I inserted an 'x' before and after the code in the TPL file. I see the 'x' but no quotes.
## Files To Edit:
## common.php
## admin/admin_board.php
## includes/page_header.php
## includes/constants.php
## language/lang_english/lang_admin.php
## templates/subSilver/admin/board_config_body.tpl
## templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl


Are there now two files that I need to ignore? has anyone tried installing the most recent Quotes MOD?

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:24 pm
by dfritter4
yes many people have installed it and it works fine for them

the admin_board.php and the board_config_body.tpl are both governing the same phpBB page and it was originally where the quotes config was located, but i had decided (if you look in the MOD history) to change it to its own page and i must have forgotten to remove those two "you need to edit these" files

the MOD works fine for me and all others who have installed it

Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:38 am
by rydaz
thanks for the reply.. I guess I'll have to do without this MOD.

Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:33 am
by dfritter4
rydaz: check ur pm's

Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:34 pm
by rydaz
thanks for the effort.. even when I put the code in a non-portal page, it doesn't show up.

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:17 am
by dfritter4
well apparently ur just not entering the code correctly, cause as you can see with my test board, it works fine, and the other people that are using it have no problems.

setup a standard phpBB installation somewhere separate on your site (without any portal stuff, just a fresh copy of SubSilver phpBB) and then try installing the MOD

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:44 am
by rydaz
If there weren't anything wrong with the files I sent you, then I've entered the codes correctly. But if it has something to do with the Smartor's Portal then I'll just take your word for it and move on..

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:14 am
by RMcGirr83
I have random quotes on my phpbb...click the www to see. They're right above the welcome box.

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:29 am
by dfritter4
is that my Random Quotes MOD or someone elses, or did you just make a few slight modifications to fit it onto your portal?

if you edited it to fit on your portal you need to talk to rydaz because he seems to have problems with his portal

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:55 am
by RMcGirr83
It's my own but is very similar to yours so it can be done. Just trying to give him some encouragement. :)

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:19 pm
by dfritter4
sorry, i switched servers and didn't update the link.

it should be working now

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:13 pm
by colin_bb
I just installed this with easymod on a fresh 2.22 forum. The installation is succesful, but when i view the forum index i now have these errors at the top of the page:
Warning: explode() [function.explode]: Empty delimiter. in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php on line 31
Warning: shuffle() expects parameter 1 to be array, boolean given in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php on line 34
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php:31) in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\page_header.php on line 541
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php:31) in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\page_header.php on line 547
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\functions_quotes.php:31) in C:\wamp\www\myDomain\public_html\forum\includes\page_header.php on line 548


What's causing this?

Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:02 am
by dfritter4
let me see what my installation is doing on a 2.0.22 forum. i havent checked since the update

Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:54 am
by dfritter4
interesting. im not having any problems with my board.

try installing the mod manually, maybe its a problem with easymod.

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:33 pm
by spamyboy
I'm getting same error