[RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25325
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Paul » Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:48 am

You need to convert it to javascript code, and after that you can add it to ajax.php.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf » Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:42 am

I am getting a error. The text boxes for the message and all the bbcode buttons are missing.

[EDIT] It works on my offline version but not the online verson >_<

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25325
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Paul » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:00 am

EWolf wrote:I am getting a error. The text boxes for the message and all the bbcode buttons are missing.

[EDIT] It works on my offline version but not the online verson >_<
They are there only when you are logged in ;)
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:02 am

Thats the problem. I have set the shoutbox to only show if the user is logged in. I am logged in now but there is still no input box >_<

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25325
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Paul » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:05 am

Then is your custom modifcation wrong. At default there is no setting or something to hide to chat for not logged in users.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:09 am

I have not changed any of your orrignal code. I used:

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN switch_user_logged_in -->
>>Code<<
<!-- END switch_user_logged_in -->
In the index_body.tpl (for all themes)

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25325
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Paul » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:12 am

Whats your board url? And a test account.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:16 am

I will PM you the info.

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25325
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Paul » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:22 am

Works here, see attachment
Works correclty
Works correclty
shout.PNG (21.72 KiB) Viewed 663 times
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:25 am

Oh, weird. I just logged into the Test account and I can't see it there either. Maby it is my computer or sumthing. It is strange beacuse it works on my localhost. I will look into it.

EWolf
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:35 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by EWolf » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:28 am

Ok I got it working. I just needed to clear out my temp files :oops:

TuxWiz
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:32 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by TuxWiz » Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:44 pm

Greetings,

This mod looks great but I'm getting this error message.

Code: Select all

There has been a JavaScript error. Error: xml.getElementsByTagName("nr")[0] has no properties Line: 323
URL: http://www.upstateforums.com/phpBB2/lin ... n-f78.html

Using ajax.php?m=view displays this..

Code: Select all

− <xml>
    <error>There are no messages.</error>
  </xml>
URL: http://www.upstateforums.com/phpBB2/ajax.php?m=view

Which looks normal, considering there are no shouts yet.

Any suggestions on how to proceed. I'm a coder but I don't know AJAX.

Thanks for any assistance you can provide!!

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25325
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by Paul » Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:51 pm

Thats because a mod changes the urls to use .html, and that isnt working
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

TuxWiz
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:32 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by TuxWiz » Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:09 pm

..
Last edited by TuxWiz on Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

TuxWiz
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:32 pm

Re: [RC3]Ajax Shoutbox

Post by TuxWiz » Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:12 pm

Greetings again and thank you,

Ok, I was able to exclude ajax.php from the URL re-writer and it is working well, with the exception of a few bugs.

1) Clicking on "smilies", all the smilies just cover the screen (I have a bunch of them).

Image

Can I limit the number of smilies displayed or get them to display in a popup window?

2) After using an IMG tag ( and some other types of BBcode tags), I can no longer see any shouts. It says there are no messages. I have to delete the record with the IMG tag via phpMyAdmin to get back the shouts.

3) A strange 1 appears at the bottom left of the shoutbox after a couple of shouts. When I pass my mouse over it says javascript:; Is this normal?

Thanks for any assistance!!

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”