[RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
drfresh101
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:07 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC) -SOLVED

Post by drfresh101 »

I solved it - aparently I could'nt upload files to my webhotel using normal ftp, but had to use their file manager. Now It all works fine!

Hope I'm getting rid of all the spam registering...
Thanks for this MOD. I really need it.

BUT I have some serrios problems after doing the modifications. My register screen - the one you get after answering "I'm exactly ..." - is now completely blank, only the headlines are visible.

I have added the stuff as I should to the apropriate files and only changed the link to a question.

I'm running 2.0.22 and using only the SubSilver template and the board has no other modifications.

What do you need from me to assist me?

Thanks in advance!

ptgain
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 5:31 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by ptgain »

Hi,

Thanks for the MOD. I've edited and posted the files as noted in the instructions. When I test the registration page by entering the reg info and click "submit" the reg does not seem to take.
I stay on the Registration information page, but get two "submit" buttons at the top of the page right under
Forum index title. I'm sure what I'm missing.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for any input.

best
PT

User avatar
45ish
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:38 am
Location: usa canada uk - where ever the english language takes me!
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by 45ish »

hi,
I installed this mod today and using it as a question.

// RAC Code MOD
$lang['rac_incorrect'] = 'The authorization code you have entered is incorrect. The location of the code should be stated on the registration page. Please try again.';
$lang['rac_code'] = 'DOES MY ANSWER GO HERE??Authorization Code';
$lang['rac_location'] = 'I PUT A QUESTION HERE!!You can find the auth code on the following page: <a href="http://wwww.yoursite.com">Location Title</a>';

I don't know where to put the answer :(


OOPS. I think I see now. change " if ($HTTP_POST_VARS['RAC'] != 'qwerty12345')
sorry.

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29257
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Marshalrusty »

ptgain wrote:Hi,

Thanks for the MOD. I've edited and posted the files as noted in the instructions. When I test the registration page by entering the reg info and click "submit" the reg does not seem to take.
I stay on the Registration information page, but get two "submit" buttons at the top of the page right under
Forum index title. I'm sure what I'm missing.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for any input.

best
PT
Please post (or PM me) a link to your board. Also post the contents on your entire includes/usercp_register.php file (use the

Code: Select all

 bbcode tags please)

[quote="45ish"]hi,
I installed this mod today and using it as a question.

// RAC Code MOD
$lang['rac_incorrect'] = 'The authorization code you have entered is incorrect. The location of the code should be stated on the registration page. Please try again.';
$lang['rac_code'] = [color=#FF0000]'DOES MY ANSWER GO HERE??[/color]Authorization Code';
$lang['rac_location'] = [color=#FF0000]'I PUT A QUESTION HERE!![/color]You can find the auth code on the following page: <a href="http://wwww.yoursite.com">Location Title</a>';

I don't know where to put the answer :(


OOPS. I think I see now.  change "	if ($HTTP_POST_VARS['RAC'] != 'qwerty12345')
sorry.[/quote]
Yes, that's exactly right :)

$lang['rac_location'] is for the question
$lang['rac_code'] is what the field will be called on the registration page
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

nemosan
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 9:42 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by nemosan »

Hi,

Firstly, this is a great MOD - since putting it on I haven't seen any bot signups, and there used to be loads!

A question though - is there any easy way of removing/hiding the Auth Code field when modifing your profile, in the same way as the CAPTCHA isn't displayed? It would be nice to only see it on the registration page...

Thanks again,
Andy

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29257
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Marshalrusty »

nemosan wrote:Hi,

Firstly, this is a great MOD - since putting it on I haven't seen any bot signups, and there used to be loads!

A question though - is there any easy way of removing/hiding the Auth Code field when modifing your profile, in the same way as the CAPTCHA isn't displayed? It would be nice to only see it on the registration page...

Thanks again,
Andy
That's what the:

Code: Select all

	<!-- BEGIN switch_user_logged_out -->
	<!-- END switch_user_logged_out -->
is there for.

Since you are logged in when viewing your profile, the field won't be displayed. Make sure you have those switches in your code.
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

csheakos
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by csheakos »

Woohoo!!!! Just got it on my club's website and it seems to work. I'll know tomorrow for sure if there are new users. Thanks a bunch, this is great.

Now I just need something to select lots of users to delete at one time. I know I saw it here somewhere a while ago. Got to get rid of all the spam users.

Wise One
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:55 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Wise One »

There is TONS of information here, but I cannot find the simplest and most essential info of all
- Where can I find the MOD to download it?
- How do I install it?

csheakos
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by csheakos »

There is a link on the first page of this thread with all the necessary information. It not a MOD you download and install; you're actually modifying existing files so make sure you have backup copies of the original.

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29257
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Marshalrusty »

Wise One wrote:- Where can I find the MOD to download it?
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=552845

Wise One wrote:- How do I install it?
How to install MODs
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

Murgh Bpurn
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 4:45 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Murgh Bpurn »

OK I can cut and paste and that's the limit of my coding so....

I'd like to be able to add this to my site with the nosebleed skin

for subsilver I've found:

templates/subSilver/profile_add_body.tpl

and the code:

Code: Select all

	<tr> 
	  <td class="row1"><span class="gen">{L_CONFIRM_PASSWORD}: * </span><br />
		<span class="gensmall">{L_PASSWORD_CONFIRM_IF_CHANGED}</span></td>
	  <td class="row2"> 
		<input type="password" class="post" style="width: 200px" name="password_confirm" size="25" maxlength="32" value="{PASSWORD_CONFIRM}" />
	  </td>
	</tr>
and added the code

Code: Select all

	<!-- BEGIN switch_user_logged_out -->
	<tr> 
	  <td class="row1"><span class="gen">{L_RAC_CODE}: * </span><br />
		<span class="gensmall">{L_RAC_LOCATION}</span></td>
	  <td class="row2"> 
		<input type="text" class="post" style="width: 200px" name="RAC" size="25" maxlength="32" />
	  </td>
	</tr>
	<!-- END switch_user_logged_out -->
however for nosebleed I think the code I need to find is:

Code: Select all

<tr> 
		<td class="row1 one">{L_CONFIRM_PASSWORD}: * <br />{L_PASSWORD_CONFIRM_IF_CHANGED}</td>
		<td class="row2 two"><input type="password" class="post postmedium" name="password_confirm" maxlength="100" value="{PASSWORD_CONFIRM}" /></td>
	</tr>
As this is different to the one above, I'm assuming the code to be added should be different too?

Any ideas?

MB

Ivan007
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Ivan007 »

Excellent and simple MOD!
Many thanks :D

Installed together with "Redirect anonymous users to login" MOD and for last two weeks no bots registrations on our forum :lol: (before it was up to 10 per day)

P.S. the perfect side of this mod is that we are reversing situation, its now much easier for forum administrator to change Auth code in case its adopted by some SPAM bots, compare to effort spammers have to do for updating their bot behaviour in case code changed by admin.

alttf
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:34 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by alttf »

This MOD is fantastic :D

The first MOD I've installed without EasyMOD, it was suprisingly easy to add. The only thing that increased the installation time was thinking of a question and code :lol:

Anyway, great work! Not a single bot since I installed this yesterday.

dchipilot
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:52 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by dchipilot »

First of all, thanks for the mod. This is what I'm looking for.

However,

I'm pretty illiterate when it comes to programming and changing code. I can do it with limited success. Is there a way to run this mod, and have it add a new section to the forum admin page so that I can change the question and answer right there?

Thanks.

Chuck

jscott
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:55 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by jscott »

This mod is one of those things I wish was included by default in the standard phpBB package.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”