[RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
s3rro
Registered User
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 2:36 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by s3rro » Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:36 pm

hi,
i didnt get where the answer to rac question goes,
"If you wish to make it even simpler, you may change the $lang['rac_location'] (below) to a question,
such as "How many fingers do people have?" or "What color is the sky?" and make the RAC code the answer.
Here is an example of how this would look: http://www.marshalrusty.com/phpBB/spam/question.gif"

lets say the answer is "blue" i changed the racmode link to a question as you said, but where does the answer to the question go?in the code?

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by RMcGirr83 » Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:57 pm

#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
includes/usercp_register.php

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
else if ( $mode == 'register' )
{

#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
# Hint: Change the 'qwerty12345' to the auth code that you want to use
# If you want the code to be case insensitive, use the following instead of the first line (without the # in front):
# if (strtolower($HTTP_POST_VARS['RAC']) != 'qwerty12345')
#
// RAC MOD Begin
if ($HTTP_POST_VARS['RAC'] != 'qwerty12345')
{
$error = TRUE;
$error_msg .= ( ( isset($error_msg) ) ? '<br />' : '' ) . $lang['rac_incorrect'];
}
// RAC MOD End
replace what is in red with the answer.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

messenger54
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:45 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by messenger54 » Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:23 pm

ok I am getting desperate here...I have been through this file at least about 6 times now trying different variations on stuff and to no avail..when ever I upload the files and then try to go to the page I get a page not found or else a blank page

website is http://www.messengerscreations.com/

and then I have a link to my forum

any help would be greatly appreciated

MrKim
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 3:06 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by MrKim » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:47 am

Sorry to butt in here, but it took me several efforts too. Keep at it , it is great when installed.

My question is, will php3.0 overwrite this mod? Took me a lot of trouble to install, I would hate to lose it.

Thanks
Kim
MrKim

James N
Registered User
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by James N » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:45 am

In a word, yes. 2 and 3 are totally different and MODs written for 2 wont work at all in 3

MrKim
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 3:06 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by MrKim » Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:01 pm

So this mod is obsolete since sooner or later we strongly should keep updated?

Does 3 address the problem with spammers?

Thanks
Kim
MrKim

messenger54
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:45 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by messenger54 » Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:07 pm

thanks for anyone who tried to help with this but seeing I had a new forum and they just released 3 I went ahead and moved over to it so at the moment I dont need this ...but I am still waiting to see if I get as many spammers...

but thanks to person who wrote this I am sure it worked for a lot of people

User avatar
jnjewlz
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:09 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by jnjewlz » Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:14 am

Great mod. I've been battling this spam thing for a while. I truly hopes this will do it.

Expat64
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:20 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by Expat64 » Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:06 pm

Apologies if you have answered this question already, but is this either addressed out of the box in 3.0 or do you intend to release a 3.0 version? I have installed it on my 2.0 board and love it! :-)

oakbluff
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:53 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by oakbluff » Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:12 am

I followed the instructions (although be gentle with me this is my first mod I hope I post correctly for you).

I uploaded the three files which seems to have made no changes to new member sign up. I also deleted from the server and then placed these files back in (in case they were not overwriting as sometimes happens for me).

Here are the excerpts from my files:

Code: Select all

	else if ( $mode == 'register' )
	{
	
		// RAC MOD Begin
        if ($HTTP_POST_VARS['RAC'] != 'Jesus')
        {
			$error = TRUE;
			$error_msg .= ( ( isset($error_msg) ) ? '<br />' : '' ) . $lang['rac_incorrect'];
        }
		// RAC MOD End

		if ( empty($username) || empty($new_password) || empty($password_confirm) || empty($email) )
		{
			$error = TRUE;
and the next one:

Code: Select all

		'L_CONFIRM_CODE'			=> $lang['Confirm_code'], 
		'L_CONFIRM_CODE_EXPLAIN'	=> $lang['Confirm_code_explain'], 
		// RAC MOD Begin
		'L_RAC_CODE' 		=> $lang['rac_code'],
		'L_RAC_LOCATION'	=> $lang['rac_location'], 
		// RAC MOD End
		'S_ALLOW_AVATAR_UPLOAD' => $board_config['allow_avatar_upload'],
		'S_ALLOW_AVATAR_LOCAL' => $board_config['allow_avatar_local'],
and the next one:

Code: Select all

$lang['Admin_reauthenticate'] = 'To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.';
$lang['Login_attempts_exceeded'] = 'The maximum number of %s login attempts has been exceeded. You are not allowed to login for the next %s minutes.';
$lang['Please_remove_install_contrib'] = 'Please ensure both the install/ and contrib/ directories are deleted';

// RAC MOD Begin
$lang['rac_incorrect'] = 'The authorization code you have entered is incorrect. The location of the code should be stated on the registration page. Please try again.';
$lang['rac_code'] = 'Authorization Code';
$lang['rac_location'] = 'You can find the auth code on the following page: <a href="http://oakbluffbiblechurch.com/OBBCforum/viewtopic.php?p=49#49">Location Title</a>';
// RAC MOD End

//
// That's all, Folks!
// -------------------------------------------------
and the next one:

Code: Select all

</tr>
	<tr> 
	  <td class="row1"><span class="gen">{L_CONFIRM_PASSWORD}: * </span><br />
		<span class="gensmall">{L_PASSWORD_CONFIRM_IF_CHANGED}</span></td>
	  <td class="row2"> 
		<input type="password" class="post" style="width: 200px" name="password_confirm" size="25" maxlength="32" value="{PASSWORD_CONFIRM}" />
	  </td>
	</tr>
	<!-- BEGIN switch_user_logged_out -->
	<tr> 
	  <td class="row1"><span class="gen">{L_RAC_CODE}: * </span><br />
		<span class="gensmall">{L_RAC_LOCATION}</span></td>
	  <td class="row2"> 
		<input type="text" class="post" style="width: 200px" name="RAC" size="25" maxlength="32" />
	  </td>
	</tr>
	<!-- END switch_user_logged_out -->
	<!-- Visual Confirmation -->
	<!-- BEGIN switch_confirm -->
	<tr>
		<td class="row1" colspan="2" align="center"><span class="gensmall">{L_CONFIRM_CODE_IMPAIRED}</span><br /><br />{CONFIRM_IMG}<br /><br /></td>
I think that covers it. Thanks in advance for your help.

My website forum is: http://oakbluffbiblechurch.com/OBBCforum/index.php and I can't see any evidence of change at all.

misterballoons
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:11 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by misterballoons » Mon Dec 24, 2007 8:25 am

Hi oakbluff.

I tried the RAC MOD, and found that it caused error messages and killed the CAPTCHA image display, making my board look bad, and registrations were not possible at all. I was not able to get any help on this thread, so I gave up the idea of using the RAC MOD. I am now using the Registration Stopper MOD (http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &sk=t&sd=a) ... this worked flawlessly, first time, and since I was getting around 200 spam registrations for every real registration, this is saving me heaps of time already.

I hope this information helps .... have Merry Christmas ...

Cheers ....Dave
http://www.phpbb.com/rules/#rule6a
Last edited by dellsystem on Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: sorry, no links :)

G78
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:29 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by G78 » Tue Dec 25, 2007 7:13 am

Great mod, quickly installed, and no glitch.

Would love to have this mod in the posting page for a guess.

gomaria
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 am

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by gomaria » Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:08 am

Do the instructions I should follow start here?

#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
includes/usercp_register.php



I figure since I got the toolkit up and running, I'd try this one. HOwever, I also want to double check. I'm looking for the MOD that would allow me to ask my visitors a question that I determine I want them to answer.

LMK.

momentum
Registered User
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by momentum » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:20 am

gomaria wrote:Do the instructions I should follow start here?

#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
includes/usercp_register.php
YES!

Just work your way down the MOD file line by line and you shouldn't have any major problems.

Craig.
QOTY: phpBB is free, good hosting is not. - robert (Lumpy Burgertushie)

oakbluff
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:53 pm

Re: [RC1] Registration Auth Code (RAC)

Post by oakbluff » Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:49 pm

OKee I really didn't want to be one of the posters who says oops but, "oops"

The MOD worked perfectly first try.....once I installed into the forum folders and not a test forum I had created before the forum was up.

Sigh.... Thanks very much for having the resources here though. I learned a lot by reading the 30 pages in this thread though ;)

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”