[DEV] Item Shop

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion »

I got an item idea, but I don't know how to code it myself! So could someone please help me? ;)

I want to have a Cauldron. Players can buy it, and when they use it they get to a screen which shows the cauldron. Then they can select various items in their inventory (eg, different herbs) to put in it. If they put in the right combination of items they will create a new item (eg, a potion)!
If they put in an invalid combination, nothing happens (or the items are lost?).

I would greatly appreciate if someone could create the code for such an item ;)

Thanks in advance!

~ Nuladion

Ahheron
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:35 am
Location: Someplace you probably never head of ... Estonia
Contact:

Post by Ahheron »

Zarath wrote: Turn register globals on, in your php.ini file.

Zarath

tnx Zarath, I found it out by myself though on the phpbbhacks forum... took me a while to find it :P
Great mod btw, I love it :wink:

Questions
Registered User
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:06 pm
Location: Cyberspace Learning: PHP & MySQL
Contact:

Post by Questions »

Moogie wrote: Find (below, inline):
Code:

<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemarray[$xe]\" border=\"0\">

Replace with:
Code:

".$itemlinkstart."<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" border=\"0\">".$itemlinkend."


in the shop.php...i couldnt find

Code: Select all

<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemarray[$xe]\" border=\"0\">
this is what i have

Code: Select all

<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemarray[$xe]\">
plz help...
I will Install MODs to your forum, or install a fresh phpBB 2.0.10 to your host for reasonable prices.
Contact me via AIM @: Gam LDub


(Please note: I use paypal as my money transaction, so before you contact me to do any work to your site, make sure you have one. Thank you.)

User avatar
Suede
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:40 pm

Post by Suede »

not answering above - but one thing you need to do Q is to put an 'images' folder in your Shop folder and put the Shop images in there.

thats why your Mystery Chest isn't showing up.

Questions
Registered User
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:06 pm
Location: Cyberspace Learning: PHP &amp; MySQL
Contact:

Post by Questions »

i have no clue where to get RPG pictures...

any links to rpg pics and stuff?

(btw, i gave the test member some money...)
the question i asked above suedes post needs to be answered before i can give any items away....

you see what im saying?
I will Install MODs to your forum, or install a fresh phpBB 2.0.10 to your host for reasonable prices.
Contact me via AIM @: Gam LDub


(Please note: I use paypal as my money transaction, so before you contact me to do any work to your site, make sure you have one. Thank you.)

User avatar
Suede
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:40 pm

Post by Suede »

Suede wrote: not answering above - but one thing you need to do Q is to put an 'images' folder in your Shop folder and put the Shop images in there.

thats why your Mystery Chest isn't showing up.


the key word there would be .... need :) you need to have an images directory with the images of the items in it Q. I saw the plethora of points - cool - you dont need to give items... but till you have images in the directory that the script is looking for them in then you dont have any items. shop/images is where they go.

Its been answered in this thread before - but I do believe that you'll find some premade images at http://www.rpgicons.com

User avatar
Suede
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:40 pm

Post by Suede »

Nuladion wrote: I got an item idea, but I don't know how to code it myself! So could someone please help me? ;)

I want to have a Cauldron. Players can buy it, and when they use it they get to a screen which shows the cauldron. Then they can select various items in their inventory (eg, different herbs) to put in it. If they put in the right combination of items they will create a new item (eg, a potion)!
If they put in an invalid combination, nothing happens (or the items are lost?).

I would greatly appreciate if someone could create the code for such an item ;)

Thanks in advance!

~ Nuladion


I would love this as well :) I think one idea for the User Interface would be to have the cauldron load in a page with the Cauldron image which, when clicked would 'show' a layer with a set amount of slots, which you can either 'drag' icons of your ingredients into - or possibly work in dropdowns in each slot to 'choose' an item for that slot. At the bottom of the slotted layer could have a button with the word 'Combine' or something - which would remove all of the items from your inventory and insert the appropriate potion in your inventory.

Ideally - this kind of a thing could be used as well for Anvils to make armors - sewing kits that are able to use Threads and Hides or Cloth, all sorts of things.. could work in ways to 'enchant' threads you use [electricum, etc....]

backend would behave very much like the Mystery Chest - but with the ability to remove several items...

the weird part would be trying to have it so that you just have one cauldron that is able to make several different items - as would be easier to make different cauldrons per item or to have one cauldron that randomly created potions then to have folks 'select' what potion to make... perhaps... if when you click on the cauldron you get a list of what you are able to 'make' with it - and based on what you click there you show the correct 'combine-layer' for that particular item?

I dont know ifd this is making much sense... but if it is.. cool ;)

Lastly - if this kind of a thing was worked out - then may be possible to have the 'available list' of items you can make with the Cauldron [or whatever] be generated to show only those items that your current Level in that Skill allows you to make - successfully making the item can sometimes add to the Skill level so that as you level based on success those items become 'trivial' to you to make and new higher level items become available.

I think that with Moogies current work in creating 'level' based items and gameplay that a whole new genre of level-based tradeskills would be a fun and enriching thing for any RPG community :)

User avatar
Forsaken
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 7:33 pm
Contact:

Post by Forsaken »

OK...I got the special shop problem ironed out.

New problem, and I think its the last one.

I, having an endless supply of points, bought a name color, glow, and title color and glow. But, when viewing a forum, it doesnt seem to work. Custom titles seem to not be working either. Meaning, I bought one for a test account, and it didnt respond.

It shows I own all these features.

Any ideas?

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion »

@ Suede: Exactly what I meant ;) But I'd rather not have a list of all possible combinations for the cauldron (for the anvil would be cool tho), I want people to experiment with all sorts of different combinations and find the 'recipes' for themselves ;)

@ Forsaken: You sure you set everything to ON in the Admin CP? That's the only thing I can think of right now ;)

~ Nuladion

User avatar
Suede
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:40 pm

Post by Suede »

Nuladion wrote: @ Suede: Exactly what I meant ;) But I'd rather not have a list of all possible combinations for the cauldron (for the anvil would be cool tho), I want people to experiment with all sorts of different combinations and find the 'recipes' for themselves ;)


aye I know what ya mean.. but Ive found that as fun as that might seem folks get frustrated without some kind of 'clue' easily hehe... perhaps the ability for a search through your inventory and a message like 'You can make
  • A White Potion
  • A Potion of Travel
  • An Unction of Resonance
'
would be cool though :) this way folks would kind of have short goals to figure out based on what they have... and not feel they are missing something and not even knowing what they're missing :)

User avatar
Suede
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:40 pm

Post by Suede »

Forsaken wrote: OK...I got the special shop problem ironed out.

New problem, and I think its the last one.

I, having an endless supply of points, bought a name color, glow, and title color and glow. But, when viewing a forum, it doesnt seem to work. Custom titles seem to not be working either. Meaning, I bought one for a test account, and it didnt respond.

It shows I own all these features.

Any ideas?



I seem to remember there are sometimes issues with templates that are XML based... or XHTML... as the javascript used is not supported in XML/XHTML anymores... have you tried this just in subsilver to see if its working but just not in your usual template forsaken?

In your viewsource - you'll see right up top the link to the dtd - DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"

I do believe youre using an XHTML-based template... dunno if theres a workaround.. maybe try a search here for that and see....

good luck!

Questions
Registered User
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:06 pm
Location: Cyberspace Learning: PHP &amp; MySQL
Contact:

Post by Questions »

Questions wrote:
Moogie wrote:Find (below, inline):
Code:

<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemarray[$xe]\" border=\"0\">

Replace with:
Code:

".$itemlinkstart."<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" border=\"0\">".$itemlinkend."


in the shop.php...i couldnt find

Code: Select all

<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemlinktxt$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemarray[$xe]\" border=\"0\">
this is what i have

Code: Select all

<img src=\"shop/images/$itemarray[$xe].".$itemfilext."\" title=\"$itemarray[$xe]\" alt=\"$itemarray[$xe]\">
plz help...


^^^^
I will Install MODs to your forum, or install a fresh phpBB 2.0.10 to your host for reasonable prices.
Contact me via AIM @: Gam LDub


(Please note: I use paypal as my money transaction, so before you contact me to do any work to your site, make sure you have one. Thank you.)

User avatar
Suede
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:40 pm

Post by Suede »

questions... just change that line instead. Thats the one... the only difference is the alt tag.. which in an image or link is the little textbox that pops up when you hover over it.

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion »

Moogie, I htink you've already noticed, but your forums have a problem!
This is what I get when I try to view a thread:

Code: Select all

Could not obtain post/user information.

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1016 Can't open file: 'phpbb_posts_text.MYD'. (errno: 145)

SELECT u.username, u.user_id, u.user_posts, u.user_from, u.user_website, u.user_email, u.user_icq, u.user_aim, u.user_yim, u.user_regdate, u.user_msnm, u.user_viewemail, u.user_rank, u.user_level, u.user_sig, u.user_sig_bbcode_uid, u.user_avatar, u.user_avatar_type, u.user_allowavatar, u.user_allowsmile, u.user_points, u.user_status, p.*, pt.post_text, pt.post_subject, pt.bbcode_uid FROM phpbb_posts p, phpbb_users u, phpbb_posts_text pt WHERE p.topic_id = 3795 AND pt.post_id = p.post_id AND u.user_id = p.poster_id ORDER BY p.post_time LIMIT 0, 25

Line : 258
File : /home/virtual/site3/fst/var/www/html/forums/viewtopic.php
I think something went wrong while updating your forum/mods?
Hope you fix it soon!

-EDIT-
Just ignore this post, it works again ;)


~ Nuladion
Last edited by Nuladion on Sat Jul 05, 2003 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Questions
Registered User
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:06 pm
Location: Cyberspace Learning: PHP &amp; MySQL
Contact:

Post by Questions »

Suede wrote: questions... just change that line instead. Thats the one... the only difference is the alt tag.. which in an image or link is the little textbox that pops up when you hover over it.


i get an error when i change it....
I will Install MODs to your forum, or install a fresh phpBB 2.0.10 to your host for reasonable prices.
Contact me via AIM @: Gam LDub


(Please note: I use paypal as my money transaction, so before you contact me to do any work to your site, make sure you have one. Thank you.)

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”