[ABD] Slashdot Style News Posting By CMX - 2.0.6

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
imagedude
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:28 pm
Location: /home/kai
Name: Kai Ponte
Contact:

Install Issue

Post by imagedude » Mon Apr 26, 2004 7:27 pm

Was just going to install the news mod. There is an issue with the installation instructions.

After running the DB install, I started to copy files. On line 48, it says to:

Code: Select all

copy root/includes/functions_news.php to includes/functions_news.php
Only problem is, there IS no such file. In the includes directory from the zip file there is only, news.php, news_common.php, and news_data.php.

Help?

User avatar
andysmeth
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK
Contact:

Re: I got the following error on phpbbfm ...

Post by andysmeth » Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:59 pm

please ignore my post, posted in erro, sorry

jayb
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:10 am

Re: Install Issue

Post by jayb » Sat May 15, 2004 9:10 pm

imagedude wrote: Was just going to install the news mod. There is an issue with the installation instructions.

After running the DB install, I started to copy files. On line 48, it says to:

Code: Select all

copy root/includes/functions_news.php to includes/functions_news.php
Only problem is, there IS no such file. In the includes directory from the zip file there is only, news.php, news_common.php, and news_data.php.

Help?

MHerm88
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:18 am
Location: West Chester PA
Contact:

Post by MHerm88 » Sun May 23, 2004 1:26 am

Can someone make this 2.0.8a compatablie... I've been trying for like 2 hours now...

User avatar
Manshu
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 3:37 pm

Post by Manshu » Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:34 am

hmm.. I have installed it, but, I just posted a topic on news, but it wouldnt show up, so I thought I didnt select a news category, so I went back and did that, its still not showin up, when I click edit, it says no category selected.. and no news shows up..

DonkeyTron
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 5:18 pm
Location: England

Post by DonkeyTron » Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:54 am

MHerm88 wrote: Can someone make this 2.0.8a compatablie... I've been trying for like 2 hours now...


It works fine with 2.0.8. It's you that is making the errors...

User avatar
Manshu
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 3:37 pm

Post by Manshu » Wed Jun 02, 2004 5:56 pm

it works fine if I go into phpmyadmin and put the news_id to 1..

any solutions?

il go and have a double check

khisanthax
Registered User
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 1:49 am

Post by khisanthax » Fri Jul 09, 2004 4:46 am

would it be possible to use the rewrite in htaccess to change this around to make it appear more friendly??

User avatar
webmedic
Registered User
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:37 am
Contact:

Post by webmedic » Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:37 am

yes

khisanthax
Registered User
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 1:49 am

Post by khisanthax » Fri Jul 09, 2004 3:00 pm

Have you done it or do you know how to do it?

Enki
Registered User
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 7:43 pm

Post by Enki » Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:27 am

Instead of Vertical View, Can I make the news be scrolled horozontally?

NativeMind
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:51 pm
Contact:

Post by NativeMind » Sat Jul 10, 2004 8:32 pm

Horizontal scrolling = bad, m'kay?

You could do some simple javascript marquee style thing I suppose, of if you just wanted to limit it to a couple postings, you could modify the template....

One possible solution is a horizontal list, nice and clean with CSS

I have a heavy stylized port of this mod (using mx-system) on one of my sites gortbusters
Developer MX-System: modular portal for phpBB

foxmask1
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:59 am

BUG with CFG['index_file'] ?!

Post by foxmask1 » Tue Jul 20, 2004 8:24 am

i dont find anywhere ; where the following variable is filled :
$CFG['index_file']
the variable is called to fill {INDEX_FILE} in template called by the news_rss.php but is always sempty....
what do i miss if i really miss something ?

EDIT>
to fix the problem i've done in include/news.php :

Code: Select all

    $index_file = $CFG['index_file'];
    if( $this->config['news_index_file'] != '' ) {
      $index_file = $this->config['news_index_file'] . $index_file;
    }
    if( $this->config['news_base_url'] != '' ) {
      $index_file = $this->config['news_base_url'] . $index_file;
    }


instead of

Code: Select all

    $index_file = $CFG['index_file'];
    if( $this->config['news_base_url'] != '' ) {
      $index_file = $this->config['news_base_url'] . $index_file;
    }

illadelph
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 2:24 am

Post by illadelph » Fri Jul 23, 2004 1:47 am

DonkeyTron wrote:
MHerm88 wrote:Can someone make this 2.0.8a compatablie... I've been trying for like 2 hours now...


It works fine with 2.0.8. It's you that is making the errors...


Hey guys i installed this mod in may and it worked now when i post news in another category nothing comes up please help i need some a.s.ap i can send you my files so u can go through them.

User avatar
CyberSpy
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 3:09 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Avatars no longer display [solved]

Post by CyberSpy » Fri Jul 23, 2004 9:13 am

Hey All,
Okay, this has me totally stumped. I was working on my portal, installed mods, everything was fine. I installed the default avatar vs gender mod and everything was still fine. I installed this mod and I now I've noticed I no longer have avatars. The portal page doesn't display it (I installed the allow avatar on index mod and put it in the portal's php file), if I look at my profile, it doesn't show and if I go to edit my profile, the option to "show gallery" is gone. I am totally stumped, where would I begin to look to see what code needs fixing? Whenever I am at an area (page) where an avatar is to display, I can see the image placeholder appear for a second, then it goes away and no image is loaded, and I don't get the broken image icon, the cell shrinks and no image is there. Can someone help me, or tell me what files to zip up and send so you can review?

Thanks
CyberSpy

[solved] I did have the "gallery" button for avatars in my profile edit screen, I somehow overlooked it. So I changed my avatar to something else and it worked fine, so I changed it back and it works fine. It must be just a fluke with my install. But It's confirmed to work on 2.0.10 and under heavily modded conditions [solved]

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”