[ABD] Slashdot Style News Posting By CMX - 2.0.6

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
User avatar
Rancisis
Registered User
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:57 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Rancisis »

Thanks netclectic,
About those "$CFG['index_file']" is includes/news.php, do they all need to be changed into "$this->config['news_index_file']"?
Also, I think I found another bug in the install file.
The following appears twice in it...

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# around line 268
$sql  = ($mode != "editpost") ? "INSERT INTO " . TOPICS_TABLE . " (topic_title,

#
#-----[ IN-LINE FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# around line 268 (directly in that line)
"UPDATE " . TOPICS_TABLE . " SET topic_title = '$post_subject',

#
#-----[ IN-LINE AFTER, ADD ]---------------------------------------
#
 news_id = $news_id,

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

Rancisis wrote: Thanks netclectic,
About those "$CFG['index_file']" is includes/news.php, do they all need to be changed into "$this->config['news_index_file']"?

Yep.

Rancisis wrote: Also, I think I found another bug in the install file.
The following appears twice in it...

Yeah, i forgot to mention that bit.
Defend the game:
Image

User avatar
Rancisis
Registered User
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:57 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Rancisis »

Installed it, but it seems that it is not working :?
Whenever I post (or reply to) a message, I get the following errors:
Warning: Missing argument 14 for prepare_post() in /includes/functions_post.php on line 130
Warning: Missing argument 22 for submit_post() in /includes/functions_post.php on line 227
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions_post.php:130) in /posting.php on line 719
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions_post.php:130) in /includes/page_header.php on line 629
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions_post.php:130) in /includes/page_header.php on line 631
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions_post.php:130) in /includes/page_header.php on line 632

Any ideas on what I did wrong, or forgot to do???

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

what phpbb version are you using?
Defend the game:
Image

User avatar
Rancisis
Registered User
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:57 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Rancisis »

2.0.6, with following mods installed:
- EasyMOD
- Attachement Mod
- Cash Mod
- Log Actions Mod
- Cat Hierarchy
- Profile Control Panel
- Split Topic Type
- Multi BBCode
- Topic Description Mod
And offcourse CMX News Mod.

From includes/functions_post.php
Line 127-132:

Code: Select all

//
// Prepare a message for posting
// 
function prepare_post(&$mode, &$post_data, &$bbcode_on, &$html_on, &$smilies_on, &$error_msg, &$username, &$bbcode_uid, &$subject, &$message, &$poll_title, &$poll_options, &$poll_length, &$topic_desc, &$news_category)
{
	global $board_config, $userdata, $lang, $phpEx, $phpbb_root_path;
Line 224-240:

Code: Select all

//
// Post a new topic/reply/poll or edit existing post/poll
//
function submit_post($mode, &$post_data, &$message, &$meta, &$forum_id, &$topic_id, &$post_id, &$poll_id, &$topic_type, &$bbcode_on, &$html_on, &$smilies_on, &$attach_sig, &$bbcode_uid, &$post_username, &$post_subject, &$post_message, &$poll_title, &$poll_options, &$poll_length, &$topic_desc, &$news_category)
{
	global $board_config, $lang, $db, $phpbb_root_path, $phpEx;
	global $userdata, $user_ip;
// BEGIN cmx_slash_news_mod
	if( isset( $news_category ) && is_numeric( $news_category ) )
	{
		$news_id = intval( $news_category );
	}
	else
	{
		$news_id = 0;
	}
// END cmx_slash_news_mod

DonkeyTron
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 5:18 pm
Location: England

Post by DonkeyTron »

I had the same error (i think) when i installed the beta6 version, turned out a forgot to upload a certain file.

Just double check you installed everything correctly.

CodeMonkeyX
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:16 am
Location: So. California
Contact:

Post by CodeMonkeyX »

netclectic wrote:
Rancisis wrote:Thanks netclectic,
About those "$CFG['index_file']" is includes/news.php, do they all need to be changed into "$this->config['news_index_file']"?

Yep.

Rancisis wrote: Also, I think I found another bug in the install file.
The following appears twice in it...

Yeah, i forgot to mention that bit.


Man I already have a lot of things to fix. I will wait a bit longer to see what else needs to be done before releasing a bug fix version.
CodeMonkeyX
codemonkeyx.net
"Codito Ergo Sum" - Descartes (kinda)

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

Double check you made the changes to posting.php correctly.
Defend the game:
Image

live@ct
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 5:30 am
Contact:

Post by live@ct »

i try this mod and i think that its great!!!

but a have some problems with moving the news_index.php

i install my forum in

http://galeriadigital.europortales.com/foro/

i install the mod and i test it and all works fine
you can check

http://galeriadigital.europortales.com/ ... ticias.php

the next thing that i try was to put that file in my principal page with the funtion include

http://galeriadigital.europortales.com/index.php

but the results were to bad many errors that i don't remember

then i think if i made that the

http://galeriadigital.europortales.com/news_index.php

work in that folder i will put with include in my index.php and maybe it will work

and that its the step that i can't fix

it show me a msg that says
Please ensure both the install/ and contrib/ directories are deleted

and i see in the statusbar when tha page is loading try to get the templates from the root folder...

http://galeriadigital.europortales.com/templates...

i hope that someone can helpme to fix this or tellme a better idea to put the news file in the index.php

sorry for my bad english...
.........."Un Viaje de miles de kilómetros comienza con el primer paso".........
Image

senghong79
Registered User
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Malaysia

Post by senghong79 »

The cat_id's aren't passed to the pagination. Is it a bug or something wrong with my installation?

another problem
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: html_entity_decode() in ...\includes\news.php on line 587

live@ct
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 5:30 am
Contact:

Post by live@ct »

i solved the problem

i create a subdomian and put in the index with and include with all the url

and it work

now the cuestion is if i can show in diferents php the diferents sections of news, for example,

news_index.php <- here all the news

news_section01.php <- only the news of the section 01

if it possible???
.........."Un Viaje de miles de kilómetros comienza con el primer paso".........
Image

senghong79
Registered User
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Malaysia

Post by senghong79 »

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: html_entity_decode() in ...\includes\news.php on line 587


from php.net
html_entity_decode

(PHP 4 >= 4.3.0)


that explains it as I'm testinng it on a outdated setup....

senghong79
Registered User
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Malaysia

Post by senghong79 »

also having no luck with the new trim functions, but knowing myself, might be another stupid mistake on my own. But I'll just post here to see if anyone else have the same problem:

1. A news post with <!--break--> trims properly at the designated place.
2. A post without any bbcode just dissappears completely (trimmed to 0 characters)
3. A post with bbcode isn't trimmed at all.

[EDIT] Solved.. problem with my test server again...[/EDIT]

DivErTido
Registered User
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 10:11 pm
Contact:

Post by DivErTido »

live@ct wrote: i it show me a msg that says
Please ensure both the install/ and contrib/ directories are deleted

You need to delete install folder in forum root :wink:

Hi ppl,
I think that I need your help... :roll:

I have an 2.0.4 phpbb forum and I already installed this GREAT mod... (With no problems... everything fine!)
But... when I click "New Topic", the news option dont appear... :cry:
What I do wrong? :roll:

This is my News configuration:

Image
This is ok? Is the category number? ID?

Image

Image
This is what I mean...

Can anyone help me? please? :roll:

My Portal: www.divertidos.net
My Forum: www.divertidos.net/forum

P.S. Sorry my bad english...
P.S. Please sorry for my poor english...
Legendas Divx

DivErTido
Registered User
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 10:11 pm
Contact:

Post by DivErTido »

Please!? :roll:
P.S. Please sorry for my poor english...
Legendas Divx

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”