[RC] PHPBB Spell Checker 1.06p - 09/20/05

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
sammyd56
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 5:48 pm

Post by sammyd56 »

firefox 0.8 i'm using, and it simply doesn't work :( no idea why. the code i removed was from spell_phpbb.php it was what i was talking about earlier. perhaps it might be to do with some security settings in firefox? i have no idea! oh well i'm happy anyway seeings as all my forum users use IE.

cheers,

sam
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

sammyd56 wrote: firefox 0.8 i'm using, and it simply doesn't work :( no idea why. the code i removed was from spell_phpbb.php it was what i was talking about earlier. perhaps it might be to do with some security settings in firefox? i have no idea! oh well i'm happy anyway seeings as all my forum users use IE.

cheers,

sam


Try using my test site and see if it works. (See my sig)

Nathan.
tbartold
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:51 am
Contact:

Post by tbartold »

Nathan -

Something that has been bothering me for a while is why the spellcheck always flags "I'm" as a misspelled word. And it suggests "Iamb" and "Immy" as replacements???? Where did those words come from?
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

tbartold wrote: Nathan -

Something that has been bothering me for a while is why the spellcheck always flags "I'm" as a misspelled word. And it suggests "Iamb" and "Immy" as replacements???? Where did those words come from?


I have no idea where immy and iamb are from. I have noticed that there are some spanish words in the dictionary. I suspect that one of these years, I need to run a scan of the dictionary against dictionary.com or something to eliminate these bogus words. ;-) Although it might be easier to find a better dictionary from like the pspell group or something. I haven't bothered to do a search for one.

Nathan.
P.S. You can add "i'm" to the dictionary to solve this problem.
asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

Nathan_Anderson wrote: ...You can add "i'm" to the dictionary to solve this problem.


Right, you can add any word with an apostraphe to the dictionary right from the spelling part of the admin control panel.

Avoiding having words with periods in them like e.g. or i.e. is a bit trickier, but Nathan explains how to do that a bit earlier in this thread (maybe 1 page back) in response to a question I posed. You need to add the words you it not to check (like e.g.) to the list of things like emoticons that get stripped out before words get checked. So you need to go into I believe you can add those to $Spell_Config.php and add e.g. and i.e. and whatever else to the ['Symbol_Tags'] list.
frankb
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:39 pm

Spell check window does not pop up

Post by frankb »

I've installed version 1.06 with phpbb 2.06.

The Spellcheck admin panel comes up, and I was able to install the English dictionary with no problems.

The Spellcheck button shows up below the message composition textfield, as expected.

However, when I click the Spellcheck button, nothing happens.

Any suggestions?

--
Frank
ayusuf
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Orlando,Fl
Contact:

this mod is confusing

Post by ayusuf »

where do you put which files where. where are the instructions.
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Spell check window does not pop up

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

frankb wrote: I've installed version 1.06 with phpbb 2.06.

The Spellcheck admin panel comes up, and I was able to install the English dictionary with no problems.

The Spellcheck button shows up below the message composition textfield, as expected.

However, when I click the Spellcheck button, nothing happens.

Any suggestions?

--
Frank


PM the site and I will take a look at it. My guess would be your missing the js file..

Nathan.
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: this mod is confusing

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

ayusuf wrote: where do you put which files where. where are the instructions.


Should be a readme/docs folder in the zip file...

Nathan.
mouton
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 3:29 pm

Problems with spellcheck 1.06o

Post by mouton »

I've just installed phpspellcheck version 1.06o on phpbb 2.06. I have Mssql 7.0 as a database.

I able to install the English dictionary in Safe mode only with a lot of warnings of truncation. At the end of the upload, which takes an awfully long time ~1hr, I get an javascript error message:
"A runtime error has occured. Do you wish to debug?
Line:2
Error: 'sfmform' unidentified"

The Spellcheck button shows up below the message composition textfield, but when I click on it only an empty window comes up and nothing happens.

When I run the spell_diags.php the only unusuall thing I see is:
"Words in DB:
Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in C:\PhPBB\phpBB2\spelling\spell_phpbb.php on line 246".

Thanks a lot in advance.
mouton
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 3:29 pm

Adding to my previous post..

Post by mouton »

To add to my previous post. I forgot to mention that on the top spell_diag.php page I get this message:

Warning: odbc_exec(): SQL error: [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Invalid column name 'code'., SQL state S0022 in SQLExecDirect in C:\PhPBB\phpBB2\db\mssql-odbc.php on line 117

Notice: Undefined property: in_transaction in C:\PhPBB\phpBB2\db\mssql-odbc.php on line 181

Error opening smilies table.


I looked and there is a column 'code' in the php_smilies table. So, I am a bit confused. :? Thanks a lot.
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding to my previous post..

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

mouton wrote: To add to my previous post. I forgot to mention that on the top spell_diag.php page I get this message:

Warning: odbc_exec(): SQL error: [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Invalid column name 'code'., SQL state S0022 in SQLExecDirect in C:\PhPBB\phpBB2\db\mssql-odbc.php on line 117

Notice: Undefined property: in_transaction in C:\PhPBB\phpBB2\db\mssql-odbc.php on line 181

Error opening smilies table.


I looked and there is a column 'code' in the php_smilies table. So, I am a bit confused. :? Thanks a lot.


I'm going to attempt to trace down this issue tonight.

Nathan.
mouton
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 3:29 pm

Still on that MS SQL error...

Post by mouton »

I'm going to attempt to trace down this issue tonight.

Nathan.

I am new to PHP, so I haven't gone into the code to look for what is causing the error.
I thought this might help : MS article#222664
odie3
Registered User
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Kyle USA
Contact:

Post by odie3 »

Hi, I am using your O version and noticed in the config file there was a path to the phpBB css file. I changed this to my subBlack style directory and the phpSpell Admin looks nice in my colors. However, the phpSpell is still in subSilver.

Is that just they way it is for now?
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Still on that MS SQL error...

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

mouton wrote:
I'm going to attempt to trace down this issue tonight.

Nathan.

I am new to PHP, so I haven't gone into the code to look for what is causing the error.
I thought this might help : MS article#222664


Actually I already figured out what the issue was -- guess I forgot to report back to this thread, but THANKS for the pointer, I appreciate it!!!

Nathan.
P.S. If you are running MSSQL turn the smily load config variable to false; the next version I will have this fixed.
Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”