[RC] PHPBB Spell Checker 1.06p - 09/20/05

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

odie3 wrote: Hi, I am using your O version and noticed in the config file there was a path to the phpBB css file. I changed this to my subBlack style directory and the phpSpell Admin looks nice in my colors. However, the phpSpell is still in subSilver.

Is that just they way it is for now?


Yep, that is currently used by the admin interface. However if you use the new alpha template version it will use some of the css...

Nathan.
mouton
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 3:29 pm

That's it.

Post by mouton »

Yes, that did it. All is working now. Thanks a lot for your help. :D
Helmut71
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:50 am

hi

Post by Helmut71 »

I always get an error message in my acp: You must choose a Database Type in the Spell Configuration file.

can you help me??
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: hi

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

Helmut71 wrote: I always get an error message in my acp: You must choose a Database Type in the Spell Configuration file.

can you help me??


You need to make sure that you have a db type picked in your spell config file. You also need to make sure that you have the spell-phpbb file or (spell-xxxxx (whatever db)). You need to typically copy two directories from the zip file. (i.e. common & phpbb) all files in those two directories need to go into the "spelling" directory.

Nathan.
Helmut71
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:50 am

Post by Helmut71 »

hmm...thx ...I suppose I have to add a German.dic file now, any idea where I can get one from??
Helmut71
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:50 am

Post by Helmut71 »

ok I've found a German.dic File at openoffice, but now I've got another problem: When I write a text in German, most of the words aren't found - but all of them are in the dictionary.

And it makes some strange suggestions (non German): what have I done wrong??

I guess that for some reason the db isn't used..

update: I'm an idiot...this kind of german.dic has der plural and the cases added as klein/er/es.

Therefore nothing can be found..



ANYBODY got a German.dic file which works with this Mod??
odie3
Registered User
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Kyle USA
Contact:

Post by odie3 »

Nathan_Anderson wrote:
odie3 wrote:Hi, I am using your O version and noticed in the config file there was a path to the phpBB css file. I changed this to my subBlack style directory and the phpSpell Admin looks nice in my colors. However, the phpSpell is still in subSilver.

Is that just they way it is for now?


Yep, that is currently used by the admin interface. However if you use the new alpha template version it will use some of the css...

Nathan.


Hi Nathan,

Where might I find this *alpha* version?

Also, I am needing:
French, German, and Spanish spelling support. Are you or anyone for that matter, working on these three languages? I assume that if a forum member switches his board language then the SpellingMod will change it's language too (I hope it is not one language per board).

Perhaps a PayPal donation will help in this matter.... :wink:
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

odie3 wrote:
Nathan_Anderson wrote:
odie3 wrote:Hi, I am using your O version and noticed in the config file there was a path to the phpBB css file. I changed this to my subBlack style directory and the phpSpell Admin looks nice in my colors. However, the phpSpell is still in subSilver.

Is that just they way it is for now?


Yep, that is currently used by the admin interface. However if you use the new alpha template version it will use some of the css...

Nathan.


Hi Nathan,

Where might I find this *alpha* version?

Also, I am needing:
French, German, and Spanish spelling support. Are you or anyone for that matter, working on these three languages? I assume that if a forum member switches his board language then the SpellingMod will change it's language too (I hope it is not one language per board).

Perhaps a PayPal donation will help in this matter.... :wink:


1. The alpha is in the latest zip file.
2. Nobody has submitted any files for French, German or Spanish. If someone wanted to work with me (like how we got Russian supported) let me know and we can get those languages easily added. Sorry to say by bilingoism(sp) is only in computer languages, I only know english; so I need basically someone to give me a couple pieces of information and verify certian things and support can be added realivily quickly.
3. It doesn't really have any formal support for what the board language as I never coded it to use phpbb's language information (although it would not be hard to do so). It does support multible languages (as you can see from the demo on my site I have english & russian).

Nathan.
iloserman
Registered User
Posts: 1147
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 7:45 pm
Location: My Closet Mode: Working
Contact:

Post by iloserman »

Hey, installed and when tested I got a Unable to perform spell check at this time. at the top, like the popup loads, but in says Unable to perform spell check at this time. at the top of bar thing. I have installed the ENGLISH.dic file. Why is it doing this, and whats the fix.

I have made the proper MODifications to the view topic file

Im using a MySQL database.


ILM
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

iloserman wrote: Hey, installed and when tested I got a Unable to perform spell check at this time. at the top, like the popup loads, but in says Unable to perform spell check at this time. at the top of bar thing. I have installed the ENGLISH.dic file. Why is it doing this, and whats the fix.

I have made the proper MODifications to the view topic file

Im using a MySQL database.
ILM


Could be any number of reasons. Is this a straitgh phpbb, or are you using nuke? What does the spell_diags say?

Nathan.
iloserman
Registered User
Posts: 1147
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 7:45 pm
Location: My Closet Mode: Working
Contact:

Post by iloserman »

its phpbb, and it says this :

Unable to perform spell check at this time.

I assume thats what your asking.

the url is here http://feedback2.alliantinternet.com/Techies/forums/

Thanks,
ILM
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

iloserman wrote: its phpbb, and it says this :

Unable to perform spell check at this time.

I assume thats what your asking.

the url is here http://feedback2.alliantinternet.com/Techies/forums/

Thanks,
ILM


In the spell configuration file, set the load smilies to false.

Nathan.
Maxxy
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 6:49 pm

Post by Maxxy »

Hi Folks,

fol all who are interested in an adaptation for german, here is a "spell_German.php".

Code: Select all

<?php
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // phpSpell Language Template
  //
  // This is (c)Copyright 2002, 2003, Team phpSpell.
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------

  // --------------------------
  // Table Name
  // --------------------------
  $DB_TableName=$table_prefix."spelling_words";

  // Language Text
  $Language_Text = array('Suche nach %d Wörtern.    %d zu korrigierende Wörter gefunden.');
  $Language_Javascript = array('Bitte Warten','Keine Störungen gefunden...', /
                  'OK','Abbrechen','Rechtschreibprüfung abgeschlossen','Korrigieren', /
                  'Alle','Ignorieren','Hinzufügen','Vorschlagen', /
                  'Definition','Thesaurus','Ändern in:','Keine Vorschläge');

  // Prefix Database name for MSSQL tables
//  if ($dbms == "mssql") {
//    $DB_TableName = $dbname.".".$DB_TableName;
//  }

  // ---------------------------------------
  // PSPELL Support - Use German Dictionary
  // ---------------------------------------
  $Spell_Config["PSPELL_LANGUAGE"] = "de";
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // Example translation table:
  //     $Translation_Table = array("À", "Æ", "Ç");
  //     $Replacement_Table = array("a", "an", "sth");
  //     $Language_Translation_Character_List = "ÀÆÇ";
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // for every "À" it finds in a word it will replace it with a "a"
  // for every "Ç" it finds it will replace it with a "sth"
  // for every "Æ" it finds it will replace it with a "an"
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // Put the character(s) to be translated into the Translation_Table
  // Put the replacement character(s) into the replacement table
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // The replacement string should be equivelent to the ENGLISH PHONETIC
  // sound.  So if you were to take a word with "À" in it; how would you
  // phonetically spell the word in english.  If the "À" sounds like a "A"
  // in english then "A" would be the replacement character.
  // If it sounds like "th" then you would use "th" as the characters.
  // always replace Larger groups first.  (i.e. if "ññ" sounds differently
  // than "ñ" then in the translation table you would have the "ññ" listed
  // before the "ñ".  So that way when it would replaced the "ññ" before it
  // replaced it twice with "ñ".
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // Any letters you do not translate will be IGNORED for
  // when it attempts to find spelling matches!!!
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  //$Translation_Table = array("Ä", "ä", "Ö", "ö", "Ü"," ü", "ß");
  //$Replacement_Table = array("Ae", "ae", "Öe", "ö", "Üe", "ü", "ss");
  $Translation_Table = array();
  $Replacement_Table = array();

  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // Put the list of valid characters in your language in this list
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  $Language_Character_List = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyzäöüßÄÖÜ'";
  $Language_Common_Words = "der,die,das,ist,war,sein,sind,waren,bin,von,vom,und, /
       ein,eine,einer,innen,zu,zum,haben,hat,habe,hatten,er,sie,es,seiner, /
       seine,seines,ich,mein,mir,mich,wir,unser,unsere,euer,eures,ihnen,nicht,nein,für,du, /
       deins,ihrs,mit,auf,dieses,dies,jeses,tun,tat,getan,bei,beim,aber,leider,jedoch,von,als, /
       oder,wird,sagen,sagte,sage,würde,würdest,was,dort,hier,wenn,kann,wer,wessen,so,gehen, /
       geht,gegangen,mehr,anders,andere,eins,sehen,sah,gesehen,wissen,weiß,wußte";

  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // Translation function
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  function Translate_Word($Word) {
    return ($Word);
  }

  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  // Phonetic work function
  // --------------------------------------------------------------------
  function Word_Sound_Function($Word) {
    return (metaphone($Word));
  }


  function Language_Decode(&$Data)
  {
    // MS Internet Explorer Hack -- IE sends utf8-unicode for upper (ascii 128+) characters
     if (strpos(@$_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'MSIE') > 0 || strpos(@$_SERVER['ALL_HTTP'], 'MSIE') > 0) {
       if (function_exists('utf8_decode')) $Data = utf8_decode($Data);
     }
     return ($Data);
  }

  function Language_Encode(&$Data)
  {
    return ($Data);
  }

  function Language_Lower(&$Data)
  {
    return(strtolower($Data));
  }

  function Language_Upper(&$Data)
  {
    return(strtoupper($Data));
  }

?>
Put this file in your spelling directory.
Then add 'German' in "spell_config.php" to the supported languages:

Code: Select all

$Spell_Config['Languages_Supported'] = array('English', 'Russian', 'German');
Hope, if forgot nothing.
In my forum ist work's fine. :D

Greetings,
Maxxy
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson »

Maxxy,

1. THANKS for the translation!!!
2. Any chance you have a word list somewhere, I can add on my site.

Nathan.
Maxxy
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 6:49 pm

Post by Maxxy »

Hi Nathan,

I got a word list from a site like this:
http://i31www.ira.uka.de/~semin04/software/winedt/dict/

Maxxy
Last edited by Maxxy on Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”