[DEV] NewsSync (Usenet -> phpBB Sync)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Running in Win2k

Post by Trinity » Wed Mar 12, 2003 4:57 pm

I actually have this working in Apache running in a Win2k machine. I just tried this out for fun, although I am not sure how I would be able to run the script through the command line (obviously I can't because it's not Linux), so I ran newssync.php in IE for the heck of it, and it worked. However, I can't just run IE all the time to keep everything updated in sync with usenet. Is there a way to run this in Windows platform? Any help would be great.

-T

Legolas-ga
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Costa Mesa, CA - but, moving to Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by Legolas-ga » Wed Mar 12, 2003 5:02 pm

kolczyk wrote: phpBB 2.0.3 and b2


Is there a reason why you still run 2.0.3? You really should upgrade....

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Running in Win2k

Post by wineknow » Wed Mar 12, 2003 6:00 pm

Trinity wrote: I actually have this working in Apache running in a Win2k machine. I just tried this out for fun, although I am not sure how I would be able to run the script through the command line (obviously I can't because it's not Linux), so I ran newssync.php in IE for the heck of it, and it worked. However, I can't just run IE all the time to keep everything updated in sync with usenet. Is there a way to run this in Windows platform? Any help would be great.

-T


On windows you can still run php from the command line
go do a command prompt and use the same command line as in the docs

If you create a batch file then you can use windows scheduler to have it run every hour (or whatever)

-k

modaco
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:21 pm

Post by modaco » Wed Mar 12, 2003 8:16 pm

There seems to be a major bug in b2 for me, replies do not go on to the existing thread in the nG, instead they start a new thread!

Any ideas? b1 worked correctly...

P

PS Sig function works a treat ;)

kolczyk
Registered User
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 8:57 pm

Post by kolczyk » Wed Mar 12, 2003 8:25 pm

it's working fine replies are replies and new topics are new topics

maybe that message expired at newsgrup?

modaco
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:21 pm

Post by modaco » Wed Mar 12, 2003 8:30 pm

Nope, definitely not the case :(

Any ideas?

How is the parent post identified?

I have just recopied the files over b1 files, and ran the sync.

Do I need to flush first?

P

modaco
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:21 pm

Post by modaco » Wed Mar 12, 2003 9:24 pm

Right, did a purge, and it now appears to be working OK. :)

A couple of points:

1) When e-mail addresses are interrogated for incoming user info (NNTP -> phpBB), could NOSPAM be automagically removed? That way more users will be correctly matched.

2) If the subject line on a reply contains an apostrophe, then the subject stops there. Does this mean it's not being escaped properly?

3) It is quite important to add the function to check if a script is already running. I have a CRON set up, and definitely don't want it kicking off if I have a purge and initial sync running. Some sort of locking mechanism?

Keep up the good work...

P

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Thu Mar 13, 2003 4:58 am

modaco wrote: 1) When e-mail addresses are interrogated for incoming user info (NNTP -> phpBB), could NOSPAM be automagically removed? That way more users will be correctly matched.

2) If the subject line on a reply contains an apostrophe, then the subject stops there. Does this mean it's not being escaped properly?

3) It is quite important to add the function to check if a script is already running. I have a CRON set up, and definitely don't want it kicking off if I have a purge and initial sync running. Some sort of locking mechanism?

Keep up the good work...

P


#1 - I have this coded and testing [in upcoming beta]
#2 - do you mean a phpBB post => nntp or nntp->phpBB post
#3 - I also have this coded and testing [in upcoming beta]

-k

modaco
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:21 pm

Post by modaco » Thu Mar 13, 2003 6:38 am

#1 Cool!
#2 phpBB -> NNTP
#3 Cool!

:)

P

User avatar
Godai
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2002 12:15 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Godai » Thu Mar 13, 2003 6:14 pm

I don't have cron access on my server, there'll be an alternative in future versions?

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Re: Running in Win2k

Post by Trinity » Thu Mar 13, 2003 6:40 pm

wineknow wrote:
Trinity wrote:I actually have this working in Apache running in a Win2k machine. I just tried this out for fun, although I am not sure how I would be able to run the script through the command line (obviously I can't because it's not Linux), so I ran newssync.php in IE for the heck of it, and it worked. However, I can't just run IE all the time to keep everything updated in sync with usenet. Is there a way to run this in Windows platform? Any help would be great.

-T


On windows you can still run php from the command line
go do a command prompt and use the same command line as in the docs

If you create a batch file then you can use windows scheduler to have it run every hour (or whatever)

-k


I have tried to run this from the command line, but nothing happens after I run this script. Do I have to be in a specific directory when running this command on a windows machine?

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Running in Win2k

Post by wineknow » Fri Mar 14, 2003 11:06 pm

Trinity wrote:
wineknow wrote:
Trinity wrote:I actually have this working in Apache running in a Win2k machine. I just tried this out for fun, although I am not sure how I would be able to run the script through the command line (obviously I can't because it's not Linux), so I ran newssync.php in IE for the heck of it, and it worked. However, I can't just run IE all the time to keep everything updated in sync with usenet. Is there a way to run this in Windows platform? Any help would be great.

-T


On windows you can still run php from the command line
go do a command prompt and use the same command line as in the docs

If you create a batch file then you can use windows scheduler to have it run every hour (or whatever)

-k


I have tried to run this from the command line, but nothing happens after I run this script. Do I have to be in a specific directory when running this command on a windows machine?


is php in your path? if not find php.exe and enter the full path
\php\bin\php.exe -q newssync.php
[note your current directory should be the directory you put newssync.php]

-k

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

newssync - next version 0.7Beta

Post by wineknow » Fri Mar 14, 2003 11:12 pm

I changed the numbering scheme to match how I was reving the code.
So the old way this would be B3.

Lots of changes:
- added a way to detect if a previous process is already running
- autodetect .NOSPAM in email address and remove it to help match userid
- added ability to purge newsgroup from http (http://yoursite///newssync.php?newspurge=alt.test) -- never tested it though...
- removed the EMPTYLOGFILE command line parameter
- fixed a bug in converting the message time to phpBB time
- added a max logfile size in config -- as it was getting rather large at times
- messages are now expired properly
- quotes are not supported both ways usenet -> phpBB -> usenet
-- any help in testing this would be great...
- reorganized config file as well as moved most of it to inc/newssync_const.php file

to upgrade.
- to clear two data bugs (the setting the time and the not purging of topics), I recommend that you erase the previous beta and data files and install this one.
- then from the command line (or thru http: assuming it works)
use the NEWSPURGE=[yournewsgroup] for each of your news groups
- basically to wipe everything out...

to install fresh -- see INSTALL file in tar.

you can download at:
http://www.wineknow.com/downloads/newssync_0.7_beta.tar

let me know any issues.
[it's far from perfect but getting better]
-k

Legolas-ga
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Costa Mesa, CA - but, moving to Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by Legolas-ga » Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:09 am

are you getting rid of all the other bbcode that some people put in there? i.e. color, bold, italics, etc.. all should be stripped.. Is that done in the release?

Legolas

Legolas-ga
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Costa Mesa, CA - but, moving to Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by Legolas-ga » Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:13 am

post expiry.. You're deleting posts based on the nntp server's expiry time.. Any chance you can give a nice true/false "expire topics" flag so that I can use the built-in features of phpbb to delete posts in each forum? and.. could the software go through and 'clean up' the phpbb deletions in its own database?

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”