[BETA] Rebuild Search Mod

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
sanjo
Registered User
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:39 am

Post by sanjo »

why doesn't this script remove common words? someone in this thread mentioned this script: http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/p ... cvs-markup and they to something like this:

Code: Select all

// Remove common words after the first 2 batches and after every 4th batch after that.
	if( $batchcount % 4 == 3 )
	{
		print "<br>Removing common words (words that appear in more than $common_percent of the posts)<br>\n";
		flush();
		print "Removed ". remove_common("global", $common_percent) ." words that where too common.<br>";
	}
any idea? Otherwise I have to say that your mod is awesome...I wonder why something like this isn't included by deault...
puntoforum
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 4:02 pm

Post by puntoforum »

hi

mine seams to be stuck on 0% and its not doing anything to my database either. am i doing anything wrong?
encryption
Registered User
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 2:07 pm
Contact:

Post by encryption »

yep same here, mod doesnt do anything, doesnt move from 0% and page seems to keep refreshing itself

-e-
mel@nie
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:20 am

Post by mel@nie »

Same here :(
s2000
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 9:53 am

Post by s2000 »

Same problem..

I think the problem is in the function onTime() that always returns FALSE on some servers..

I solveded removing on line 88 the onTime() check..

from this:

Code: Select all

while (($row = $db->sql_fetchrow ($result)) && (onTime () == true)) {
		add_search_words('single', $row['post_id'], stripslashes($row['post_text']), stripslashes($row['post_subject']));
		$num_rows++;
	}
to this:

Code: Select all

while (($row = $db->sql_fetchrow ($result))/* && (onTime () == true)*/) {
		add_search_words('single', $row['post_id'], stripslashes($row['post_text']), stripslashes($row['post_subject']));
		$num_rows++;
}
now it works..

Bye
Mountain_cat_1M
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Post by Mountain_cat_1M »

Hello all

I want to rebuild my 96meg word index but I can not get the admin/admin_rebuild_search.php to run. It just takes me to either the Admin Index after logging on or to the main index. I have 2.0.10.

Probably a simple answer :?

EDIT: It was a simple answer...didn't see the new addition to the Admin Index. :roll:
Mountain_cat_1M
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Post by Mountain_cat_1M »

I ran the mod overnight and my table grew to 500+ megs with over 8 million records! I had to empty the table for now. Anyone know what happened here?
Gamer2com
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 2:06 pm

Post by Gamer2com »

1
User avatar
Politicsinfo
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:58 am
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by Politicsinfo »

Hi, at first I also had a problem with the mod introduced in this thread.

After a few seconds running the script, I got a page not found.

I have a forum with over 416000 posts. My search_wordmatch should be about 400MB (unfortunately, I couldn't get a backup of it, phpAdmin refused to export the full file).

I moved my forum to another server, all tables were imported succesfully, except the search_wordmatch. That's what I need to rebuild the search db for.

The thing about this script seems like u have to play around with the settings a little bit.

As for now, I used post_limit=20

and its seems to work like that. For the moment, I'm at start=4280

and total_num_rows=4177005

I'll keep you posted.
I proudly present to you:

-0- Politicsinfo.be -0-
magicpocket
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 10:55 am

Post by magicpocket »

Hi

I run 2.0.11, and have done the time() mod to get this thing past 0%.

I can't seem to get past 48%. None of the starting options have any explaination whatsoever as to what they actually do, and what's the "next" button for?

This mod seems to have died a death, which is a shame, as I have no search tables now.
User avatar
Politicsinfo
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:58 am
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by Politicsinfo »

magicpocket wrote: Hi

I run 2.0.11, and have done the time() mod to get this thing past 0%.

I can't seem to get past 48%. None of the starting options have any explaination whatsoever as to what they actually do, and what's the "next" button for?

This mod seems to have died a death, which is a shame, as I have no search tables now.

Well, I've had problems with it to, in fact, I still have.

But there's some improvement.

This mod is the only one out there that works (for me).

I've got a forum with 417 000 + posts I need to re-index.

The mod with the standard settings gave me a lot of troubles, so I tried some different settings and found out it works best with:

post_limit=1
time_limit=0
refresh_rate=3

Can you give this a try and let us know if it worked?

(It's a very slow process. At the moment I've been able to rebuild 26 400 posts... (6%)
I proudly present to you:

-0- Politicsinfo.be -0-
mel@nie
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:20 am

Post by mel@nie »

s2000 wrote: Same problem..

I think the problem is in the function onTime() that always returns FALSE on some servers..

I solveded removing on line 88 the onTime() check..

from this:

Code: Select all

while (($row = $db->sql_fetchrow ($result)) && (onTime () == true)) {
		add_search_words('single', $row['post_id'], stripslashes($row['post_text']), stripslashes($row['post_subject']));
		$num_rows++;
	}
to this:

Code: Select all

while (($row = $db->sql_fetchrow ($result))/* && (onTime () == true)*/) {
		add_search_words('single', $row['post_id'], stripslashes($row['post_text']), stripslashes($row['post_subject']));
		$num_rows++;
}
now it works..

Bye

Thank you!
User avatar
303
Registered User
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 6:11 am
Contact:

Post by 303 »

if I run Rebuild twice or click next twice, is add new words to table again, or do replace words? :roll:
303
User avatar
303
Registered User
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 6:11 am
Contact:

Post by 303 »

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /home/public_html/includes/functions_search.php on line 122

im tierd :cry:
303
akslee
Registered User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Post by akslee »

When I run this mod, it just quickly takes me back to the forum index.
Help !? :roll:
Last edited by akslee on Wed Dec 29, 2004 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"If you have a great time teaching your child, and your child has a great time, there simply isn't anyway you can lose."

www.ChildBrain.org
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”