YAARF - Yet Another Anti Robotic Register mod

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
User avatar
iluvatar
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:40 pm

YAARF - Yet Another Anti Robotic Register mod

Post by iluvatar »

Hi,

I wanted to change a bit the lloks of smartor's Anti Robotic Register Flood. Some of my users didn't manage to spell right the text (don't know why).

The changes made to the original mode where:

1) The image is created from within php, not loaded from files. With a look seen on some comercial websites.

2) Part of the Database management is done inside the picture file, therefore it seems easier to install.

3) Made changes to the randomizing function to obtain more randomness.

And I think thats about it.

You can download the file from: http://www.terra.es/personal/antispam/yaarrf.zip

Hope you like the modification of the mod.

Sorry for my poor english.

User avatar
iluvatar
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:40 pm

Some Errors corrected

Post by iluvatar »

Ops!

Found some mistakes wich where not corrected on the first release. This made the script output error messages. This mistakes where corrected. The URL for the file is the same as above.

When you retrieve the file check to see it states:
## MOD Version: 0.0.2


Wich is the fixed version.

fishfreek
Registered User
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 3:05 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Post by fishfreek »

How about a demo site where we can see and test this out?
Have you joined the PetAdvice Network?

Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so ask me how to join our local Shenandoah Valley aquarium group.

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Trinity »

For some reason, I installed everything correctly - but, when I go to register, no image shows up - it's just a broken image link. Any ideas?
Shop smart, shop S-mart.

User avatar
Ptirhiik
Registered User
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 10:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Ptirhiik »

I tink you forgot to mention it will require some extra picture lib to be installed on the server, as GD library ie. So it won't run on all configuration.

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Trinity »

You wouldn't happen to know a MOD that is similar to this, but written by another author?
Shop smart, shop S-mart.

User avatar
Carpe Diem
Registered User
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 11:19 pm

Post by Carpe Diem »

Trinity wrote: You wouldn't happen to know a MOD that is similar to this, but written by another author?


Go here to get the original version for this mod.

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Trinity »

Thanks a bunch. I installed the original version and it works great.
Shop smart, shop S-mart.

User avatar
Carpe Diem
Registered User
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 11:19 pm

Post by Carpe Diem »

Trinity wrote: Thanks a bunch. I installed the original version and it works great.


sure np, glad to help.

Godlike242
Registered User
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:29 pm
Contact:

Post by Godlike242 »

fwiw,

after a bit of playing around, this should be the the SQL code for MS SQL

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE phpbb_anti_robotic_reg (
	session_id char(32) DEFAULT '' NOT NULL,
	reg_key char(5) NOT NULL,
	timestamp int NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY (session_id))

As noted the original 'int' had character setting of 11 but MSSQL disallows that line. The default for int is 8, but that can be changed. the easiest would probably be within enterprise manager.... if someone knows of a better solution, i am all ears!

DavidKelley
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:42 pm
Location: On a plane, with no web

Is 003 the most current these days?

Post by DavidKelley »

I am having trouble with the install in this mod, sql is fine, code is patched okay, but when run all the users are seeing is a small empty frame where one expects to see the prompting graphic show up.

This is a 2.0.7 board on a Win 2003 server platform and I have installed Imagick Program (and the attachment mod) to help with pics. Is this perhaps causing trouble with my use of this mod? Got the same result on my test board which does not have any image software on it (also Windows).

Does not look like any action on this mod for nearly a year, should I install it or just use Smartor's Anti Robotic Register Flood?
DC Kelley

gopunkyourself
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 9:41 pm
Contact:

Post by gopunkyourself »

how about including instructions to upgrade from smartors version?

User avatar
Rookie7
Registered User
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 3:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Rookie7 »

Um...this is like a year ago and there's no need for this mod anymore. phpBB 2.0.6 to 2.0.8 comes with its own anti bot registration codes. You only need to add it in...and HERE is the instruction on how to add it in.

gopunkyourself
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 9:41 pm
Contact:

Post by gopunkyourself »

oh my bad. Someone bumped this thread before me and i didnt take notice of the date. sorryyyy

DavidKelley
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:42 pm
Location: On a plane, with no web

Post by DavidKelley »

Went back and un-installed it then installed the Smartor's Anti Robotic Register Flood mod and all works fine. The only detail I notice is that the this mod had an on/off switch in the config panel which is rather nice.
DC Kelley

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”