Page 1 of 1

YAARF - Yet Another Anti Robotic Register mod

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:57 pm
by iluvatar
Hi,

I wanted to change a bit the lloks of smartor's Anti Robotic Register Flood. Some of my users didn't manage to spell right the text (don't know why).

The changes made to the original mode where:

1) The image is created from within php, not loaded from files. With a look seen on some comercial websites.

2) Part of the Database management is done inside the picture file, therefore it seems easier to install.

3) Made changes to the randomizing function to obtain more randomness.

And I think thats about it.

You can download the file from: http://www.terra.es/personal/antispam/yaarrf.zip

Hope you like the modification of the mod.

Sorry for my poor english.

Some Errors corrected

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 9:14 pm
by iluvatar
Ops!

Found some mistakes wich where not corrected on the first release. This made the script output error messages. This mistakes where corrected. The URL for the file is the same as above.

When you retrieve the file check to see it states:
## MOD Version: 0.0.2


Wich is the fixed version.

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 2:56 pm
by fishfreek
How about a demo site where we can see and test this out?

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:41 am
by Trinity
For some reason, I installed everything correctly - but, when I go to register, no image shows up - it's just a broken image link. Any ideas?

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2003 3:37 am
by Ptirhiik
I tink you forgot to mention it will require some extra picture lib to be installed on the server, as GD library ie. So it won't run on all configuration.

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2003 3:40 am
by Trinity
You wouldn't happen to know a MOD that is similar to this, but written by another author?

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:36 pm
by Carpe Diem
Trinity wrote: You wouldn't happen to know a MOD that is similar to this, but written by another author?


Go here to get the original version for this mod.

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:58 pm
by Trinity
Thanks a bunch. I installed the original version and it works great.

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:06 pm
by Carpe Diem
Trinity wrote: Thanks a bunch. I installed the original version and it works great.


sure np, glad to help.

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:39 pm
by Godlike242
fwiw,

after a bit of playing around, this should be the the SQL code for MS SQL

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE phpbb_anti_robotic_reg (
	session_id char(32) DEFAULT '' NOT NULL,
	reg_key char(5) NOT NULL,
	timestamp int NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY (session_id))

As noted the original 'int' had character setting of 11 but MSSQL disallows that line. The default for int is 8, but that can be changed. the easiest would probably be within enterprise manager.... if someone knows of a better solution, i am all ears!

Is 003 the most current these days?

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 1:58 am
by DavidKelley
I am having trouble with the install in this mod, sql is fine, code is patched okay, but when run all the users are seeing is a small empty frame where one expects to see the prompting graphic show up.

This is a 2.0.7 board on a Win 2003 server platform and I have installed Imagick Program (and the attachment mod) to help with pics. Is this perhaps causing trouble with my use of this mod? Got the same result on my test board which does not have any image software on it (also Windows).

Does not look like any action on this mod for nearly a year, should I install it or just use Smartor's Anti Robotic Register Flood?

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 4:38 am
by gopunkyourself
how about including instructions to upgrade from smartors version?

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 4:51 am
by Rookie7
Um...this is like a year ago and there's no need for this mod anymore. phpBB 2.0.6 to 2.0.8 comes with its own anti bot registration codes. You only need to add it in...and HERE is the instruction on how to add it in.

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 5:52 am
by gopunkyourself
oh my bad. Someone bumped this thread before me and i didnt take notice of the date. sorryyyy

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 4:53 pm
by DavidKelley
Went back and un-installed it then installed the Smartor's Anti Robotic Register Flood mod and all works fine. The only detail I notice is that the this mod had an on/off switch in the config panel which is rather nice.