[MODDB] eXtreme Styles mod - v1.01

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
culturec
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 2:18 pm

Post by culturec »

here it is
// This will hold the uncompiled code for that handle.
var $uncompiled_code = array();

// Directories
var $dir_tpl = 'templates/fiapple';
var $dir_cache = 'cache';

// Current template name
var $tpl = '';
User avatar
Arty
Former Team Member
Posts: 16654
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 2:36 pm
Name: Vjacheslav Trushkin
Contact:

Post by Arty »

culturec wrote: in template^php
find template
replace with template/fiapple

what for?
It will cause all cache to be stored in "cache/" instead of "cache/fiapple/". Better just manually create directories cache/fiapple/ and cache/fiapple/admin/

I think your host is running in safe mode and i didn't find solution yet for that situation.

edit: actually i've got an idea on how to fix it... will release new beta version this evening.

culturec wrote: New probleme

I have a marque for stats (visiteurs) with was in footer.tpl and dosn't works any more;
<?
$lvc_include_dir = 'visiteurs/include/';
include($lvc_include_dir.'new-visitor.inc.php3');
?>

what about if I pit this in my index.php.
Can someone give me some advices ?

If you use php in .tpl file then all directories are relative to current root directory and better use $phpbb_root_path, so to include 'visiteurs/include/new-visitor.inc.php3' use

Code: Select all

<?php include($phpbb_root_path . 'visiteurs/include/new-visitor.inc.php3'); ?>
..and better use normal php tag <?php instead of <? - short tag works only on some hosts and with normal tag code is easier to read.


Thanks everyone for information. I'll release fixed version this evening.
Vjacheslav Trushkin / Arty.
Free phpBB 3.1 styles | New project: Iconify - modern SVG framework
mr.luc
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 4:09 pm
Contact:

Post by mr.luc »

my host runs in safe mode...
and it works for me except for having to do the chmod as admin and not letting the script do it.... :?
User avatar
Arty
Former Team Member
Posts: 16654
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 2:36 pm
Name: Vjacheslav Trushkin
Contact:

Post by Arty »

mr.luc wrote: my host runs in safe mode...
and it works for me except for having to do the chmod as admin and not letting the script do it.... :?

You mean chmod directories or files?

I can't test that anywhere because i don't have access to any host that is running in safe mode so i would appreciate if someone would give me access so i could do some testing (i won't screw up anything - i'll just make few tests that will help to make mod compatible with safe mode).
Vjacheslav Trushkin / Arty.
Free phpBB 3.1 styles | New project: Iconify - modern SVG framework
Antony
Registered User
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 9:06 am

Post by Antony »

CyberAlien wrote:
mr.luc wrote:my host runs in safe mode...
and it works for me except for having to do the chmod as admin and not letting the script do it.... :?

You mean chmod directories or files?

I can't test that anywhere because i don't have access to any host that is running in safe mode so i would appreciate if someone would give me access so i could do some testing (i won't screw up anything - i'll just make few tests that will help to make mod compatible with safe mode).


I'd offer but, hey safe mode is not an option. Wired hub offer.

Why not try free web space like ylycos? They run in super safe you can't do jack mode.
I've Been Banned!
mr.luc
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 4:09 pm
Contact:

Post by mr.luc »

CyberAlien wrote:
mr.luc wrote:my host runs in safe mode...
and it works for me except for having to do the chmod as admin and not letting the script do it.... :?

You mean chmod directories or files?


noo.. what i stated earlier....
mr.luc wrote: I encoutered an error that might be related..

even though i chmod 777 to the cachedir i still received the warning that cache cannot be written in the cpanel:

(on my localhost testserver AND on my webspace)

on my webspace it had created a subfolder called subsilver (i only use subsilver)... and it was 777 to... but i was not the owner.

so i deleted that folder with my ftp client AND then recreated it. I then changed the subfolder to 777 manually

from that moment on i didn't receive any warning any more...


[edit] I had to do the same with the subSilver/admin subdir in the cache!!!!


thats what i meant!
mr.luc
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 4:09 pm
Contact:

Post by mr.luc »

question on how to update...
If you managed to make it run with first version...
is there something else to do than overwrite the template.php???
tealc
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 3:04 pm

Post by tealc »

I ve instllaed the Mod and have done the changes in the statistik and common files!

Now only few Stats modules work :(

http://www.gamerfun.de/emuleworld/statistics.php
mr.luc
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 4:09 pm
Contact:

Post by mr.luc »

sorry for flooding... but

the version 0.1 worked fine after a few worarounds...

there is a problem in version 0.2. (for me)
in the function:
make_filename_cache($filename)

it is called in the admin_board.php to test the cache:

$filename = $template->make_filename_cache('_xs_test.tpl');

but the returned filename is empty..... (i added a print($filename); in the line below.... in version 0.1 it prints out the correct filename...)

so i will always have the warning...

as for the rest it doesn't seem to be caching...(i flushed the cache):
Page generation time: 0.1735s (PHP: 80% - SQL: 20%) - SQL queries: 25 - GZIP enabled - Debug on

and with version 0.1

Page generation time: 0.1195s (PHP: 80% - SQL: 20%) - SQL queries: 25 - GZIP enabled - Debug on

i downgraded to version 0.1 again :roll:
User avatar
Arty
Former Team Member
Posts: 16654
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 2:36 pm
Name: Vjacheslav Trushkin
Contact:

Post by Arty »

Antony wrote: Why not try free web space like ylycos? They run in super safe you can't do jack mode.

good point. thanks for idea.

mr.luc wrote: there is a problem in version 0.2. (for me)
in the function:
make_filename_cache($filename)

i'm very very sorry. i changed that part, but forgot to update install.txt

here is correct code for admin_board.php:

Code: Select all

// test cache
$filename = $template->make_filename('_xs_test.tpl');
$filename = $template->make_filename_cache($filename);
if(!$template->write_cache($filename, 'test'))
{
	$template->assign_block_vars('switch_xs_warning', array());
}
@unlink($filename);

I didn't test safe mode yet, when i'll test it and will find solution i'll also move all configuration to separate file from admin_board.php so there would be no need to mod anything - you'll just need to upload few files and overwrite template.php
Vjacheslav Trushkin / Arty.
Free phpBB 3.1 styles | New project: Iconify - modern SVG framework
Antony
Registered User
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 9:06 am

Post by Antony »

No problem.
I've Been Banned!
Dr DLP
Registered User
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 5:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Dr DLP »

CyberAlien wrote: here is correct code for admin_board.php:

Code: Select all

// test cache
$filename = $template->make_filename('_xs_test.tpl');
$filename = $template->make_filename_cache($filename);
if(!$template->write_cache($filename, 'test'))
{
	$template->assign_block_vars('switch_xs_warning', array());
}
@unlink($filename);

I don't see differences beetween the code you give and te one in the install file ...
Have I missed something ? :oops:
mr.luc
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 4:09 pm
Contact:

Post by mr.luc »

thx... works!!!
but :roll:

suddenly a directory is created in the cache called templates...hmmm
it stays empty... the files write themselves in the subSilver dir... but there is the cache/templates dir...

strange...
Dr DLP
Registered User
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 5:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Dr DLP »

I've posted an bad thing , works fine for me .
Many thanks Cyberalien !
User avatar
oxpus
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 11:43 am
Location: D - Bad Wildungen
Name: Karsten Ude
Contact:

Post by oxpus »

Big THX from me too for this mod.
Is works errorfree on my board and speeds it up to... to... No words!!!
Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”