not a mod request but...

This forum is now closed as part of retiring phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

This forum is now closed due to phpBB2.0 being retired.
DWFII
Name: D.W.

not a mod request but...

Post by DWFII »

I'm a newbie here and although I created a number of webpages (in html with a text based editor) some years ago, I haven't kept up.

One thing I've observed just from the little while that I've been reading and posting to this board is that this software does not seem to be really all that easy for beginners...or people who are perhaps unwilling or having difficulty learning a full blown scripting language for the web.

Oh yes, anyone can probably set up a basic forum but making it their own or making it unique seems (from everything I've read and seen..in the demo, forinstance) terribly difficult.

As an example...most folks new to this software (or less involved than serious php programmers) seem to rely on styles and mods. Yet a recent post indicates that as version 3 comes available all those mods and styles will have to be updated by the authors and reinstalled by the user. Will hair be lost or pulled? Will harsh words be heard?

Why is it so hard to change the layout and look of this forum (besides just changing the background colour) without resorting to styles that have been programmed by a third party who has a degree of expertise not shared by the general user?

Why is a mod required for nested forums and/or sub-forums?

I'm trying to learn php but in my sixth decade...while it may be a great intellectual challenge...and with a career outside of computer programming, it seems an overly steep learning curve, if only because I may never use the knowledge I gain of php again...or even at all.

Is there a reason that interface changes--structure as well as colour, layout and composition, can't be incorporated into admin options. For instance...why can't a sidebar be created with just a click of the mouse?