Google Translation MOD

This forum is now closed as part of retiring phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

This forum is now closed due to phpBB2.0 being retired.
Post Reply
AngelXSID
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:18 pm

Google Translation MOD

Post by AngelXSID » Sun Dec 23, 2007 7:37 pm

I was just wondering is it possiable to have a mod, where you click the link, pops down, and it has options for more language options that are translated through Google language tools, but where it doesn't show the frame saying it was translated by Google. Also with it having little flags either side on what language it's relating too. I should wonder how it would work, but i haven't tried coding it, i'm not that good to have a go myself, i would only mess it up and send me crazy :(

So short:

drop down link, with options for other languages.
with little flags either side.
autohide the toolbar at the top on Google site, doesn't really matter if it can't be used properly, through like a frame killer, in case it has problems etc.

you can see what i mean through woltlab 3 language translator at the top. (http://demo.woltlab.com)
or on the youtube page.

i had a different mod request, but i forgot and that just poped into my head.

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by dellsystem » Sun Dec 23, 2007 8:03 pm

You can try this google translator MOD and customise it if need be :)
http://www.phpbbhacks.com/download/3127
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

AngelXSID
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:18 pm

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by AngelXSID » Sun Dec 23, 2007 8:17 pm

sweet, i'll give it a go, thanks. :D

User avatar
Linda Carter
Registered User
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:45 am

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by Linda Carter » Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:37 am

Sorry but I need to reply this thread to ask you if there is a MOD capable of translating posts without the user replying or opening new threads.

I mean, when a guest is visiting my board and the language of each post is written in spanish for example, this MOD that I am suggesting will translate all the text of each post (after you click on some button on each one) in another window from Google, using a combination that I, the administrator, have configured before (could be spanish to english, or english to spanish).

Did something like that was developed by someone? :)
"Whoever has not known himself has known nothing. But whoever has known himself has simultaneously achieved knowledge about the depth of all things."

AngelXSID
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:18 pm

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by AngelXSID » Sat Jul 05, 2008 4:07 pm

That would be way to much work. Maybe if you had something as simple as having a link to Google Translate, with a drop down on each post with the threadID and postID automatically added through the tpl files?

User avatar
Linda Carter
Registered User
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:45 am

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by Linda Carter » Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:07 pm

That will also be helpful, Angel. But I am affraid there is no such MOD out there. This MOD described above is only working when you click on "New thread" or "Reply button".

Look at this entire thread translated from english to spanish:
http://translate.google.com.br/translat ... R&ie=UTF-8

And the button to translate each thread could be located on the top or bottom of each page. ;)
"Whoever has not known himself has known nothing. But whoever has known himself has simultaneously achieved knowledge about the depth of all things."

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by dellsystem » Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:51 pm

Linda Carter wrote:That will also be helpful, Angel. But I am affraid there is no such MOD out there. This MOD described above is only working when you click on "New thread" or "Reply button".

Look at this entire thread translated from english to spanish:
http://translate.google.com.br/translat ... R&ie=UTF-8

And the button to translate each thread could be located on the top or bottom of each page. ;)
Would this work? http://www.phpbbhacks.com/download/1568
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

User avatar
Linda Carter
Registered User
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:45 am

Re: Google Translation MOD

Post by Linda Carter » Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:40 pm

Thank you very much, that was exactly what I was looking for. It is capable of translating threads at first sight, and you don't need to be a member to use that. Very nice! :)
"Whoever has not known himself has known nothing. But whoever has known himself has simultaneously achieved knowledge about the depth of all things."

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests