+ - Categories

This forum is now closed as part of retiring phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

This forum is now closed due to phpBB2.0 being retired.
Post Reply
Hunter_cl
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:11 pm

+ - Categories

Post by Hunter_cl »

First of all sorry for my poor english.
Im posting this request here becouse I dont find the mod im looking.
I dont know anything about this post but I know that does this:
http://www.netclectic.com/forums/
As u can see all the forums are "open", but GENERAL is closed If u click on "+" u "open" general and If u click in "-" other seccion u closed.

Anyone does know the name and were to donwload it..

Cheers
User avatar
Ptirhiik
Registered User
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 10:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Ptirhiik »

I think it's the rollout categories mod, not sure BTW.
User avatar
drathbun
Former Team Member
Posts: 12204
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: TOPICS_TABLE
Contact:

Post by drathbun »

I blog about phpBB: phpBBDoctor blog
Still using phpbb2? So am I! Click below for details
Image
Hunter_cl
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:11 pm

Post by Hunter_cl »



Thanks pal I have a question I install the mod and it gives me and error :(
My question is: I have to install all the versions of the Mod or I just can install the last one (the thinh im doing now)

Thanks

Cheers
User avatar
drathbun
Former Team Member
Posts: 12204
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: TOPICS_TABLE
Contact:

Post by drathbun »

Just the last one. And if my memory is correct, the mod code as posted has an error in it. There are two places where it references the cookie, one to set it and one to read it. Make sure that the names are the same in both places.

I keep threatening to rewrite this using php instead of javascript, and storing preferences in the database instead of a cookie, but somehow it never makes it to the top of my list. ;-)

Dave
I blog about phpBB: phpBBDoctor blog
Still using phpbb2? So am I! Click below for details
Image
Hunter_cl
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:11 pm

Post by Hunter_cl »

Hey Pal,
Thanks for ur time.

Here is myForum I did everythin the mod ask for but I dosent work why? http://www.fifachile.net/php/foro/

Us u can see is and error when u click.
My forum is TOOOO BIG I wanted to "close" some Forums and If the user want to see it they click on the + :) how do I do this..

Thanks for ur time

Cheers
User avatar
drathbun
Former Team Member
Posts: 12204
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: TOPICS_TABLE
Contact:

Post by drathbun »

I think I found your error. I think there is a typo in the mod install notes, as I ran into the same thing. Here's some code from your page:

Code: Select all

<td class="cat" height="28" align="center" width="50"><span class="newsbutton" onClick="rollup_contract(this, 'phpbbCategory_4');">
    -
    </span></td>

	<td class="catLeft" colspan="2" height="28"><span class="cattitle"><a href="index.php?c=4" class="cattitle">FIFAChile.com</a></span></td>
	<td class="rowpic" colspan="3" align="right">&</td>
  </tr>
  <tbody id="cat_4" style="display: ;">
Now, in your call to the javascript it is referencing phpbbCategory_4. The _4 comes from the category ID, and is appended to some code that you put in your template. Look further down, at this line:

Code: Select all

  <tbody id="cat_4" style="display: ;">
The items don't match. Here it is just cat_4. You need to fix one or the other, but the two items must match, or the javascript doesn't know what to fold.

In other words, they either both need to be phpbbCategory_4 or cat_4. The fact that they are different is screwing it up.

Dave
I blog about phpBB: phpBBDoctor blog
Still using phpbb2? So am I! Click below for details
Image
Hunter_cl
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:11 pm

Post by Hunter_cl »

THANKS U PAL!!!
It cost me to understand what u were trying to say :P but when I understand it, I edit it and now is wornking.

Thanks 4 ur time

I have a Question: Now that the Mod is working can u tell how to make "predefined" forums close :P I explain I want to only have 3 forums (categories) open, then the user open or close this, but is predefined close... :P

Do u understand something?

http://www.netclectic.com/forums/

As u can see there the General Forum is close when u enter, I want to do that ;)

Cheers
User avatar
drathbun
Former Team Member
Posts: 12204
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: TOPICS_TABLE
Contact:

Post by drathbun »

Hunter_cl wrote: I have a Question: Now that the Mod is working can u tell how to make "predefined" forums close :P I explain I want to only have 3 forums (categories) open, then the user open or close this, but is predefined close... :P

I have no idea.
http://www.netclectic.com/forums/

As u can see there the General Forum is close when u enter, I want to do that ;)

I would suggest asking on his forum to see how he did it. It's probably not hard, and once the user sets their selection it stays according to their cookie. So I don't see it as a huge problem. I would leave everything open and let the user select open / closed status, but that's just my opinion. 8)

Dave
I blog about phpBB: phpBBDoctor blog
Still using phpbb2? So am I! Click below for details
Image
oangia
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:25 pm

Post by oangia »

I tried to install Rollout Category Javascript Mod (+ - categories) but my forum using Categories hierarchy Mod (sub-forums & sub-cat) and i tried many times just cant get it to works.
is there anyway, anyhow to make Rollout Category works on Categories hierarchy Mod?
any one have experience w/ RollOut mod please give me some ad. .. please...
my board current version phpbb 2.0.6 included Categories hierarchy Mod (sub-forums & sub-cat)
User avatar
drumstix42
Registered User
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 11:01 pm
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by drumstix42 »

To have it pre-defined open/closed, you'd have to figure out how the rollout.js file stores the cookie, and use that code as in your forum 'some how' ;)
Need a phpBB update or mod installed? PM me for any questions and pricing!
HostMonster.com (Unlimited Space, Unlimited Transfer, Unlimited Domains, $6.95/month )
User avatar
drumstix42
Registered User
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 11:01 pm
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by drumstix42 »

I can get this mod working on normal phpBB forums, but with Hierarchy Forums, I can't quite get it. I can get the boxes to show up, but no + or - in them, and when I click them, it just says error on page.

YES, I changed the cookie names and all cause I used the working code that I used on normal forums ;)
Need a phpBB update or mod installed? PM me for any questions and pricing!
HostMonster.com (Unlimited Space, Unlimited Transfer, Unlimited Domains, $6.95/month )
oangia
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:25 pm

Post by oangia »

drumstix42 wrote: YES, I changed the cookie names and all cause I used the working code that I used on normal forums ;)

can you paste the codes that you'd made some changes and everything to make it works on original phpbb 206... please
... :) i wanna give it another try see if works 8O cause i think its really cool mod for those members that got a slow PC, Windows... or if they wanna load index faster ...
User avatar
drumstix42
Registered User
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 11:01 pm
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by drumstix42 »

index.php

Code: Select all

            $cat_on = !isset($HTTP_COOKIE_VARS['phpbbCategory_' . $cat_id]) || !empty($HTTP_COOKIE_VARS['phpbbCategory_' . $cat_id]) ? true : false;
            if( $cat_on )
            {
                $template->assign_block_vars('catrow.switch_cat_on', array());
            }
            else
            {
                $template->assign_block_vars('catrow.switch_cat_off', array());
            }

templates/subSilver/index_body.tpl:

Code: Select all

    <td class="cat" height="28" align="center" width="50"><span class="newsbutton" onClick="rollup_contract(this, 'phpbbCategory_{catrow.CAT_ID}');">
    <!-- BEGIN switch_cat_on -->
    -
    <!-- END switch_cat_on -->
    <!-- BEGIN switch_cat_off -->
    +
    <!-- END switch_cat_off -->
    </span></td>

Code: Select all

  <!-- BEGIN switch_cat_on -->
  <tbody id="phpbbCategory_{catrow.CAT_ID}" style="display: ;">
  <!-- END switch_cat_on -->
  <!-- BEGIN switch_cat_off -->
  <tbody id="phpbbCategory_{catrow.CAT_ID}" style="display: none;">
  <!-- END switch_cat_off -->

Code: Select all

  </tbody>

templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl:

Code: Select all

.newsbutton {
    color: {T_BODY_TEXT};
    background-color: {T_TR_COLOR1};
    border: 1px solid {T_TH_COLOR1};
    padding: 1px 5px 1px 5px;
    font-family: Verdana, Tahoma, Arial, Sans-Serif;
    font-size: 7pt;
    border-style: solid;
    border-width: 1px;
    cursor: pointer;
    cursor: hand;
}

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript" src="rollout.js"></script>

:)

..now if I could get it working on Hierarchy Forums :cry:
Need a phpBB update or mod installed? PM me for any questions and pricing!
HostMonster.com (Unlimited Space, Unlimited Transfer, Unlimited Domains, $6.95/month )
oangia
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:25 pm

Post by oangia »

thanks .. same here .. on Sub-forums category mod .. he using functions.php in includes folder ... instead on index.php ... :)
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Requests”