Page 1 of 1

Where to put Google AdWords Tracking?

Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 10:23 pm
by Shantra
I use Google AdWords on my forum, and that works great. But now I would like to include the Tracking feature. This will track any genuine signups.

This is the code:

Code: Select all

<!-- Google Code for Signup Conversion Page -->
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
var google_conversion_id = 00000000000;
var google_conversion_language = "no";
var google_conversion_format = "1";
var google_conversion_color = "666666";
if (1) {
  var google_conversion_value = 1;
}
var google_conversion_label = "Signup";
//-->
</script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion.js">
</script>
<noscript>
<img height=1 width=1 border=0 src="http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/00000000000/?value=1&label=Signup&script=0">
</noscript>
Any suggestion to where I should put it? It must be after the user have activated the membership from the email. Thanks!

Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:02 pm
by Shantra
I think it should be placed somewhere in profile.php but I am not sure. Anyone?

I think this feature would be very useful for anyone who uses AdWords for their own forum.

Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:06 pm
by Anon
do you mean whan they register?

Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:32 pm
by KevDesigns
google adwords = google adsense? wat do u mean by tracking. does that break google's TOS.

Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:59 pm
by Shantra
anon,
Yes, when they have registered at my forum.

KevDesigns,
AdWords has nothing to do with AdSense, read here: http://www.google.com/ads/

AdWords is for advertisers, like me who want people to visit my forum. When people click these these ads (link), they come to my site. Thats fine, but to know if these people register, I have to use Google's tracking feature. All is off cource completely legal.

Bump

Posted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 8:31 pm
by Heidi-c
I would also like to know where to place the Google Adwords conversion tracking code. Like Shantra, I'm guessing it might go in profile.php...

Has anyone set this up yet?