How to merge two different phpbb databases ?

The 2.0.x discussion forum has been locked; this will remain read-only. The 3.0.x discussion forum has been renamed phpBB Discussion.
Locked
YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

How to merge two different phpbb databases ?

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Hi,
I recently merged two of my sites. I have phpbb installed on both the sites. As I have merged both the sites.... now I want to merge the database of second site forum into first site forum. I want all the posts and users ( with all their infos, passwords and profiles). I know it can be done through merging the databases.. that's coz I did the same thing with postnuke ... but you see phpbb is different ... So, please help me out.
User avatar
Elias
Registered User
Posts: 5137
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: In the Water!
Name: Elias

Post by Elias »

"Mystery creates wonder, and wonder is the basis of man's desire to understand." - Neil Armstrong
|Installing Extensions|Writing Extensions|Extension Validation Policy|
Offering private web hosting. Contact me for details.
YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Thanx for the reply but that article explains how to share a database for two different forums. But What I want to do it merge two different forums into one forum.
Graham
Former Team Member
Posts: 8462
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Graham »

It's possible.

This thread probably provides some pointers:

http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... t=junction
"So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish"

phpBB Useful Links: Knowledge Base | Userguide | Forum Search | MOD Database | Styles Database
My Links: Blog!
YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Yes, it does... I have finished merging databases offline. Good support guys. I am going to try it online soon. I'll post back my results. Also my friend is there anyway to get any solution to my other problem too

http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... t=#2499864

I have been looking for it.. Please help me.
User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

Help for that must be within the release topic as that is where all mod support is.

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!
YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

hi Jim_uk,
Yes as you can see I have tried to get help in the Mod support ... no one is providing any help. I even PMed the author of the MOD. But he said aint free for it. Please help me.
User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

The use of Frontpage or Dreamweaver are rather frowned upon here as they can screw up phpBB2 files quite badly so be sure to make backups.
Open the template file in question and copy the code. Paste it between the body tags in Frontpage/Dreamweaver with the programme in code mode. Now go to the Design mod so that you see the page. Do not let Frontpage connect to the internet or it might well screw up some image paths by replacing them with cached locations. Make the changes that you want in the design view (I use the split view in FP so that I can see the design and the code together) and then copy the code that is between the body tags back to and overwrite the original template code.
ftp to the server and test - If screwed up then quickly replace the original.

Good luck

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!
YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Hi Jim,
Dude what exactly you want to tell me... What I am talking is about the thread.

http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... t=#2499864

I need a little alteration in that Mod, here's what I want:

Image

Can you get something like that.. please... I really want it...
User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

Jim_UK wrote: Help for that must be within the release topic as that is where all mod support is.

Jim


Sorry but locked.

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Discussion”