is it possible to use a test board

The 2.0.x discussion forum has been locked; this will remain read-only. The 3.0.x discussion forum has been renamed phpBB Discussion.
User avatar
Dogs and things
Registered User
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Dogs and things » Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:01 pm

Now,

Put the phpbb folder into the www folder but make sure you rename the phpBB2 folder to myforum. And get that testboard installed.
For phpBB2 support visit phpBB2refugees.

Loopy_Lou
Registered User
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Loopy_Lou » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:29 pm

Wheyyyyyyyyy lookie

http://127.0.0.1/phpBB2/index.php


Loooooooook what I did :lol: :lol:

Thanks for everyones help and patience :D

I can play around now I take it with backgrounds etc?

User avatar
Funk Theory
Registered User
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Funk Theory » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:34 pm

Well done :D Patience with anything new to you is the key :wink:

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69360
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Post by KevC » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:43 pm

Loopy_Lou wrote: Wheyyyyyyyyy lookie

http://127.0.0.1/phpBB2/index.php


Loooooooook what I did :lol: :lol:

Thanks for everyones help and patience :D

I can play around now I take it with backgrounds etc?

Well done :)

Yes you can play around with whatever you like now without harming your online forum.

If you want to test out 2 or 3 configurations all you do is put another forum folder in www, make another database and make a new installation.

You can also try out phpBB3 beta :)
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Loopy_Lou
Registered User
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Loopy_Lou » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:45 pm

oh wow thats great

I can't thank you all enough for not getting annoyed with me and losing patience, but if I don't do these things myself I will never learn

Thanks again :D :D

User avatar
Dogs and things
Registered User
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Dogs and things » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:53 pm

Whooooohhhh,

Congratulations! :P

You must be the happiest user on this board now. :wink:

You can play around all that you want. In case you go badly wrong just replace files or uninstall the messed up board and install a fresh one. Don´t forget that in case you fiddled around installing MODs that altered the database you should also drop the content of that database before reinstalling.

You can also have varios boards installed and working at the same time. Simply create a second, or third database with different names and install boards with different names on them.

Only thing you must watch is to use diferent cookie-names on every board you set up. This you can allready do on the install page of new boards. Allthough there´s some trickies to this.

But anyhow, when you mess up there´s no harm done.

I´m not gonna tell you how many testboards I messed up and re-installed before I started to get the hang of things.

To play around with backgrounds and forum layout you must first edit a few files to make your .css file work instead of your overall_header.tpl.

Once you can use your .css it´s easy to learn. Just edit something, see what changes and undo or continue making new edits.
For phpBB2 support visit phpBB2refugees.

Loopy_Lou
Registered User
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Loopy_Lou » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:00 pm

You must be the happiest user on this board now.


and prob the thickest :lol: ha ha

I am going to play around tomorrow with a few things and take things slowely but thank you so much for the help :D

User avatar
Dogs and things
Registered User
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Dogs and things » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:08 pm

Hahaha,

Thickie. :P

Just keep trying, playing and asking and you´ll see that soon you know many things and you find yourself answering questions here. :wink:

Good luck with everything!
For phpBB2 support visit phpBB2refugees.

volvomad
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 7:44 pm

Re: is it possible to use a test board

Post by volvomad » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:45 pm

I have a query about using easyphp. I have installed easyphp, and had a vanilla installation working on it. Then, I copied the phpbb directory from my live site to the easyphp\www folder, and copied all the sql into the database. The site works as normal, except I am unable to access the admin panel - it keeps redirecting to the admin panel on the live site as opposed to the local one. I've tried changing the server_name in the database (phpbb_config) to 127.0.0.1, but no difference. Any ideas?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69360
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: is it possible to use a test board

Post by KevC » Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:11 pm

The script path is still looking at the old site. You can change it in the database config table or run the cookie script linked in my sig below.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Discussion”