Who hosts your board?

The 2.0.x discussion forum has been locked; this will remain read-only. The 3.0.x discussion forum has been renamed phpBB Discussion.
beernuts
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 6:08 am

Post by beernuts »

Thanks everyone for your tips! I'll definitely be looking into some of those hosts. Absinthe, how many users do you have? I use phpwebhosting as well, and I have about 4 accounts with them, but with one, once I started getting even a small amount of users, I started getting random mysql errors.

Thanks in advance.

Monster
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2001 12:23 pm

Post by Monster »

aletiahosting.com is ok if you don't need to much support. I honestly cannot be bothered changing host. They used to be really good but are going a little downhill.

User avatar
roly
Registered User
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:13 am
Location: Australia

Post by roly »

<edit>On new site have chnaged host</edit>
Last edited by roly on Fri Mar 29, 2002 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mr.K
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2001 1:32 am
Location: Edmond Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Mr.K »

I host my self. I have a pII 400 running linux. It runs everything, apache mysql postfix etc....

The only thing is that my ip from my cable company is dynamic, so i have to update my dns entrys when ever it changes. (which is not to often)
-Matt Keller
-MattRK@mattrk.com

gameofhit
Registered User
Posts: 986
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Michigan Tech
Contact:

Post by gameofhit »

beernuts wrote: Thanks everyone for your tips! I'll definitely be looking into some of those hosts. Absinthe, how many users do you have? I use phpwebhosting as well, and I have about 4 accounts with them, but with one, once I started getting even a small amount of users, I started getting random mysql errors.

Thanks in advance.


Right now I have only about 15 users. Currently it is a sort of staff meeting place/place to go for schedules and other information. I hope it will grow into a discussion community about the newspaper that the site is about. I have not had any trouble so far, but I will let you know if I do.

Here is another guy with them (http://area51.phpbb.com/phpBB2/profile. ... ile&u=1390), and it sounds like he may have a much higher hitting board than mine :oops: , perhaps he could help you out some more.

Also, have you tried talking to support there, or tried uninstalling --> reinstalling your board?
Last edited by gameofhit on Sun Feb 10, 2002 6:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

aurel42
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2002 7:48 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by aurel42 »

I might be able to help if someone is looking for phpBB2 hosting for a site related to PC, console or online gaming, anime and manga, or something similar. I will spare you any further self-advertizing here. E-Mail or PM me if you want to know details.

DC
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 9:03 am
Location: MA
Contact:

Post by DC »

I'm running on a shared provider at Burst.net

My forum is located at www.storageforum.net/phpBB2

zoid
Registered User
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 6:29 am
Location: $SCRIPT_NAME
Contact:

Post by zoid »

Bearpaws wrote: Needless to say, Linux is way faster. They share the same database, and the average pagegen time is .41 on win32 vs .13 on Linux.

Is it really Windows or just the IIS? Did you try it with Apache for Windows?

Alexander
Whatever you want to know, please do a Image Search before asking :).

Run your own Chatcommunity
>> PINO - Client/Server Chat for Windows <<

User avatar
acs-clwtr
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:18 pm

I use my own dsl line and a linux box

Post by acs-clwtr »

You can host your own forum on your dsl or cable line and redhat linux for example. $25 a year will get you dynamic dns ip updating via tzo.com. I have 2500 users and 17000+ posts.
The software box said "Requires windows 98 or better!"
So I loaded Linux!!!!

User avatar
Alexander
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2001 8:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Alexander »

I am hosted by the (paid) ISP Interspeed .. prices differ (they do business in UK, ZA, AU, NZ, US) .. -> Interspeed.co.nz ... I pay arround 15 NZ$/month ...
A.l.e.x.a.n.d.e.r.
Bored? Visit Hilarium.

ProjectPI
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 7:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ProjectPI »

I use a place called www.hosting4less.com

They offer me 600megs of space and 25gigs of transfer a month for $30

http://www.hosting4less.com/basicdetails.html

here's the page, I have the developer plan
::Insert Signature Here::

Danno
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2001 5:23 am
Location: Longmont, CO, USA
Contact:

Post by Danno »

I host my own board on my own servers off of my DSL line. Total control is nice.

Teach
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 6:58 am
Location: Hopefully, soon to be somewhere else

Re: hosting

Post by Teach »

Pammi wrote: Rochen Hosting does my service for me and I absolutely love them. The board is quick as lightening, and they are back with me in a matter of minutes for technical support. I looked for awhile to find the right one for my first hosting service and I've certainly found the right one for me.

http://www.rochen.com/hostingservices/index.html

Rochenhost requires a six-month minimum contract, even if you're unhappy with their service:

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthrea ... adid=41826

User avatar
erdem
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 12:50 pm

Post by erdem »


Ameer Kiani
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 10:31 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Rochen Host

Post by Ameer Kiani »

http://www.rochen.com/hostingservices/index.html
I also use it like Pammi
they are great, really fast and pretty cheap

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Discussion”