Revision 142-146 testing

Archive of support for the automated MOD installation tool codenamed "Blinky". For support questions regarding AutoMOD please visit here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: IF YOU NEED SUPPORT FOR AUTOMOD PLEASE VISIT THE APPROPRIATE LOCATION HERE.
jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Revision 142-146 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:19 pm

If I'm to far ahead of what should be posted here, then please remove or delete this post.
The last thing I want to do is add to the confusion.
On the other hand, I would like to report back what I found without topic jacking.

I hope the images from tinypic will show correctly on a narrow style.
I'm also going to give the link to the image above each one so you can view them directly.
Here's what I have.

The preview install instructions appears to work fine. Very nice addition.
The problem I had was with the permission settings not matching what I put into the config settings.

Default Settings on config screen
https://camo.phpbb.com/c4d8fba58654b6308e2bba45c38319b881fef4f2/687474703a2f2f6934302e74696e797069632e636f6d2f3272376c73396c2e706e67
Image

Here are my settings after changing and submitting them.
https://camo.phpbb.com/edcf5b23539e0e2b3904b6adb3ba497b7f723374/687474703a2f2f6934322e74696e797069632e636f6d2f31356e313735792e706e67
Image

Decided to do a DB Check - Both fields set to the correct permission.
https://camo.phpbb.com/7b8d7586225c642eb83f48d1360f15df300be44a/687474703a2f2f6934342e74696e797069632e636f6d2f3261396e7437642e706e67
Image

Finished install -
Note the copy files message. Files do get copied even though it says not attempted.
You will have to view the image link below to see all of this one.
https://camo.phpbb.com/5bd1337c1ea33b13ee2a9ea56cc1f93bf206b481/687474703a2f2f6933392e74696e797069632e636f6d2f3276386d6871392e706e67
Image

The only problem with the files getting copied is.
Permissions are not set correctly. All folders look to be set at 363, and files are being set to 204.
https://camo.phpbb.com/4735ac07f0e5558eab147d205510ee3e800cb57e/687474703a2f2f6933392e74696e797069632e636f6d2f37323531666b2e706e67
Image

It normally not much of a challenge to set permissions on a folder or file.
At this point, I can't change the permission using my FTP on folders and files set by auto-mod.

Cannot uninstall a MOD at all.
All results return "The Find specified by the MOD could not be found"

Could be that I missed something, or just simply misunderstood what was expected to happen.
Regardless, this is what I've found so far.
Last edited by jmjm003 on Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:28 pm

Oddly enough, leaving the default setting on the config set the right permissions...
One would thing that what's in the config settings would match what the file settings are.

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:40 pm

Are you using the FTP write method? (I doubt it, considering that it is broken in r142 :P)

I suspect the problem is the lack of a leading 0. See the PHP Manual. If this is the case, I can programatically force this.

BTW, I welcome discussion on SVN versions. Mostly because I can't test every scenario :)
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:16 pm

I'll get back to you on the leading 0 .
I'm going to wipe the slate clean and start new.

I am using the direct method.

I find it very odd that the default settings of 420 and 511 result in the correct permissions being set.

On my next run I'll try by adding 0755 instead of 755 and so on.

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 pm

Alright, started over and this time I set the permissions with a leading 0.
0644 and 644 result in the file being set to 204.
0755 and 755 result in the directory being set to 363.

First install being without the 0 and second with. All results are the same.
Now I need to get my host to remove the files/folders. I'm unable to do so with ftp or with my control panel.
Each test was run under a different folder.

Out of curiosity. Why do the default numbers in the config start out as 420 and 511?
Should it show that way? Leaving them at that resulted in 644 and 755 being set.
I'm puzzled as to how 420 becomes 644 and 511 becomes 755...

In case your wondering, I follow directions fairly well, but have little knowledge of php or mysql.
Hope this helps

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25194
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by Paul » Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:01 pm

Josh: I think that the string '0777' is different as the integer 0777 for chmodding?
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

User avatar
stimart
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:43 am

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by stimart » Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:38 am

Sorry, but where I can download this version of Automod?

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17002
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:14 am

It's in phpBB Code Forge. If you're not absolutely sure what to do I wouldn't go that route though. AJD is changing code almost on a daily basis and, although he tries to get it to work right when he checks stuff in, he can't cover all scenarios as he's already stated so you could potentially hose your board and give yourself more headaches (see original poster). It's not for the faint at heart.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:36 am

Paul wrote:Josh: I think that the string '0777' is different as the integer 0777 for chmodding?
If I store it as an int, the leading 0 is lost.
jmjm003 wrote:Out of curiosity. Why do the default numbers in the config start out as 420 and 511?
Should it show that way? Leaving them at that resulted in 644 and 755 being set.
I'm puzzled as to how 420 becomes 644 and 511 becomes 755...
I'm not sure. What I do know is that there is a base conversion going on somewhere. 0644 in octal (base 8) becomes 420 in decimal (base 10, what you're familiar with). CHMODs are specified in octal.

It looks like I'll need to do more testing on this. Thanks for your help so far.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:37 am

stimart , It's a good idea to listen to DavidIQ
I'm only doing testing on test setups. In no way would I ever apply this to a live forum at this time.

I actually like doing testing like this. AJD posted earlier today about adding some config options to the next release. So I was actually watching for it. Just so happens that revision 142 has it.
Plus, it helps to give feedback to the developers. They simply cannot cover all possible server setups in their testing.

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:42 am

A_Jelly_Doughnut wrote:
Paul wrote:Josh: I think that the string '0777' is different as the integer 0777 for chmodding?
If I store it as an int, the leading 0 is lost.
jmjm003 wrote:Out of curiosity. Why do the default numbers in the config start out as 420 and 511?
Should it show that way? Leaving them at that resulted in 644 and 755 being set.
I'm puzzled as to how 420 becomes 644 and 511 becomes 755...
I'm not sure. What I do know is that there is a base conversion going on somewhere. 0644 in octal (base 8) becomes 420 in decimal (base 10, what you're familiar with). CHMODs are specified in octal.

It looks like I'll need to do more testing on this. Thanks for your help so far.
You're welcome.
You guys do all of the hard work.

I'll keep an eye out for a new revision. Once I test it, I'll get back to you.
I see there's one for fixing FTP.

Thank you and all of the staff/members that make phpbb what it is.

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:17 am

I've committed r144, which should fix the issues. Paul is correct, the string to int conversion seems to have caused the problem.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:41 am

REVISION 144 TEST

In my testing, problem solved!
I was able to install 4 mods using 0755/0644 and 755/644. Either one resulted in the correct permissions. :D
The default numbers still show as 420/511.

Can also confirm this did correct the problem with folders, such as install folders being copied yet you were unable to run the install.php file. I mentioned this in another post. Not sure what bug # it might have been if any.

Only other thing I noticed.
On file copy notice. It says not attempted. Yet the files are copied.

I'll play with it some more and let you know what I might see as a possible problem.

Great Work!
Thank you.

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Revision 142-144 testing

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:54 am

1) Will look at the "not attempted" thing.
2) Just so I'm clear: the CHMOD number is is appearing incorrectly in the configuration screen?
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: Revision 142-144 testing

Post by jmjm003 » Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:02 am

Here's the image from my original post.
Image
Notice the default values? That's what they start out as.
I can change them to display the correct values and it stays.

Now that I think about. Earlier today I was doing some testing and never changed those numbers.
Yet, I never had an issue with permissions either.

I'll have to reload everything again to double check.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] AutoMOD”