Page 1 of 2

integration into website

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 10:21 pm
by dvdd127
I want to know where i can learn how to integrate my forum into my site layout....
kind ok like what they did on this site

any help would be appricated..
thanks in advance

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:02 pm
by Thatbitextra
Edit overall_header.tpl and overall_footer.tpl so the the forum is put into a table with the menus and other stuff around it.

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:16 pm
by dvdd127
I dont know how to do that.
thats why I am asking for a tutorial or somewhere to look at a sample and have code to compare it too.

thanks

Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:24 am
by dvdd127
how do i do it if my menu is on the left or right side?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:35 am
by mssturgeon
Hi there Davood,

I'd be glad to assist you with your site integration if you have some specific questions.

I have a few questions for you that are fundamental in determining how easy it will be to integrate:

1) Do you have an existing user table/authentication system?

2) Do you want to use phpBB's authentication, or your own?

3) Are you starting with a website and adding phpBB, or vice versa?


Our site was built first and I added phpBB later. To integrate the login, I migrated all of our users to the phpBB user table, then put the phpBB header info into all of our pre-existing pages, specifically, this bit of code:

Code: Select all

	// phpBB initialization
	define('IN_PHPBB', true);
	$phpbb_root_path = BASE_DIR .'/forum/';
	include_once($phpbb_root_path . 'extension.inc');
	include_once($phpbb_root_path . 'common.'.$phpEx);
		
	// Start session management
	$userdata = session_pagestart($user_ip, PAGE_INDEX);
	init_userprefs($userdata);
	// End session management
(Note: BASE_DIR is the absolute path to your root html directory.)

From there, I just point to the login page for the phpBB and away we go. Hope that helps a bit. Please feel free to ask additional questions.

- Shane Sturgeon

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 5:13 am
by dvdd127
dvdd127 wrote: how do i do it if my menu is on the left or right side?
gentle bump

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:25 am
by atnbueno
Wrap the forum with a <div id="forum">...</div> and style it (CSS) to leave space or not overlap the menu. Or use and old-style table. This is just a general idea, as I don't know how your menu is positioned.

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 2:24 pm
by dvdd127
atnbueno wrote: Wrap the forum with a <div id="forum">...</div> and style it (CSS) to leave space or not overlap the menu. Or use and old-style table. This is just a general idea, as I don't know how your menu is positioned.
what file(s) do i need to edit tho?

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:29 pm
by Thatbitextra
Overall_header.tpl and overall_footer.tpl.

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:47 pm
by dvdd127
Thatbitextra wrote: Overall_header.tpl and overall_footer.tpl.
to put a menu on the left.. i edit header and footer?

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:16 pm
by Thatbitextra
Yes.

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:49 pm
by atnbueno
dvdd127 wrote: to put a menu on the left.. i edit header and footer?

Think of them as "before everything" and "after everything" files. Your webpage could be:
  • header
  • menu (left)
  • forum (right)
  • footer
So you could put the header and the menu in overall_header.tpl and just the footer in overall_footer.tpl

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 12:00 am
by dvdd127
atnbueno wrote:
dvdd127 wrote:to put a menu on the left.. i edit header and footer?

Think of them as "before everything" and "after everything" files. Your webpage could be:
  • header
  • menu (left)
  • forum (right)
  • footer
So you could put the header and the menu in overall_header.tpl and just the footer in overall_footer.tpl
Could you show me an example??

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:59 am
by mssturgeon
The following table will give you a two column layout, which is a basic "menu & content" layout:

Code: Select all

<table><tr>
<td>menu</td>
<td>content</td>
</tr></table>
So your overall_header.tpl would contain:

Code: Select all

<table><tr>
<td>menu</td>
<td>
and your overall_footer.tpl would contain:

Code: Select all

</td>
</tr><table>
Hope that helps,

- Shane

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:38 am
by dvdd127
Shane,
Maybe I am misunderstanding but I would like to know how to do it with my menu on the left hand side as well.

Thanks.