Opp's That's done it..

This forum is now closed. Please ask all styles-related questions in the phpBB 3.0 Styles Support & Discussion Forum.
Tam the man

Opp's That's done it..

Post by Tam the man »

Hi Guys..

I am a Newbie to PHP and PHPBB2 although I have many years experience working with HTML and building and maintaining a very large website.

I have just today successfully installed phpBB2 and have been getting a feel for changing templates and colours.

I want to blend my new forum into a colour scheme similar to my website with a banner image across the top about the same size as the one on this page. The header image I currently have on my webpage is made up of three parts and is set in an HTML table to increase it's download speed..

Messing about with the subSilver template I created a new template just by changing the background colour to 800000 and appeared to loose everything. The page turned completely red and the text shrunk in size to almost a pixel. Luckly I managed to change the profile back to subSilver. Wow someone must be really upset that users want to make a few simple changes..

Is there a simple template I can use to experiment with safely without fear of loosing my forum. ?

Cheers Tam
Jleagle

Re: Opp's That's done it..

Post by Jleagle »

You can use any template for this, or even better, install a second board and play around as much as you like with no fear of messing up your real board.
Tam the man

Post by Tam the man »

Hi Jleagle
Jleagle wrote:You can use any template for this, or even better, install a second board and play around as much as you like with no fear of messing up your real board.
Thanks I had thought of that but if just by making a simple background colour change I loose the forum completely surely something is really amiss with the template don't you think?

Regards Tam
Greenweaver
Former Team Member

Post by Greenweaver »

How did you create this new template and how did you change the background colour?