Rank Image Problem

This forum is now closed. Please ask all styles-related questions in the phpBB 3.0 Styles Support & Discussion Forum.
User avatar
The Spy
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 5:51 pm
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Rank Image Problem

Post by The Spy » Sun Mar 16, 2003 6:30 pm

OK here goes.....

i set the correct url for my rank images on my latest forum and in the edit area they show up, but when i go to the replies there is a red x. now i right click on the red x and select properties and it shows the url for the image. except the image's url says: http://members.lycos.co.uk/images/ranks/rankimage.gif
there's no way i can upload directly to lycos' main directory. notice my site's name was not listed. as i said before the images show up in the edit ranks area but not on the forum itself. any ideas?

btw, when i change the url in the edit ranks area to siteurl/phpBB2/images/ranks/rankimage.gif, then the image is a red x in the edit area and still a red x on the forum. but then the properties show the image as http://members.lycos.co.uk/siteurl/site ... kimage.gif

please help.
"I'm just a figment of your imagination."

aimstolemylife
Registered User
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 7:20 pm
Contact:

Post by aimstolemylife » Sun Mar 16, 2003 6:40 pm

What are your ranks? Usually the rank is images/ranks/rank_image_#.gif
Check your URL and pic file names.

Luciouslinda
Registered User
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 6:12 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Post by Luciouslinda » Sun Mar 16, 2003 7:03 pm

You could always try to add them to your avatar gallery!!!

Or

Add them to your templates folder inside a folder call ranks, you will have to set it so it is like

templates/subSilver/images/ranks/rankimage.gif
Linda

Jonathen Smith
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Post by Jonathen Smith » Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:51 pm

I got a 404...

aimstolemylife
Registered User
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 7:20 pm
Contact:

Post by aimstolemylife » Mon Mar 17, 2003 2:06 am

Add them to the avatar gallery? Interesting. I find uploading them to siteurl/image/ranks works best.

krelvinaz
Registered User
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2002 8:11 pm
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Contact:

Post by krelvinaz » Mon Mar 17, 2003 2:24 am

I normally add them to the image directory too...

For one rank the path in Phpbb (admin panel) is:

images/rank_admin.gif

The physical path is /www/vhosts/tnet/forum/images/rank_admin.gif as far.

The blue is below the phpbb root path.
TNET Services, Inc
Unix Administrator - Graphics Designer

User avatar
bonos-girl
Registered User
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 10:11 pm
Location: Hell...hey i am evil y'know!!!
Contact:

Post by bonos-girl » Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:43 pm

my rank images do that too (the little red cross thing but show up on edit ranks)....i dunno why this is cos surely if they show up on edit ranks they should work on the forum?

The More I Study, The More I Know,
The More I Know, The More I Forget,
The More I Forget, The Less I Know....
....SO WHY SHOULD I STUDY?

Outofmymindyo
Former Team Member
Posts: 1310
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 3:13 am
Location: Japan...SUSHI TIME!
Contact:

Post by Outofmymindyo » Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:50 pm

images/ranks/image_file.gif or /images/ranks/image_file.gif try both of those.
Image

User avatar
The Spy
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 5:51 pm
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by The Spy » Mon Mar 17, 2003 8:34 pm

well i know how to do the ranks. i've had them up in several other forums i've put up. but now for some reason the just don't show up in the posts but they do show up in the edit ranks area. so it's not my url i'm using. maybe it's lycos. i don't know. i've taken down my rank images. i've given up.
"I'm just a figment of your imagination."

aimstolemylife
Registered User
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 7:20 pm
Contact:

Post by aimstolemylife » Mon Mar 17, 2003 9:35 pm

Did you upload them right? I don't think it's a problem with lycos, they work fine on my board and I use lycos.

User avatar
The Spy
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 5:51 pm
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by The Spy » Wed Mar 19, 2003 4:40 am

well still doesn't work but i'll try deleting the ranks off my space and upload them again and try the editing again. i hope it woks. thanks to everyone who has replied.
"I'm just a figment of your imagination."

maxdy
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:59 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

How to use the rank images and how to install it?

Post by maxdy » Thu Mar 20, 2003 1:23 am

I didn't know where to upload the files into and how to install it. Please help. Thanks for any info.

Rose
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:20 am

Post by Rose » Thu Mar 20, 2003 4:38 pm

Yes, me too after I download rank images in zip drive, anyting in there, but i dont know how to put on my forum :cry:

User avatar
Man Without Fear
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:25 am

Post by Man Without Fear » Thu Mar 20, 2003 4:49 pm

The Spy wrote: well still doesn't work but i'll try deleting the ranks off my space and upload them again and try the editing again. i hope it woks. thanks to everyone who has replied.


I suspect that you have this setting in your Admin Panel under Rank Setting:

"/images/rank1.gif" (incorrect)

take out the intial "/"

"images/rank1.gif" (correct)

run a search on "rank" there is a lot to read ... common question.

Lost Soul
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 9:57 am
Location: Riverside CA
Contact:

Post by Lost Soul » Sun Mar 23, 2003 1:08 pm

I've also found that sometimes if i pust /phpBB/images/rankimage.gif it will display correctly, when it wount without the /phpBB/ included.
Failsafe Project Team Mastermind.

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] Styles Development & Discussion”