[ABD] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by sitwi »

This looks fantastic, but it has got me stumped.

My map doesn't appear! I assume I've missed something obvious, but I can't see it.

Can anyone help, please?

Image

Image
shotgunelvis
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by shotgunelvis »

My map image does not show up like the post above. Will this have a subsilver2 style?
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by muggins »

Have you gotten your Google Maps API key?

Also, if the default location is botched somehow the map won't show up. I don't really know for sure, but those are two things to verify.
Muggins
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by sitwi »

Thanks for the quick reply. I go have a Google key, although I had to input it twice. I assume it's accepting it now because the error message no longer pops up warning me to get a key - plus I can see the map in the ACP.

I've tried a few locations as the default, but still the same result... no map!
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by muggins »

I'll reinstall the beta this weekend so I can work with you. It's time I tried again anyway. ;)

In the meantime, have you double-checked all the permission settings, etc.?
Muggins
User avatar
BassFace
Registered User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:10 pm
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by BassFace »

sitwi wrote:Thanks for the quick reply. I go have a Google key, although I had to input it twice. I assume it's accepting it now because the error message no longer pops up warning me to get a key - plus I can see the map in the ACP.

I've tried a few locations as the default, but still the same result... no map!
Add your location using the UCP, and make sure you select that you DO want to be shown on the map. I'm not sure the map can show unless there's a marker to display. :shock:
Then...
Try Clearing the Cache in the ACP and also in the styles tab, refresh the theme, template and imageset. That may fix it.
User avatar
BassFace
Registered User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:10 pm
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by BassFace »

sitwi wrote:Thanks for the quick reply. I go have a Google key, although I had to input it twice. I assume it's accepting it now because the error message no longer pops up warning me to get a key - plus I can see the map in the ACP.

I've tried a few locations as the default, but still the same result... no map!
I keep forgetting large images get cut off on this site! :lol: After looking at the entire image you posted I'm guessing it's a cache issue or refresh of the theme and template issue. CSS doesn't look right on the sliding side panels.
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by sitwi »

Thanks... tried all of that (more than once!) but still the same. I'm working with a slightly modified Prosilver (specifically, ProsilverLeft), but it's never interfered with a MOD before.

I also set the group permissions as per Page 11 of this thread.

Thanks again for the reply.
User avatar
BassFace
Registered User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:10 pm
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by BassFace »

could we see a link to your site? I could register and have a look. If not, could you copy and paste the 'View Source' code for the main shmoogle page so we can have a look at that? :geek:
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by sitwi »

Sure, if you'd be willing - the site is @ http://www.spursornothing.co.uk and the Shmoogle map @ http://www.spursornothing.co.uk/shmoogl ... e=everyone

I've given guests access to the map page.

Thank you!
User avatar
BassFace
Registered User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:10 pm
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by BassFace »

Looks like shmoogle.css isn't being loaded for the main map page or the UCP page (but it is in the proper folder for your theme).
In the UCP there was no height and width for the 'map_canvas' div as well.

I guess I would check the edits to overall_header.php.

Also check your db, like if you use a db table prefix other than phpbb_ make sure the shmoogle tables are prefixed the same way as all your other tables.

This is a troublesome one, but we'll get it figured out! :ugeek:
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by sitwi »

Bingo! I was one line out with the header edits.

I thought I'd checked it, too - thanks so much for the help, and for a fantastic MOD.
User avatar
BassFace
Registered User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:10 pm
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by BassFace »

sitwi wrote:Bingo! I was one line out with the header edits.

I thought I'd checked it, too - thanks so much for the help, and for a fantastic MOD.
Glad we got it resolved. :D I wish there was a way to add mods without requiring users to edit a bunch of core files. :shock:
shotgunelvis
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by shotgunelvis »

SubSilver2 any chance of that?
User avatar
BassFace
Registered User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:10 pm
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: [BETA] Shmoogle Maps MOD

Post by BassFace »

shotgunelvis wrote:SubSilver2 any chance of that?
Yes, eventually subSilver2 will also be included. It may be a while though, so feel free to start on your own version. ;)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”