[ABD] Game Console 1.0.2

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Blackpawn
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:18 am

[ABD] Game Console 1.0.2

Post by Blackpawn »

Classification: Add-on
phpBB Part: Forum

MOD Name: Game Console
MOD Version: 1.0.2 Beta
Author: Blackpawn
MOD Description: Allows users to host games on their forums.


Works with:
  • phpBB 3.0.5
[*]phpBB 3.0.6[/list]

Features:
  1. ACP settings to add/edit/delete games
  2. Host unlimited amount of games
  3. Limit the amount of games per page
  4. Open games to just staff members
Language: English

Licence: GNU General Public License v2

Screenshots:
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage


Installation Level: Easy
Installation Time: 5 Minutes
Format: MODX
Support: Support is given a blackpawnsarchives.net

Download File: blackpawnsarchives.net

Requirements :
Games - which you can download Age of Dragons Here and more games will be coming soon.

You can test a live running version of Age of Dragons at http://blackpawnsarchives.net
User : account1
Pass : account1

Updates :
:!: 12-08-2009 - Added a better calculation button for the ticks left on the games management page in the ACP
:!: 12-10-2009 - Named all the variables to help clear up the error notices being generated on some users servers
Last edited by Sam on Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:45 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Reason: Marked mod as abandoned, if the original poster wishes to continue this, please PM any MOD team member to have it unlocked.
User avatar
darkonia
Registered User
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:10 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by darkonia »

very nice idea to integrate a text-based-strategy game into an interface in phpBB3.

especially the game ist nice coded.

but what you mean with 10 game slots, on your website you only offer 1 game?

normally i think one game of this massive work and intensity is enough for one community to play...

i only can say good work, thx for this nice share and your work :ugeek:
MMOG-Heaven - Das Gaming Portal
Community bedeutet Gleichgesinnte finden - MMOG-Heaven ist Deine Community! Von Spielern für Spieler bietet Dir dieses Portal genau das, was ein Spieler braucht. Bleibe ständig informiert, finde die neuesten MMORPGs, oder suche die frischesten News aus der Welt des Online Gamings - dieses und vieles mehr erwartet Dich auf MMOG-Heaven.
Blackpawn
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:18 am

Re: [Alpha] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by Blackpawn »

Thanks for checking it out. The 10 game slots per page means that you can show 10 different text based games for your users to play if you have 10 games available to play right now I only have 1 coded and that's Age of Dragons. I plan on making more games for people to be able to download and install in their own game consoles. This way there is different game genres for them to play. Flash games can also be coded to work with the console too but that's planned down the road if this takes off. Right now it will host php text based games.
User avatar
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 2315
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [Alpha] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by keith10456 »

Great idea... Keep up the good work 8-)
plasmino
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:12 am

Re: [Alpha] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by plasmino »

very nice
Petesat
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:42 am

Re: [Alpha] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by Petesat »

In the XML you have forgotten to add the common.php instructions..

// MOD : Game Console Mod (V1.0.0) - Start
$lang = array_merge($lang, array(
'GAME_CONSOLE' => 'Game Console',
'GAME_CONSOLE_TITLE' => 'Come play our games',
));
// MOD : Game Console Mod (V1.0.0) - End

Pete
Blackpawn
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:18 am

Re: [Alpha] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by Blackpawn »

keith10456 wrote:Great idea... Keep up the good work 8-)
Thanks for checking it out and I'll continue as long as people find my work interesting.
plasmino wrote:very nice
Thanks for checking it out
Petesat wrote:In the XML you have forgotten to add the common.php instructions..

// MOD : Game Console Mod (V1.0.0) - Start
$lang = array_merge($lang, array(
'GAME_CONSOLE' => 'Game Console',
'GAME_CONSOLE_TITLE' => 'Come play our games',
));
// MOD : Game Console Mod (V1.0.0) - End

Pete
Thanks for letting me know i've updated the files
plasmino
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:12 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by plasmino »

its fantastic
Blackpawn
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:18 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by Blackpawn »

plasmino wrote:its fantastic
Thank you
plasmino
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:12 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by plasmino »

I have problem

I setting refresh Time Management: 15 minute ticks

and

Round Length: 1

Ticks Left: 96

is correct? i have finish 10 attach other user and not refresh :-(

when I restores 10 attacks?

edit: resolved
plasmino
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:12 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by plasmino »

I am translating in Italian, are at 69% :)
gylippus
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:53 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by gylippus »

I installed the game console and age of dragons. Everything installed perfectly. You have obviously put a lot of effort into this mod and I want to thank you for the amazing game. However, I do have one issue. Being fairly new to php and phpbb I am having issues setting up the cronjob so the updates will work. At the moment my cronjob looks like this:

/usr/bin/php -f /var/www/vhosts/mrdgeography.com/httpdocs/phpBB3/games/aod/crons/cronjob.php?password=mypassword

The above cronjob was formulated by my host. But I get emails that say:

No input file specified.

I asked my host about the problem and they replied:

Thank you for contacting us. We have gone through your cron issue and tested the cronjob.php directly from the server. It is showing the same error like-

cronjob.php
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.4.2
Content-type: text/html

Access Denied.

it seems either the password has been changed or script changed. Otherwise it is not server related problem. We have confirmed the cronjob server is running fine. Even cron logs are not showing any error related to your cronjob setup. Kindly check the password and monitor the cronjob again.

I am not sure what to make of all of this. I know the password from the cronjob is set in the acp of aod. I also know that blackpawn mentioned possibly setting a password in the cronjob.php script itself but my host never mentioned anything or gave me a password. Any help is appreciated.
plasmino
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:12 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by plasmino »

edit

in /games/aod/crons/cronjob.php

remove this line

#!/usr/local/bin/php -q

Now you have access to this page

Code: Select all

www.yoursite.com/games/aod/cron/cronjob.php?password=mypassword
remember:

Code: Select all

To ensure security of your games please take some of these steps 
* 1. Change the name of the crons folder to something else.
* 2. Change the name of this script to something else.
* 3. Choose a nice big password with all character types in it.
Blackpawn
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:18 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by Blackpawn »

gylippus wrote:/usr/bin/php -f /var/www/vhosts/mrdgeography.com/httpdocs/phpBB3/games/aod/crons/cronjob.php?password=mypassword
you need to make sure your link is pointing to the file with the right variable names

Code: Select all

cronjob.php?password
should be

Code: Select all

cronjob.php?passwd
let me know if you still have problems after you make the changes in the link

plasmino wrote:in /games/aod/crons/cronjob.php

remove this line

#!/usr/local/bin/php -q

Now you have access to this page
this line #!/usr/local/bin/php -q is some times required by the host in order to run cronjobs all though it may differ from host to host.
Blackpawn
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:18 am

Re: [BETA] Game Console 1.0.0

Post by Blackpawn »

I made some updates to Age of Dragons

Updates :
Version 1.0.1 - 12-08-2009
:arrow: Removed the drop down combo boxes from the market because they were causing the page to load extremely with large numbers
:arrow: Bug Fix - Now when the round restarts all players will be removed so they can recreate their new kingdoms with out problems

Download Here
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”