Page 2 of 41

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:43 pm
by Smix
... ouch ... please set topic id to zero ...


edit : ... it might be necessary to check your database manually and delete (not)posted topics ...
check table phpbb_topics
and try to find topics with yourly defined forum_id and topic_id ...
... and delete them

... default settings is for a fresh board :
forum 2
poster 2
topic 0

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:01 pm
by rabbmasterflash
ok, set it back to 0, there was nothing in the DB matching that

waiting now (nothing has posted yet)

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:07 pm
by mutank
Index init & posting are enabled, cron init & posting is disabled.

I setted up one feed:

Name Latest update Posting Displaying
Yahoo_World_News never Yes No

The inside settings are:
Name: Yahoo_World_News
URL: http://rss.news.yahoo.com/rss/world
Type: RSS
Encoding: *This field was left blank*
Check feed after: 1 Hour
Post content of the feed: Enabled
Number of messages: 9
Poster ID: 2
Forum ID: 10
Topic ID: 0
Post Tempelate: *Left Blank*

And the ticker is disabled. Nothing is being posted into the appropriate category.

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:11 pm
by mrgoldy
I see you can use a 'Forum User' to post the RSS Input?

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:18 pm
by Smix
@posey
Yes, it´s possible ;-)

@mutank
Was the feed checked yet? (in ACP - in Feed list - intro page - Latest update) ...
... on my dev board it´s working and posting ... (instead the fact that it wasn´t UTF-8 - default value - but ISO ...)
Check the settings : http://phpbb3.smika.net/images/yahoo_acp.png

@rabbmasterflash
You might try another feed to test the functionality ... (and also wait for the feed you´ve used, which is hasn´t posted anything) ...
Another possibility is to turn on cron posting (not cron init) and manually browse to phpbb_root/update_feeds.php ... It will test everything ...

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:24 pm
by rabbmasterflash
that worked when I turned on cron posting, and disabled the others

do I leave it like that now?

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:27 pm
by Smix
... Well, your setting is simply disabled/disabled/enabled/disabled ??? ... And it posts? :o
This is recommended settings for index.php init & posting ...
http://phpbb3.smika.net/images/acp_gene ... ration.png

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:33 pm
by rabbmasterflash
Smix wrote:... Well, your setting is simply disabled/disabled/enabled/disabled ??? ... And it posts? :o
This is recommended settings for index.php init & posting ...
http://phpbb3.smika.net/images/acp_gene ... ration.png
that (what you linked to) is how I had it before, that never worked...but I just set it again to try it.

what I did was what you suggested, turned the one cron setting on, then accessed the update_feeds.php file manually and sure enough it posted

and I had it disabled/disabled/disabled/enabled when it worked, after accessing the file of course

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:37 pm
by Smix
I´ve tested index.php posting again and it works for me :geek: ...
Simply do it yourself ... Set en/en/dis/dis and add a new feed ... It will be posted when anybody will open index.php ...

The rest is fine ;-)

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:40 pm
by rabbmasterflash
I have it like that now, it's failing

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:42 pm
by Smix
... do you have cron init enabled? (than disable it)

also to force a fresh download : go to acp and choose a feed to edit than submit it ... It will forces new feed check ...

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:51 pm
by rabbmasterflash
no, cron (neither) is enabled, it is en/en/dis/dis right now

I did what you suggested, edited and saved, and it does nothing

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:54 pm
by Smix
... well, I´ll think about this tomorrow ... I´m going to sleep now ...

Leave it as it is ... I believe it will post ... At this moment I don´t see a reason, why it´s not posting now :? ...

Btw. check the error log ...

Thanks for now ;)

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:01 pm
by rabbmasterflash
no worries, thanks for the help...looks like it is close because we made it work with the manual update and cron posting set

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.0a

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:36 am
by mutank
Smix wrote: @mutank
Was the feed checked yet? (in ACP - in Feed list - intro page - Latest update) ...
... on my dev board it´s working and posting ... (instead the fact that it wasn´t UTF-8 - default value - but ISO ...)
Check the settings : http://phpbb3.smika.net/images/yahoo_acp.png
Tried the UTF-8 value, nothing changed.

And the latest update is "never". I think I'm missing something, should it have updated automatically? What about manual updating?