[ABD]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
Steve
Registered User
Posts: 1092
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: UK ,up north!!
Name: Steven Clark
Contact:

[ABD]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Steve »

Modification Name: Advanced side menu mod and RedBar³ mod
Author Side menu: vectra-mods
Author RedBar³: cherokee red
Thank you kenny for letting me combine the 2 mods.
Credits: cisco007
For helping test and develop the side menu from version 1.0.4 to 1.0.5 ,cheers mate!!

Modification Description:
Adds a side menu to your forum rather than using the default navbar and user menu in the overall header,option to use the menu on the left or right hand side of your forum,whith an ACP module to enable/disable certian fetures for example disable on your portal page,full features listed below. Adds a link,s block using cherokee reds RedBar³ mod (thanks Kenny we didnt need to re-invent the wheel ;) )

Modification Version side menu mod: 1.0.5
Modification Version RedBar³: 1.0.2
Requirements: phpBB3 3.0.7 PL installed
Styles supported: prosilver and subsilver2 styles*could easily adapted for other styles.
Support: This topic.
External support: phpBB BBCodes

Author notes:
Topic marked as a development mod and is not suggested you install on your live forum.
To install the mod properlly if you have debug enabled you must disable it whilst running the installer and doing the file edits,simpley re-enable debug when you have completed the install of the mod.

Install instructions can be found in : sidemenu1.0.5zip/install_side_menu.xml
Install instructions for subsilver2 in : sidemenu1.0.5zip/contrib/install_Subsilver2.xml
If you have the older version of side menu from : here
Update and subsilver2 instructions found in the sidemenu1.0.5zip/contrib/install_version_105.xml + install_subsilver2_105.xml

Any requests ideas and feedback welcome :D

Features:
  • Modx:Yes.
  • Automod:Yes.
  • install database,permissions settings,acp modules using the umil installer.
  • Side menu features
    • Show/hide the side menu.
    • Clock block with welcome back username message.
    • Log in block.
    • Control panel >board index,logout/in,user control panel,view your posts,private messages(new message,unread highlighted in red),moderator control panel,admin control panel.
    • Serach panel > Mark forums read,View new posts,View unread posts,View unanswered posts,View active topics,FAQ,Members.
    • RedBar³/Link block.
  • Acp module
    • Side menu setings
      • Enable/disable side menu, restores default prosilver or subsilver2 navbar.
      • Enable/disable clock,If disabled use's phpbb default time on index page.
      • Enable/disable on portal pages.
      • Enable/disable links block.
      • Add a links block title.
      • Open links in a new window or tab depending on browser settings.
    • RedBar³ configuration
      • Add multiple links,titles,coloured link name, use a 20px X 20px link image.
    • permissions
      • Add permissions for groups to view links.
Screenshots:
back later!

Demo URL:
Demo URL:

Modification Download:


FAQ,s and Tips.

How to manually create links in the control,search panels.

Example prosilver.
Open styles prosilver/template/side_menu.html
find:

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-homes" ><a href="{U_INDEX}">{L_INDEX}</a></li>
add after on a new line:

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-link" ><a href="http://www.phpbb.com/">phpbb.com</a></li>
explaination between the href"tags" we add the url for phpbb.com href="http://www.phpbb.com/", then in between thes tags ></a> we add the websites name >phpbb.com</a>.Refresh template for prosilver.

Example subsilver2.
Open styles/subsilver2/template/side_menu.html
find:

Code: Select all

	<tr>
	   <td class="siderow1"><a href="{U_INDEX}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_home.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_INDEX}</a></td>
	</tr>
add after on a new line:

Code: Select all

	<tr>
	   <td class="siderow1"><a href="http://www.phpbb.com/">phpbb.com</a><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_home.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> phpbb.com</a></td>
	</tr>
explaination between the href"tags" we add the url for phpbb.com href="http://www.phpbb.com/", then in between thes tags ></a> we add the websites name >phpbb.com</a>.Refresh template for subsilver2
Last edited by Steve on Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:23 pm, edited 7 times in total.

stokerpiller
Registered User
Posts: 1934
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:06 pm

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by stokerpiller »

Nice sidebar menu Steve ;)
Good luck with the validation.
I am done with phpBB

cisco007
Translator
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:49 am
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by cisco007 »

Way to go Steve! ;)
Image

User avatar
Sshadow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:54 pm
Name: Chris C.
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Sshadow »

Oh this looks nice. Does anyone have a comparison between this one and the Silver Bar mod(another side menu). This one looks much more powerful. Also I currently have Redbar installed. Should I just uninstall it or are the instructions for installation separated?

User avatar
Steve
Registered User
Posts: 1092
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: UK ,up north!!
Name: Steven Clark
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Steve »

stokerpiller wrote:Nice sidebar menu Steve ;)
Good luck with the validation.
cisco007 wrote:Way to go Steve! ;)
Cheers!

Sshadow,
correct the instructions are not seperated so it would be a better idea to uninstall the RedBar³ mod you currently have installed first as ive adapted the RedBar³ mod to have images,hover title and an option to open the links in a new window.
hope that helps.


User avatar
Dakin Quelia
Registered User
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Belgium
Name: Daniel Chalsèche
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Dakin Quelia »

Hello,

I suggest you to store some datas when we display/hide the side menu into cookies like this mod. :)

See you soon,

User avatar
Jorup16
Registered User
Posts: 421
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:13 am
Location: Zacapa, Guatemala
Name: Jorge
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Jorup16 »

It can be disabled in the ViewForum? Only look in the Index?
Spanish Translations for Ext phpBB :D - Traducciones al español para Ext phpBB :)
>>>>> https://github.com/Jorup16 <<<<<

User avatar
Steve
Registered User
Posts: 1092
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: UK ,up north!!
Name: Steven Clark
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Steve »

Dakin Quelia wrote:Hello,

I suggest you to store some datas when we display/hide the side menu into cookies like this mod. :)

See you soon,
Has been asked,for a snippet i made, and noted for the side menu.
Jorup16 wrote:It can be disabled in the ViewForum? Only look in the Index?
Use the show hide button ;) ,if i can get the side menu to stay hidden,i see no reason to hide it from any other pages than the portal.php page.

Steve

User avatar
Steve
Registered User
Posts: 1092
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: UK ,up north!!
Name: Steven Clark
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Steve »

Just out of interest does any one have any feed back or ideas before i go for a release on the side menu ?
Dakin Quelia wrote:Hello,

I suggest you to store some datas when we display/hide the side menu into cookies like this mod. :)

See you soon,
Sorry im not wanting to add this feature to me its annoying ,i will only try and add it if its requested more.

User avatar
Mrraider
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Mrraider »

vectra-mods wrote:Just out of interest does any one have any feed back or ideas before i go for a release on the side menu ?
Dakin Quelia wrote:Hello,

I suggest you to store some datas when we display/hide the side menu into cookies like this mod. :)

See you soon,
Sorry im not wanting to add this feature to me its annoying ,i will only try and add it if its requested more.
Nice mod but i have to agree with Dakin Quelia... would be more useful and LESS annoying if you add this feature.
Its more annoying if some one click (hide) then go to other page in the forum and it show up by it self, now this is annoying.

cisco007
Translator
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:49 am
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by cisco007 »

guys as you can see this mod is [dev] so i'm sure it's not quite done, things might get added to it!
Image

User avatar
Steve
Registered User
Posts: 1092
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: UK ,up north!!
Name: Steven Clark
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Steve »

OK!
update : Ive added cookie for show hide side menu,also decided to add a user control panel option for members to choose if they want to use the side menu or default phpbb user menu added some small fixes and added some new quick profile links in control panel block.
Will update 1st post with new features and download link soon.

User avatar
Sshadow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:54 pm
Name: Chris C.
Contact:

Re: [dev]Advanced side menu 1.0.5 & RedBar³ mod

Post by Sshadow »

vectra-mods wrote:OK!
update : Ive added cookie for show hide side menu,also decided to add a user control panel option for members to choose if they want to use the side menu or default phpbb user menu added some small fixes and added some new quick profile links in control panel block.
Will update 1st post with new features and download link soon.
I think I am about ready to give this one a go. Is there a way so that I can make the menu NOT show by default? Or is it already that way?


Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”