[ABD] Fisheye Menu

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Fliggerty
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:01 pm

[ABD] Fisheye Menu

Post by Fliggerty »

Modification Name: Fisheye Menu
Author: Fliggerty

Modification Description: Fisheye Menu replaces the "linklist leftside" and "linklist rightside" links with an animated jquery-powered fisheye menu similar to the fisheye menu on Mac OS.
Modification Version: 0.3 BETA

Features:
  • Animated "fish eye" menu that responds to mouse movement.
  • Replaces the linklist links in the board header; ie "User Control Panel," "Private Messages," "Login/Logout"
  • Compatible with all major browsers.
Screenshots:
Image
Image

Demo URL: http://ctools.westhostsite.com/phpbb/index.php
Demo Username: testing
Demo Password: testing

Modification Download: http://ctools.westhostsite.com/phpbb/Fisheye_Menu.zip
Last edited by Fliggerty on Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jorup16
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:13 am
Location: Zacapa, Guatemala
Name: Jorge
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by Jorup16 »

Nice mod! :D
Spanish Translations for Ext phpBB :D - Traducciones al español para Ext phpBB :)
>>>>> https://github.com/Jorup16 <<<<<
User avatar
ASD2010
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:49 pm
Location: Guatemala, City
Name: Wil Elias

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by ASD2010 »

help: centering in firefox, please....

its nice!!!!
the best style: Absolution... :D

help in spanish
sorry my bad english..... :D
Fliggerty
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:01 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by Fliggerty »

Centering is something that I've been fiddling with. By all means it should be centered fine, but there's apparently some style setting in the script that is overriding my css. I'll have an update once I get that sorted out.
lovelysummer
Registered User
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:49 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by lovelysummer »

NICE, will try in localhost. :D
achu68
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by achu68 »

Very nice Mod Good job.....

Edit: I got it

one future request, to put ACP on and off option and more menu configuration
achu68
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by achu68 »

I think i found a bug
look:


Image


it is ok the vertical thing but what is "click here to share" ?

Regards,
Gino
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by Gino »

fantastic MOD ;)
lovelysummer
Registered User
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:49 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by lovelysummer »

Tried in localhost , works fine.
But need more icons, i.e. newpost.png, search.png ..etc. Perhaps a blank png included is much better.
One question is that how to change the spacing between the icon and the font, I would like to make it narrow a bit.
TKs. :)
dr210077
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by dr210077 »

lovelysummer wrote:Tried in localhost , works fine.
But need more icons, i.e. newpost.png, search.png ..etc. Perhaps a blank png included is much better.
One question is that how to change the spacing between the icon and the font, I would like to make it narrow a bit.
TKs. :)

In addition to lovelysummer's ideas quoted above, I'd like a template for the code required to add other links please :)
lovelysummer
Registered User
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:49 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by lovelysummer »

hi again,
I tried some other icons found in the net but they don't enlarge or resize. No matter the sizes are 72X72, 150X150..etc.
How to add other icons ?
TKS. :)
User avatar
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 2315
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by keith10456 »

Very, very nice mod ;)
Fliggerty
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:01 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by Fliggerty »

Thanks for the input everyone!
one future request, to put ACP on and off option and more menu configuration
Assuming I sort out how to add an ACP module I certainly will. I've never done such a thing, but this is my first mod, so I'll see what I can sort out.
it is ok the vertical thing but what is "click here to share" ?
I have no clue why that is happening. I'll investigate it...but please keep in mind that the JQuery portion of this was not written by me, I am merely plugging it into phpBB3. So it may be necessary to have the author of that answer it. Does that show all the time, or just when you mouse-over it?
But need more icons, i.e. newpost.png, search.png ..etc. Perhaps a blank png included is much better.
I'm not much of an artist, I just used these freely available icons: http://icons.mysitemyway.com/category/b ... rls-icons/
There are hundreds available there, in many different themes.
One question is that how to change the spacing between the icon and the font, I would like to make it narrow a bit.
Add this to the common.css:

Code: Select all

div.jqDockLabelText {position:absolute; top:15px; right:1px; white-space:nowrap; cursor:pointer;}
You can adjust that and tweak it as needed.

For what it's worth, here is the author's documentation regarding the label:
labels : boolean or string, default = false, values = true, 'tl', 'tc', 'tr', 'ml', 'mc', 'mr', 'bl', 'bc', 'br'
This enables/disables display of a label on the current image.
Allowed string values are 2 characters in length: the first character indicates horizontal position (t=top, m=middle, b=bottom) and the second indicates vertical position (l=left, c=center, r=right). So 'br' means bottom-right!
If simply set to true, jqDock will use its default positioning for the label, which is 'tl' (top-left) for any align setting other than 'top' or 'left'. The defaults for 'top' and 'left' alignment are 'br' (bottom-right) and 'tr' (top-right) respectively.
To determine the text for the label, jqDock looks firstly for text in the image's 'title' attribute; if not found, it will then look for text in the 'title' attribute of the parent link - if there is one - and use that if found.

Please be aware that enabling this option with one of the middle/center label positions (eg. 'ml', 'bc', etc) may have a slight effect on the performance of the Dock, simply due to the additional processing required to position the label correctly.
You can make those changes by editing this portion of the code in overall_header.html:

Code: Select all

    , labels: 'tc'  // add labels (defaults to 'br')
I'd like a template for the code required to add other links please
That is incredibly simple. All you need to do is add another link inside the div "fmenu."

For example, to add one to the far right:
Find:

Code: Select all

    <a href="{U_LOGIN_LOGOUT}" title="{L_LOGIN_LOGOUT}" accesskey="x"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/fisheye/login.png" title="{L_LOGIN_LOGOUT}" alt="" /></a>                                                                                                                         
<!-- ENDIF -->
Add after:

Code: Select all

<a href="YOUR_LINK_HERE" title="YOUR_LABEL"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/fisheye/YOUR_IMAGE.png" title="YOUR_LABEL" alt="" /></a>
If you want it to be visible only to logged in users, add it before the ENDIF.
I tried some other icons found in the net but they don't enlarge or resize. No matter the sizes are 72X72, 150X150..etc.
How to add other icons ?
I've had no problem switch the icons around. I just make sure to use 150x150 png. Dump them in {T_THEME_PATH}/images/fisheye/ and change the img src in overall_header.html.

Usually I've found that if it doesn't move when you mouse over it, the js is giving an error of some sort. Try running the Chrome or Firebug console when loading the page to see if it gives you any errors after switch the icons.
User avatar
Blue Blood
Registered User
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:09 am
Location: U§A
Name: Blue Blood
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by Blue Blood »

Very Cool Mod!!!
Keep up the good work!!
achu68
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: [BETA] Fisheye Menu

Post by achu68 »

I have no clue why that is happening. I'll investigate it...but please keep in mind that the JQuery portion of this was not written by me, I am merely plugging it into phpBB3. So it may be necessary to have the author of that answer it. Does that show all the time, or just when you mouse-over it?
Thank you for your replay. That happen when i mouse-over it.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”