[ABD] Sportsbook - Ultimate Soccer

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
martinec
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:13 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by martinec »

I reproduced the bug.

Log on your board, and open another window with the board.
On the first window, go the sportbook and enter some predictions, and before validate it, log off from the board on the second window.
Then go back to first window and validate the predictions. It will work whereas you were not logged in anymore.
Check in database, predictions were inserted with user id = 1.
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

martinec wrote:user id = 1
Thanks, Martin. I'll add this to the bug list for the next release.

$
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

martinec wrote:I reproduced the bug.

Log on your board, and open another window with the board.
On the first window, go the sportbook and enter some predictions, and before validate it, log off from the board on the second window.
Then go back to first window and validate the predictions. It will work whereas you were not logged in anymore.
Check in database, predictions were inserted with user id = 1.
Nice one. I'll get that sorted.

Thanks again.

$
martinec
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:13 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by martinec »

Hi $tring,

I found another issue : I inserted all the fixtures of my league.
In the fixture page, I can filter per month. It works for every month... except December, which gives me no result, although I have some fixtures in december (e.g. : 1323536400, 1324141200 are timestamps inserted in fixture table).

One more thing : in the clubs stats, where we can see the last result of a club, I believe the order is wrong.

For instance, my club won the 2 first matchs of the season, and lost the third.
The page displays then : LWW
I believe it should be WWL.

(Same for Home / Away last results).

Thanks

Martin
Hessie
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:42 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by Hessie »

$tring wrote: Hi,

Sorry for the late reply, I was on my way out last night. The automod error you encountered was due to a typo in the install instructions. I'm glad you managed to install manually.

The default value error you have encountered has only been reported by one other person, and it seems to be due to clean installs. I'll get this debugged later.

In the meantime, your current error can be resolved by running the following query via phpMyAdmin:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE  `phpbb_sportsbook_leagues` CHANGE  `league_id`  `league_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT;

ALTER TABLE  `phpbb_sportsbook_teams` CHANGE  `team_id`  `team_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT;
Could you please post back and confirm that your Sportsbook functions with no errors after that database update?

Thanks
$
$tring,

I had the same problem. After running the query I could add a league
But when I want to add a team, there is no league to choose ?
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

martinec wrote:Hi $tring,

I found another issue : I inserted all the fixtures of my league.
In the fixture page, I can filter per month. It works for every month... except December, which gives me no result, although I have some fixtures in december (e.g. : 1323536400, 1324141200 are timestamps inserted in fixture table).

One more thing : in the clubs stats, where we can see the last result of a club, I believe the order is wrong.

For instance, my club won the 2 first matchs of the season, and lost the third.
The page displays then : LWW
I believe it should be WWL.

(Same for Home / Away last results).

Thanks

Martin
Martin, I have confirmed the December issue is indeed a bug. I'll get that sorted.

As for the clubs stats. The form guide should read left to right, as season history reads top to bottom. The most recent result on the left, and the most recent result at the top. Does this make sense.

What you have described is how it is intended to be.

$
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

Hessie wrote:
$tring wrote: Hi,

Sorry for the late reply, I was on my way out last night. The automod error you encountered was due to a typo in the install instructions. I'm glad you managed to install manually.

The default value error you have encountered has only been reported by one other person, and it seems to be due to clean installs. I'll get this debugged later.

In the meantime, your current error can be resolved by running the following query via phpMyAdmin:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE  `phpbb_sportsbook_leagues` CHANGE  `league_id`  `league_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT;

ALTER TABLE  `phpbb_sportsbook_teams` CHANGE  `team_id`  `team_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT;
Could you please post back and confirm that your Sportsbook functions with no errors after that database update?

Thanks
$
$tring,

I had the same problem. After running the query I could add a league
But when I want to add a team, there is no league to choose ?
Hessie,

Have you run the most recent query, it also has the AUTO_INCREMENT command which was missing before.

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE  `phpbb_sportsbook_leagues` CHANGE  `league_id`  `league_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT;

ALTER TABLE  `phpbb_sportsbook_teams` CHANGE  `team_id`  `team_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT;
Does the league exist in the database? If so, it sounds like you need to purge your cache.

I can't get this bug to replicate on the test board, unfortunately.

$
Hessie
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:42 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by Hessie »

Yes, I ran the last query, purged the cache and the league are available in the database.

I still cannot select a league when adding a team.

Strange :S
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

Upgraded to Version 0.2.4-beta

Download

Changelog

Code: Select all

2011-08-24 - Version 0.2.4-beta

[NEW] Added UMIL to distro
[NEW] Added ability to see all predictions on results page
[CHG] Allow to switch thumbnails on or off
[CHG] Fixtures now ordered by time, then home team alpha
[CHG] Aligned leaderboard by points, then correct scores, then correct results
[CHG] Leaderboard now paginated
[CHG] User being viewed now hi-lighted on leaderboard
[FIX] Fixed bug with timezone for guests
[FIX] Changed language var for HOME
[FIX] Prevent anonymous from inputting predictions
[FIX] Removed anonymous from predictions dropdown
[FIX] Prevent duplicate predictions
[FIX] December fixtures now showing properly
[FIX] Various minor bug fixes
Please see contrib directory for upgrade instructions.

There are additional files to edit for this new version.

8-)
martinec
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:13 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by martinec »

Hi $tring,

Nice work, thank you !

Some remarks about the new version :

- The variable used for Sportbook_home should not be used in the league Table for "Home". A new one should be defined for that.
- It would be better for fixture details to sort the predictions by good score, good result and wrong result, rather than alphabetical user order. And a chart for result repartition would be nice.

Other idea not related to this release : by default, the first club in alphabetical order is selected in the fixture page. Could we define somewhere another club by default ?

Thanks for your work anyway.

Hope you don't have the feeling that I am never happy since all my messages are about wrong things or improvements. I believe all I have said so far are minor details, the mod is great and works fine. Just want it to be perfect! Keep up the good work!
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

martinec wrote: - The variable used for Sportbook_home should not be used in the league Table for "Home". A new one should be defined for that.
The new variable is provided to give an alternative variable for the word "home". I do not understand why this is unsuitable, could you explain further?
martinec wrote: - It would be better for fixture details to sort the predictions by good score, good result and wrong result, rather than alphabetical user order.
I can provide sort order for this, which will allow the viewer to choose. I will add this.
martinec wrote: And a chart for result repartition would be nice.
Do you mean a chart like the chart for team wins, draws losses etc.. with the red, amber and green bars?
martinec wrote: Other idea not related to this release : by default, the first club in alphabetical order is selected in the fixture page. Could we define somewhere another club by default ?
Do you mean the fixtures team select box in the ACP? If so, I cannot see a big advantage to that. Surely it is easier to find the team if they are in alphabetical order?
martinec wrote: Thanks for your work anyway.

Hope you don't have the feeling that I am never happy since all my messages are about wrong things or improvements. I believe all I have said so far are minor details, the mod is great and works fine. Just want it to be perfect! Keep up the good work!
Your comments have been very valuable to me, and I hope you will continue to post your thoughts, opinions and ideas for improvement.

Thank you sincerely for your input.

$
martinec
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:13 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by martinec »

$tring wrote: The new variable is provided to give an alternative variable for the word "home". I do not understand why this is unsuitable, could you explain further?
I believe the variable SPORTBOOK_HOME is used either in the sportbook menu and in the league table.
So if you set it for instance to 'Home page of Sportbook', then this string will appear on the league table and instead of 'Home /Away', you will have 'Home page of Sportbook / Away'.
$tring wrote: Do you mean a chart like the chart for team wins, draws losses etc.. with the red, amber and green bars?
Yes, or maybe a pie with percentage.
$tring wrote: Do you mean the fixtures team select box in the ACP? If so, I cannot see a big advantage to that. Surely it is easier to find the team if they are in alphabetical order?
No, I mean the fixture page, where users can insert predictions at the left, and with the stats per club at the right. Actually, my board is dedicated to one of the clubs of the league, so I would prefer to have the stats of that club by default. But I understand this request is a bit out of the expected features.
$tring wrote: Thank you sincerely for your input.
You're welcome.
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

martinec wrote: I believe the variable SPORTBOOK_HOME is used either in the sportbook menu and in the league table.
So if you set it for instance to 'Home page of Sportbook', then this string will appear on the league table and instead of 'Home /Away', you will have 'Home page of Sportbook / Away'.
You are absolutely correct, I understand now. I'll fix this.
martinec wrote: Yes, or maybe a pie with percentage.
I will add this also.
martinec wrote: No, I mean the fixture page, where users can insert predictions at the left, and with the stats per club at the right. Actually, my board is dedicated to one of the clubs of the league, so I would prefer to have the stats of that club by default. But I understand this request is a bit out of the expected features.
I cannot justify this as a feature, however you can use a little mod to have this work on your Sportsbook...

[OPEN]
includes/sportsbook/frontend/fixtures.php

[FIND]

Code: Select all

$team_id = request_var('filter-team', 0);
[AFTER, ADD]

Code: Select all

//
// Add default team
//
if (!$team_id)
{
  $team_id = 80; // ID of default team
}
//
// End default team
//
martinec
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:13 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by martinec »

Thank you $tring.

Another request :P :

On the page "results", we can filter by league, then team. Fine.
To choose a team, we have to select a league first so that the team listbox get filled. Makes sense.

But when, like in my case, you only have one league in sportsbook, it is a bit boring to have to select the unique league to be able to filter by team.

Would it be possible to check if there is only one league, and therefore, automatically select that league, so that the team listbox is also automatically filled ?

Thanks.
User avatar
$tring
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: [BETA] phpBB Sportsbook Lite (sports prediction system)

Post by $tring »

martinec wrote:Thank you $tring.

Another request :P :

On the page "results", we can filter by league, then team. Fine.
To choose a team, we have to select a league first so that the team listbox get filled. Makes sense.

But when, like in my case, you only have one league in sportsbook, it is a bit boring to have to select the unique league to be able to filter by team.

Would it be possible to check if there is only one league, and therefore, automatically select that league, so that the team listbox is also automatically filled ?

Thanks.
Another sensible suggestion... I'll add some javascript magic to it! 8-)

$
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”