[ABD] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
k3mikal
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:28 am

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by k3mikal »

i'm quite desperate to implement it, is there a step by step guide somewhere?
hi
User avatar
Shamiro
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:29 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Shamiro »

When I'm chating in chat window everything seems to be ok, but when I'm trying to chat in board_index then I can't add messages and after chat table I get these functions

Code: Select all

{ DETAILS }	  • { UPDATES } { UNIT }

And by the way, one little fix added by me:
In-line Find
Tip: This is a partial match of a line for in-line operations. First

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_FAQ}" title="{L_FAQ_EXPLAIN}" class="icon-faq">{L_FAQ}</a>
In-line Add before Second

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{L_CHAT_EXPLAIN}" class="icon_members">{L_CHAT}</a>&nbsp;
Insted of second line use this one:

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-members"><a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{L_CHAT_EXPLAIN}">{L_CHAT}</a></li>
GrubbY
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by GrubbY »

Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/
User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by noob5 »

GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/

for starters...u gotta use notepad++ and make sure the format is "without Bom" and as for the one about the [shout.php] u didnt upload the "Shout.php" in the directory... open up the includes/functions.php in notepad++ make sure the format is "Without Bom" and save it upload it and there u go...


so heres what u gotta do...

get notpad++

open includes/functions.php

Make sure the Format is "Without Bom" then save it

upload the "shout.php" to the main directory...
User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by noob5 »

k3mikal wrote:i'm quite desperate to implement it, is there a step by step guide somewhere?

you gotta edit the javascript...
User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by noob5 »

handyman...


ive been looking around in the code.. whats making the chats come back after u refresh the page? is there a fix for this?
complexity
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by complexity »

I'm a big fan of this mod, its quite easy to make it look and work how you want as well.
GrubbY
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by GrubbY »

noob5 wrote:
GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/

for starters...u gotta use notepad++ and make sure the format is "without Bom" and as for the one about the [shout.php] u didnt upload the "Shout.php" in the directory... open up the includes/functions.php in notepad++ make sure the format is "Without Bom" and save it upload it and there u go...


so heres what u gotta do...

get notpad++

open includes/functions.php

Make sure the Format is "Without Bom" then save it

upload the "shout.php" to the main directory...
how u mean without boom ? can u explain to me , because i dont understand ? :S
User avatar
phreakwars
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Polaris Industries

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by phreakwars »

GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/
Looking real close at the image, I can see that it shows you didn't upload the extra files like shout.php and chat.php into the root folder.
.
.
MODS by me: Default Topic Icon
User avatar
Shamiro
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:29 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Shamiro »

noob5 wrote:
GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/

for starters...u gotta use notepad++ and make sure the format is "without Bom" and as for the one about the [shout.php] u didnt upload the "Shout.php" in the directory... open up the includes/functions.php in notepad++ make sure the format is "Without Bom" and save it upload it and there u go...


so heres what u gotta do...

get notpad++

open includes/functions.php

Make sure the Format is "Without Bom" then save it

upload the "shout.php" to the main directory...
Simply use "Adobe Dreamweaver" insted of notepad++ ...Becouse It's more confortable, and it's specially created to develop website content

Otherwise try to folow installation guide step by step, and try to read few comment pages, maybe you'll find any useful tips there ;)
k3mikal
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:28 am

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by k3mikal »

noob5 wrote:
k3mikal wrote:i'm quite desperate to implement it, is there a step by step guide somewhere?

you gotta edit the javascript...
where is it? and how? actually just tell me where is it i'll play around with it till i get the effect needed
hi
User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by noob5 »

GrubbY wrote:
noob5 wrote:
GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/

for starters...u gotta use notepad++ and make sure the format is "without Bom" and as for the one about the [shout.php] u didnt upload the "Shout.php" in the directory... open up the includes/functions.php in notepad++ make sure the format is "Without Bom" and save it upload it and there u go...


so heres what u gotta do...

get notpad++

open includes/functions.php

Make sure the Format is "Without Bom" then save it

upload the "shout.php" to the main directory...
how u mean without boom ? can u explain to me , because i dont understand ? :S

here somes screenshots to show u...


Image

Image

then just click save...
User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by noob5 »

Shamiro wrote:
noob5 wrote:
GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/

for starters...u gotta use notepad++ and make sure the format is "without Bom" and as for the one about the [shout.php] u didnt upload the "Shout.php" in the directory... open up the includes/functions.php in notepad++ make sure the format is "Without Bom" and save it upload it and there u go...


so heres what u gotta do...

get notpad++

open includes/functions.php

Make sure the Format is "Without Bom" then save it

upload the "shout.php" to the main directory...
Simply use "Adobe Dreamweaver" insted of notepad++ ...Becouse It's more confortable, and it's specially created to develop website content

Otherwise try to folow installation guide step by step, and try to read few comment pages, maybe you'll find any useful tips there ;)
same thing with notepad++ dumb dumb ;)
User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by noob5 »

phreakwars wrote:
GrubbY wrote:Image
anyone know solution for this problem ? :/
Looking real close at the image, I can see that it shows you didn't upload the extra files like shout.php and chat.php into the root folder.
.
.
Dude where in that image do u see "No such directory" for "chat.php"? The only one i see is the "shout.php"
User avatar
phreakwars
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Polaris Industries

Re: [BETA] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by phreakwars »

Well, I am just assuming chat.php is not there as well. Obviously shout.php wasn't uploaded correctly, which would make me question why shout.php isn't and chat.php would be when they both belong in the same folder.

Also, if I rename shout.php on my own PC from a localhost setup, coincidently, I get the same error your getting:
Image
.
.
MODS by me: Default Topic Icon
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”