[ABD] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
jimcarrel
Registered User
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by jimcarrel »

Handyman` wrote:Update to 2.0.0 Beta 8.

New in this version:
  1. Now supports MOD Version Check
  2. Fixed a few bugs… Googlebot can no longer post :P
  3. A small amount of code cleanup
See first post for download.
Thank you so much for the Google bot "no post", just last night, on our church forum, a google bot posted direct links to pornography :oops:

The strange think is that the "impersonator" ( had to be ), made a post similiar to " have fun indexing".
Was that a hint to something Im not seeing. Did that Bot do something else? I'm paranoid now, LOL
Grace--Getting what I don't deserve
Mercy--Not getting what I do deserve
saaiberke
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Gent/Belgium
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by saaiberke »

Is there any possibility to hide the hidden users from the online list? I believe this must be possible with a kind of IF statement, using a switch? But I don't know which switch to use :)

Being able to hide them would be really great :)

Grtz,

Nic
User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Handyman` »

jimcarrel wrote:
Handyman` wrote:Update to 2.0.0 Beta 8.

New in this version:
  1. Now supports MOD Version Check
  2. Fixed a few bugs… Googlebot can no longer post :P
  3. A small amount of code cleanup
See first post for download.
Thank you so much for the Google bot "no post", just last night, on our church forum, a google bot posted direct links to pornography :oops:

The strange think is that the "impersonator" ( had to be ), made a post similiar to " have fun indexing".
Was that a hint to something Im not seeing. Did that Bot do something else? I'm paranoid now, LOL
it's not googlebot… it's a real person fooling the system… and no, they aren't able to do anything else.
They didn't hack into the chat box either, it's a bug that I found out was there after my last release, but I had it on STG for so long that it didn't seem to be an issue and I was planning on having RC1 released by now, but life has set me back on that goal… so I finally got it fixed :)

But I added the MOD Version Check file to it so you can see when the next update is available.
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)
jimcarrel
Registered User
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by jimcarrel »

I totaly agree with you on the "not a real Google Bot"
Does that mean the person registered as Googl_Bot, and slipped into a posting position. That must be a wrong supposition, cause I have Bots on read only now I have even blocked that off. As a matter of fact, all Bots permissions are "never" now, they got me running scared, sort of.

There was no "member" listed as Google_Bot.

I think I may have to have new registrations go thru me for acceptance. or a double registration deal.

Nonetheless, I'm sure I speak for all here, in giving a big Thanks to the Handyman for this chat contribution.
Grace--Getting what I don't deserve
Mercy--Not getting what I do deserve
User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Handyman` »

jimcarrel wrote:I totaly agree with you on the "not a real Google Bot"
Does that mean the person registered as Googl_Bot, and slipped into a posting position. That must be a wrong supposition, cause I have Bots on read only now I have even blocked that off. As a matter of fact, all Bots permissions are "never" now, they got me running scared, sort of.

There was no "member" listed as Google_Bot.

I think I may have to have new registrations go thru me for acceptance. or a double registration deal.

Nonetheless, I'm sure I speak for all here, in giving a big Thanks to the Handyman for this chat contribution.
nobody registered as Googlebot… the person just changed their user agent to be Googlebot so they could post using the Googlebot that comes with phpBB3 which is used for setting permissions for the real Googlebot.
I just didn't have the permissions right for bots, so once the person disguised himself as googlebot, he was able to use the chatbox.
It's nothing to be worried about outside of the AJAX Chat Beta 7.

If you set Googlebot to read only, they will be able to index your site and display the contents on google to add your site to the search index.

If you have the permissions set to "never", they can't even get into your forum… so any way you want to do it is fine, but the bug was in the AJAX Chat only.

Bots aren't something to be afraid of… you just have to understand them and take care of the people imbotinating them.
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)
jimcarrel
Registered User
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by jimcarrel »

Thanks for the explanation, some I knew, but a lot I didn't.
Never to old to learn.
Grace--Getting what I don't deserve
Mercy--Not getting what I do deserve
kenta
Registered User
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:41 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by kenta »

Hi. I'm using the FlashWeb style and the background turned white but the shoutbox still shows. any ideas how to fix this problem? sorry I'm a noob.
<3 Phpbb
User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Handyman` »

kenta wrote:Hi. I'm using the FlashWeb style and the background turned white but the shoutbox still shows. any ideas how to fix this problem? sorry I'm a noob.
Sorry, I can't keep up with all the styles, you'll have to decide to use either the subsviler or the prosilver AJAX Chat template (chat.html) for that style
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)
Thor89
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Thor89 »

How do I open the modx.subsilver.en.xsl so it displays the content in correct format?

I have tried iexplorer, opera and firefox. Also I have tried notepad and notepad2

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6091/utennavnax2.png
Last edited by camm15h on Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: IMG tags removed - large image. ;)
User avatar
Muad''Dib
Registered User
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Muad''Dib »

I noticed in the instructions that the section for "styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html" is still incorrect.

It should be to find:

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-faq"><a href="{U_FAQ}" title="{L_FAQ_EXPLAIN}">{L_FAQ}</a></li>
And add this before:

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-members"><a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{L_CHAT_EXPLAIN}">{L_CHAT}</a></li>
kenta
Registered User
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:41 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by kenta »

Handyman` wrote:
kenta wrote:Hi. I'm using the FlashWeb style and the background turned white but the shoutbox still shows. any ideas how to fix this problem? sorry I'm a noob.
Sorry, I can't keep up with all the styles, you'll have to decide to use either the subsviler or the prosilver AJAX Chat template (chat.html) for that style
Ah thanks for your reply I just added the chat_body.html from subsilver2 to the style and It works just fine now. :) and good work with the mod. :D and thanks.
<3 Phpbb
User avatar
mattgid
Registered User
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:57 am
Location: Singapore

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mattgid »

Will there please be a function for hidden users to remain hidden (as in, not displayed on the chat box online list), and disable guest posting? (ie. when users have been suspended, whatever they submit in the form does not get displayed on the chat box)
✖✖_Matthew Gideon_✖✖
notsa
Registered User
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:37 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by notsa »

i've installed this for rc7 and when i try to posts the little picture of the spining circles in the details bar appear but i see no messages in the shout box. please help. this was a fresh rc 7 install.

i have to manually reload the chat to see the posts. (i.e. the ajax feature isn't working) ALL HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
User avatar
Muad''Dib
Registered User
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Muad''Dib »

Updated from RC-7 to RC-8, no problems at all.
notsa
Registered User
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:37 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by notsa »

i am now on rc8 and the ajax feature is still not working. Can't anyone even say they don't know how to fix it. :) :)

Hello please i really need some help :roll:

edit: thanks for "ALLLLL" your help guyz :lol:

anyways if anyone else has this problem just check your javascript. While changing the layout for acidtech i accidentally messed up the javascript so just check that if your having problems with the ajax feature :)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”