[ABD] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Toktok
Registered User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:27 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Toktok » Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:10 am

How can i add smilebox and bbcode box after submit button?

rhinton
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: orlando, fl

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by rhinton » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:36 pm

poker158149 wrote:How do you clear the current messages in the chat box?
what template are you using? if it's prosilver, you'll see a x under the member's name that made a post. other way is to go directly into the database and delete it that way.

Wolf In Pinstripes
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Wolf In Pinstripes » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:36 pm

I have a question about compatibility -

We upgraded a site from 2.0.x to 3.0.4 a couple of months ago and have been trying to add in the hacks we had on the old version. One of them was the Fully Integrated Shoutbox by Niels. Since there is no version of this for phpBB3, we are having to look at other options. I'd like to add this mod, but I'm concerned about the file names being named "chat", because I have Tufat's Flashchat installed already. Can somebody tell me if these two would be compatible with each other or are they going to conflict with file names?

Thanks in advance -

Wolf

poker158149
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by poker158149 » Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:52 am

[quote=rhinton]what template are you using? if it's prosilver, you'll see a x under the member's name that made a post. other way is to go directly into the database and delete it that way.[/quote]

I'm using about 13 different styles that the user chooses between.

So, I have to go into the database, find the MOD, and delete the history?

EDIT: Nevermind, I found it! Thanks!

userkiller
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:02 am
Location: student

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by userkiller » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:48 am

How do i remove it from the main forum and just leave it in the chat section only.

example mysite,com/chat.php
not mysite.com bottom of it, it make my forum lok ugly.
Requesting people that can develop softwares pm me.
example gaming trainers.
If you are a rpgmmo gamers pm me.

kmklr72
Registered User
Posts: 477
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: St. Louis, USA
Name: Kevin

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by kmklr72 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:25 am

userkiller wrote:How do i remove it from the main forum and just leave it in the chat section only.

example mysite,com/chat.php
not mysite.com bottom of it, it make my forum lok ugly.
Remove:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html
from index_body.html in your style's template directory.

userkiller
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:02 am
Location: student

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by userkiller » Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:58 am

thank you
Requesting people that can develop softwares pm me.
example gaming trainers.
If you are a rpgmmo gamers pm me.

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:23 am

For those that wanted changes to the chat.php file that would allow only registered users to chat here is the solution.

When you do the file edits to the index_body.html

Instead of adding this:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
Add this:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF not S_IS_BOT and S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->
Open: chat.php
Find:

Code: Select all

$mode = request_var('mode', '');
$last_id = request_var('last_id', 0);
$last_post = request_var('last_post', 0);
$last_time = request_var('last_time', 0);
$get = $init = false;
$count = 0;
Add After:

Code: Select all

// Check permissions

if ($user->data['is_bot']  || $user->data['user_id'] == ANONYMOUS)
{
	redirect(append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx"));
}
Go to ACP and purge cache and in Styles > templates refresh the style you are woking with.
Last edited by mej284 on Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

briandjohn
Registered User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:23 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by briandjohn » Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:00 am

I'll ask again as nobody seems to be coming up with a definative answer. How do I get the chatboard to show on individual forum pages and not just the index page? The only fault I have found is that because it shows only on the index page, anyone browsing the forums misses messages being posted and the message poster thinks they are being ignored when they are not.

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:27 pm

Just not looking in the right spot. I already answered but here you go.

I have got it working with blackbox and others

Install Ajax Chat as discribed EXCEPT do not do the index_body.html edit. Now do the following edits.

Open styles/(your style)/template/index_body.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE forumlist_body.html -->
Add Before:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
Open styles/(your style)/template/viewtopic_body.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE overall_header.html -->
Add after:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
Open styles/(your style)/template/viewforum_body.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE overall_header.html -->
Add after:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
open: viewforum.php

Find:

Code: Select all

// Configure style, language, etc.
$user->setup('viewforum', $forum_data['forum_style']);
Add After:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'shout.' . $phpEx);
//-- fin mod : AJAX Chat ------------------------------------------------
Open: viewtopic.php

Find:

Code: Select all

// Setup look and feel
$user->setup('viewtopic', $topic_data['forum_style']);
Add After:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'shout.' . $phpEx);
//-- fin mod : AJAX Chat ------------------------------------------------
Purge Cache and then go to each ACP > Styles > Templates and each style that you do these changes on select the refresh on that line.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

User avatar
novanilla
Registered User
Posts: 332
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by novanilla » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:16 pm

briandjohn wrote:I'll ask again as nobody seems to be coming up with a definative answer. How do I get the chatboard to show on individual forum pages and not just the index page? The only fault I have found is that because it shows only on the index page, anyone browsing the forums misses messages being posted and the message poster thinks they are being ignored when they are not.
Seems like you should just embed <!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html --> in your overall_header.html file?

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:20 pm

novanilla wrote:
briandjohn wrote:I'll ask again as nobody seems to be coming up with a definative answer. How do I get the chatboard to show on individual forum pages and not just the index page? The only fault I have found is that because it shows only on the index page, anyone browsing the forums misses messages being posted and the message poster thinks they are being ignored when they are not.
Seems like you should just embed <!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html --> in your overall_header.html file?
This does not work on all styles, plus if the edits to the viewforum.php and viewtopic.php are not done it still would not show even if it did work one the index_body page.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

briandjohn
Registered User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:23 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by briandjohn » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:24 pm

novanilla wrote: Seems like you should just embed <!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html --> in your overall_header.html file?
This doesn't work. If this is attempted, once you refresh the cache/template it displays a blank page. So there is more to it than just this simple edit, which is why I asked the question.

johnmc1981
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by johnmc1981 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:14 pm

I have installed this and i keep getting the same exact error no matter how many time I install it.

Tells me the tables are not available in MySQL but when i go to my databases they are there and working fine.

When i try to reinstall it, it tells me that the tables were already created. I have looked at the code but cant seem to find why it is not looking in the right place. Can anyone give me any input on this?

kmklr72
Registered User
Posts: 477
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: St. Louis, USA
Name: Kevin

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by kmklr72 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:19 pm

Go over all of your edits again and reupload all of the mod files. You might have missed an edit or a file might have gotten corrupted on the transfer to the server.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”