[ABD] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Tue May 19, 2009 12:38 pm

You could try this

Change this:

Code: Select all

.onlinelist {
width: 15%;
overflow:auto;
height:300px;
}
To this:

Code: Select all

.onlinelist {
background-color: red;  
width: 15%;
overflow:auto;
height:300px;
}
Or you can

find the hex number of the color you wish and instead of saying red you could post like this:

Code: Select all

.onlinelist {
background-color: #ff0000;
width: 15%;
overflow:auto;
height:300px;
}
Again don't forget to refresh in the ACP as before.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Tue May 19, 2009 12:39 pm

zkaraca wrote:Don't want to be mean but it's been 2 years man and still it's beta. I think that this is way too long for a mod to be developed. Especially one that is not that big as this one.
I am sure that Handyman would appreciate any service you could offer him to move this mod on to the next stage.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

sTimulated
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by sTimulated » Tue May 19, 2009 1:26 pm

mej284 wrote:You could try this

Change this:

Code: Select all

.onlinelist {
width: 15%;
overflow:auto;
height:300px;
}
To this:

Code: Select all

.onlinelist {
background-color: red;  
width: 15%;
overflow:auto;
height:300px;
}
Or you can

find the hex number of the color you wish and instead of saying red you could post like this:

Code: Select all

.onlinelist {
background-color: #ff0000;
width: 15%;
overflow:auto;
height:300px;
}
Again don't forget to refresh in the ACP as before.
Nice one 8-) I'll do that :)
Again,many many thanks
Yep,that works a treat :D
Just gotta choose a nicer colour now.

superj707
Registered User
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:20 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by superj707 » Tue May 19, 2009 7:20 pm

adcantu wrote:I think its a great idea supaj. I think it would be a good addition, allowing members to better communicate, as well as to be able to use the chat while still browsing the forums .

Thanks adcantu. I really must agree. I hope someone gives this idea a shot. it really shouldn't be to hard to accomplish. Just load the chat into a floating DHTML layer that is positioned with CSS and can hide with CSS.
We could have access to the chat from anywhere on the site. It would be AWESOME.

User avatar
adcantu
Registered User
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 12:08 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by adcantu » Wed May 20, 2009 7:27 am

superj707 wrote:Thanks adcantu. I really must agree. I hope someone gives this idea a shot. it really shouldn't be to hard to accomplish. Just load the chat into a floating DHTML layer that is positioned with CSS and can hide with CSS.
We could have access to the chat from anywhere on the site. It would be AWESOME.
Yea its easy to say it shouldnt be hard to accomplish lol. Although I think neither myself or you have the know how. I think the css and dhtml portions would be a simple task, I could probably even work this out myself. However what I am not certain about is the php portion. I havent looked at the instillation of the mod in quite some time as the mod itself has been working well on my sites for months. But Im not certain that the php would be called on every page, which I believe would be necessary for it to load on every page.

Anyone else have comments or ideas about this?

User avatar
madmartyau
Registered User
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Name: Marty
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by madmartyau » Wed May 20, 2009 7:41 am

adcantu wrote:
superj707 wrote:Thanks adcantu. I really must agree. I hope someone gives this idea a shot. it really shouldn't be to hard to accomplish. Just load the chat into a floating DHTML layer that is positioned with CSS and can hide with CSS.
We could have access to the chat from anywhere on the site. It would be AWESOME.
Yea its easy to say it shouldnt be hard to accomplish lol. Although I think neither myself or you have the know how. I think the css and dhtml portions would be a simple task, I could probably even work this out myself. However what I am not certain about is the php portion. I havent looked at the instillation of the mod in quite some time as the mod itself has been working well on my sites for months. But Im not certain that the php would be called on every page, which I believe would be necessary for it to load on every page.

Anyone else have comments or ideas about this?
You're right. shout.php would have to be included everywhere which most likely means including it in common.php but then of course it might clash with other code. While I'm sure what is being asked for can be done, it's a matter of whether Handyman want's to change the mod in such a way.

@ superj707 If it's so easy, why don't you give it a shot yourself and let everyone bitch and moan about your mod. :roll:
Call me Grumpy.

vert5
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:37 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by vert5 » Wed May 20, 2009 9:58 am

Hi

At first thanks for great Modification , everything works, but I have some questions.

Where can I set, how many messeges will be showed ? For example , I want to have only 25 messenges showed, and other 26. 27. and older, will be deleted. HOw can I solve it, please ?

And second problem.

How can I solve this ?

Image

Thanks for your suggestions :)

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 am

Open: chat.php and shout.php
find:

Code: Select all

$result = $db->sql_query_limit($sql,


In chat.php you will find this line 3 times. In shout.php you will find it once.
At the end of the line will be a number. This is what you set for how many messages are displayed.
Change all locations to the same number.

Now if you want to limit your database size as well, go to the first or second post of this thread and add that mod.

Of course for these changes to take effect you need to go to the ACP > General and purge Cache.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

Psilocybin
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 10:34 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Psilocybin » Wed May 20, 2009 4:40 pm

why doesnt the delete buttons show up on firefox? any fix for this?

superj707
Registered User
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:20 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by superj707 » Wed May 20, 2009 8:54 pm

madmartyau wrote:
adcantu wrote:
superj707 wrote:Thanks adcantu. I really must agree. I hope someone gives this idea a shot. it really shouldn't be to hard to accomplish. Just load the chat into a floating DHTML layer that is positioned with CSS and can hide with CSS.
We could have access to the chat from anywhere on the site. It would be AWESOME.
Yea its easy to say it shouldnt be hard to accomplish lol. Although I think neither myself or you have the know how. I think the css and dhtml portions would be a simple task, I could probably even work this out myself. However what I am not certain about is the php portion. I havent looked at the instillation of the mod in quite some time as the mod itself has been working well on my sites for months. But Im not certain that the php would be called on every page, which I believe would be necessary for it to load on every page.

Anyone else have comments or ideas about this?
You're right. shout.php would have to be included everywhere which most likely means including it in common.php but then of course it might clash with other code. While I'm sure what is being asked for can be done, it's a matter of whether Handyman want's to change the mod in such a way.

@ superj707 If it's so easy, why don't you give it a shot yourself and let everyone *beep* and moan about your mod. :roll:

by easy I mean realistically possible for someone with the right skill. I know enough about the technology to know what is possible and what is just plain ridiculous. Again... for the right person.. this would be an easy task. Unfortunately for me it's outside the scope of what I know how to do. Certainly you wouldn't be suggesting though that I shouldn't share good ideas unless I know how to accomplish them myself. right ? because that would be absurd. More importantly, you wouldn't be suggesting that I "beep" and moan about Handymans work.. right ? Because I am extremely grateful for all of the hard work that has gone into this mod. I have spent many hours myself customizing this mod and getting it to work to my liking (almost) I really don't see any reason to attack me so please stop.

Jack™
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 11:53 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Jack™ » Wed May 20, 2009 10:00 pm

Jack™ wrote:
mej284 wrote:
laior wrote:Yes board3portal 1.0.3
Ok, you install Ajax just like the mod tells you. Once it is installed do the following additional edits

Open: root/portal.php
find:

Code: Select all

$phpEx = substr(strrchr(__FILE__, '.'), 1);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'common.' . $phpEx);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/includes/functions.'.$phpEx);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/includes/lang_adm_additional_blocks.'.$phpEx);
After add:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'shout.' . $phpEx);
//-- fin mod : AJAX Chat ------------------------------------------------
Now go into the style or styles you are using the Portal with
Open: template/portal/portal_body.html
find:

Code: Select all

<!-- [+] center block area -->
	<td valign="top">
After add:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
This will add the shout box to the top of the center row.

Now go to the ACP>styles>theme and select refresh on the style you are working with.
Also go to ACP > General and purge cache.

That should do it.
It half works for me, I did it and I get an error, then I deleted the change to portal.php, the portal loaded fine, and the "skin" of the chatbox loaded
I also don't have

Code: Select all

include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/includes/lang_adm_additional_blocks.'.$phpEx);
or the file it says
any help?

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Wed May 20, 2009 10:14 pm

I don't know why you don't have that last line. But did you have this in your root/portal.php

Code: Select all

$phpEx = substr(strrchr(__FILE__, '.'), 1);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'common.' . $phpEx);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/includes/functions.'.$phpEx);
If you had the above then add the following line after that:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'shout.' . $phpEx);
//-- fin mod : AJAX Chat ------------------------------------------------
Then go to ACP> General and purge cache.

Also can you give your site address?
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

Jack™
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 11:53 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by Jack™ » Wed May 20, 2009 10:21 pm

mej284 wrote:I don't know why you don't have that last line. But did you have this in your root/portal.php

Code: Select all

$phpEx = substr(strrchr(__FILE__, '.'), 1);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'common.' . $phpEx);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/includes/functions.'.$phpEx);
If you had the above then add the following line after that:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'shout.' . $phpEx);
//-- fin mod : AJAX Chat ------------------------------------------------
Then go to ACP> General and purge cache.

Also can you give your site address?
nope, didn't work

http://cheatsync.jacktm.net/forum

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Wed May 20, 2009 10:31 pm

Code you please post your portal.php

(please use the code bbcode)
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Post by mej284 » Thu May 21, 2009 12:23 am

This will work, I just tested it You have portal 1.0.2 (BTW there is a new version out)

open: root/portal.php
find:

Code: Select all

// Start session management
$user->session_begin();
$auth->acl($user->data);
$user->setup('mods/lang_portal');
Add after:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'shout.' . $phpEx);
//-- fin mod : AJAX Chat ------------------------------------------------
go to ACP>General and purge cache.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”