[ABD] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox MOD 2.0.0 Beta 8

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
fazzle
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:16 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by fazzle » Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:52 am

Is there anyway to NOT display the chat at all for guests?

I don't want my guests to be able to view the chat.

Cause I'm mean...

>:)

User avatar
playerfr
Registered User
Posts: 851
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:50 am
Location: France - Paris

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by playerfr » Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:24 pm

That is very easy to be done

in your index_body.html (if you ahve put chat on index)

Code: Select all

FInd :

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->

Replace with :

 <!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN --> <!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html --> <!-- ENDIF -->
Now only Registred users can see the chat ;)

Have Fun :)
fazzle wrote:Is there anyway to NOT display the chat at all for guests?

I don't want my guests to be able to view the chat.

Cause I'm mean...

>:)
All kind of help for your Forums / Sites. Installing for you the forum, the Mods, creating Custom Mods : for small fee http://www.phpbbhelpers.com

User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Handyman` » Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:36 pm

playerfr wrote:oh thanks , I know there are a lot of problem with the addon MOd with RC5 version. Dont know what they chnage but now it is forcing to have default values for all field. I have same problem on Topic moved info.

So to solve i have to put a default value in it? Ok let me try, hope it will work.

EDIT : I added a default value in this field, but i am still not able to post shoult, can you please check if there is an otehr problem ? And hwo do you check these problems ?

Thanks :)
just a couple days ago, when I logged in as your test user, the test user was using subsilver and it showed the error… but it has something to do with the country flags mod.
I've seen a site with that installed having the same problem before, but I don't know what the database looks like for that mod.
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)

User avatar
playerfr
Registered User
Posts: 851
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:50 am
Location: France - Paris

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by playerfr » Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:46 pm

So basicaly anyone using that mod will block the shout box :( that is bad. I ll ask on author site to see if he had the solution. Any agenda for next version of shoutbox, maybe next release will auto fix the problem ? :oops:
All kind of help for your Forums / Sites. Installing for you the forum, the Mods, creating Custom Mods : for small fee http://www.phpbbhelpers.com

Bubyx
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:31 pm

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Bubyx » Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:37 pm

Image

I am using latest release of handyman's shoutbox mod and i am wondered how to shrink a shout message background!?!? (look the picture)

fazzle
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:16 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by fazzle » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:05 pm

playerfr wrote:That is very easy to be done

in your index_body.html (if you ahve put chat on index)

Code: Select all

FInd :

<!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->

Replace with :

 <!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN --> <!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html --> <!-- ENDIF -->
Now only Registred users can see the chat ;)

Have Fun :)
Thank you!

User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Handyman` » Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:09 pm

playerfr wrote:So basicaly anyone using that mod will block the shout box :( that is bad. I ll ask on author site to see if he had the solution. Any agenda for next version of shoutbox, maybe next release will auto fix the problem ? :oops:
I don't think it's a problem with the shoutbox.
I got that error when I logged in last time, so I was still in the ucp while I was in prosilver.
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)

User avatar
playerfr
Registered User
Posts: 851
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:50 am
Location: France - Paris

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by playerfr » Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:19 pm

I checked in Firebug and when I post a message in shout i see errors and i see this at teh begining :

<div>SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]<br /><br />Field 'user_country_flag' doesn't have a default value [1364]

why chat need to use that field ? :shock:
All kind of help for your Forums / Sites. Installing for you the forum, the Mods, creating Custom Mods : for small fee http://www.phpbbhelpers.com

User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Handyman` » Wed Aug 29, 2007 11:13 pm

playerfr wrote:I checked in Firebug and when I post a message in shout i see errors and i see this at teh begining :

<div>SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]<br /><br />Field 'user_country_flag' doesn't have a default value [1364]

why chat need to use that field ? :shock:
chat doesn't need or use that table.
I don't know why that table is showing up.

All I know is that after I logged in when you had tester set to subsilver, it gave that same error.
It's a bug in the country flags mod
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)

Highway311
Registered User
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Thailand
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Highway311 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:56 am

Bubyx wrote:I am using latest release of handyman's shoutbox mod and i am wondered how to shrink a shout message background!?!? (look the picture)
Have a look at this Post: Link
Sorry for my bad English.

Live every day so as if it were your last day with the dear female students in this lovely world

Arnold Layne
Registered User
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 2:04 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Arnold Layne » Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:55 pm

does anyone know what style bubyx is using in his screenshot, and how do i install this there were no install directions

uiman
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:03 am

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by uiman » Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:27 am

First of all, thanks Handyman for the shoutbox is exactly what i was looking for, is perfect!

Some problems i had fixed, maybe this could help somebody. Im runing phpbb3 RC5 in WinXP.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Error "Cannot modify header":
After installing the mod, following the instructions. I get problems with headers between functions.php and common.php.

This msg was in the top of my forum:

Code: Select all

[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4213: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /cache/common.php:1)
Fix: I dont know why... but i try deleting comments added in language/en/common.php, and it works perfect. If you dont understand (?) comments are that lines which start with //. This 1 example what you should delete:

Code: Select all

//-- mod : AJAX Chat ----------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you are using RC5: (Fix posted by Muad"Dib)
When you are editing styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html you should Add this line, not the one in the instructions.

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-members"><a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{L_CHAT_EXPLAIN}">{L_CHAT}</a></li>
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you want to install it on SubSilver2:
When you are editing styles/subsilver2/template/overall_header.html you should Add this line, not the one in the instructions. Other way the Chat link wont show the icon.

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{L_CHAT_EXPLAIN}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_members.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_CHAT}</a>&nbsp; &nbsp;
When you are editing styles/subsilver/template/index_body.html you will be asked to find this line:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_ONLINE_LIST -->
Before that, you should Add this line:

Code: Select all

<br><br><br><!-- INCLUDE chat_body.html -->
If you dont Add <br> before the include, the chat will be very close to a grey bar and it dosnt look good. Maybe you should add or delete some <br>, i didnt use it cuz i directly delete that bar.

In the zip file you have a folder called SubSilver, you must upload those files in the folder SubSilver2
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you want to hide your chat for Guest (Both styles):
First you should follow this fix posted playerfr... How-To hide chat for Guest
Now look the line you added in /styles/[STYLENAME]/template/overall_header.html and Add this before:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
and this after:

Code: Select all

<!-- ENDIF -->
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, that all i know... I hope this fix your problems.
Thanks again Handyman for the shoutbox.

Sry for my english. U.u

User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Handyman` » Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:08 am

My Mod queue roadmap has been created… see bottom of first post for a link for anybody wondering when my next update is coming out.
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)

User avatar
playerfr
Registered User
Posts: 851
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:50 am
Location: France - Paris

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by playerfr » Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:27 am

GroovePlugs wrote:My Mod queue roadmap has been created… see bottom of first post for a link for anybody wondering when my next update is coming out.
Great idea to put some approcimative dates :D that will help us knwo a little bit :D
All kind of help for your Forums / Sites. Installing for you the forum, the Mods, creating Custom Mods : for small fee http://www.phpbbhelpers.com

User avatar
Cr33per
Registered User
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: [Beta] AJAX Chat/Shoutbox Mod

Post by Cr33per » Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:30 am

Can anybody tell me how to uninstall this because I'm getting a SQL error.

Code: Select all

Table 'httpwwwc_forums.phpbb_chat' doesn't exist [1146]

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”