[ABD] phpBB3 Portal

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
Freak46
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:03 pm

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by Freak46 » Thu Dec 27, 2007 5:12 pm

Drugs wrote:You didn't fully uninstall it
?????

Edit: I fixed it. I renamed announcements.html to announcments.html

demogar
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 3:15 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by demogar » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:39 pm

Just one question... how do I show all the news text as I saw in other websites??? It only displays me the Subject, and the date :S

Thank you in advance!

Freak46
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:03 pm

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by Freak46 » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:56 pm

I think you're using prosilver.

Prosilver has got a other portal than subsilver

Try subsilver

demogar
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 3:15 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by demogar » Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:22 pm

thank you very much :D

One more question: Can't I use this with prosilver ?

User avatar
thejdm
Registered User
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:18 pm
Location: pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by thejdm » Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 pm

is it possible to change the title on the portal page?

i notice it just doubles the name of your page...
EX: thejdm.com v3.0.0 · thejdm.com v3.0.0

i would like to have it say:
thejdm.com v3.0.0 · Main Page
or
thejdm.com v3.0.0 · Portal Page

you get the idea. instead of using the site name twice it would be nice to have it something stating its the main or portal page.
www.thejdm.com ...turn it on, y0

googleandroid
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:24 am

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by googleandroid » Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:46 am

Ok i installed this, then I installed the Search Engine Friendly url mod from here:

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0&t=543997

Now when i browse to my forum, and click on "board index" on the portal page, it won't go into my forum. It stays at the portal's homepage.

How do I make this work with the seo url mod?



If no-one knows, how can I uninstall the phpBB3 Portal or how do I disable it without messing up my board? Do I just remove the following from the htaccess file to remove it:

Code: Select all

# $Id: .htaccess,v 1.2 2007/04/12 06:19:39 angelside Exp $
# .htaccess for phpBB3 Portal
DirectoryIndex bb3portal.php index.php

User avatar
thejdm
Registered User
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:18 pm
Location: pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by thejdm » Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:05 am

the calander doesnt list monday. instead it lists sunday twice.
www.thejdm.com ...turn it on, y0

amagab
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 12:29 am
Location: Toilet.SE
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by amagab » Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:14 pm

How does this portal work with theming? Does it use its own theme or the phpbb3 theme?

User avatar
thejdm
Registered User
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:18 pm
Location: pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by thejdm » Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:30 pm

amagab wrote:How does this portal work with theming? Does it use its own theme or the phpbb3 theme?
i installed mine to the proglass theme and it worked to an extent it broke the top where the header was and the portal starts but i changed some code around and changed it up a bit working good now.
www.thejdm.com ...turn it on, y0

User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by Tripp » Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:45 pm

Yeah, get Michaelo to make a list of the Stargate template files you need out of the proSilver folder and then try your edits. Well, you might want to make /test folder in your root and install a second phpBB 3 there and use it to test mods you're unsure about.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs

RooMeat
Registered User
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by RooMeat » Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:55 pm

Drugs wrote:Yeah, get Michaelo to make a list of the Stargate template files you need out of the proSilver folder and then try your edits. Well, you might want to make /test folder in your root and install a second phpBB 3 there and use it to test mods you're unsure about.
Why on earth would Michaelo want to help anyone that is using a different portal other than his??
If you have problems with this portal.. then might be best to try another :roll:
Live site: http://www.ozsportsbikes.com (Converted from Nuked phpbb2 to stand alone phpBB3)
Test site: http://www.ozsuperbikes.com
Local Test site with XAMPP

User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by Tripp » Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:04 pm

Before jumping at me, know I posted in the wrong thread. I've used both portals....

Thanks.... :roll:
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs

ambia
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 6:15 pm

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by ambia » Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:35 pm

Hi all,
I've been testing out 1.03 for a while and eventually managed to get the thing working. Overall, this is a really nice mod. I would upgrade to the new version which i think is 1.1 or something had it not been for the huge number of bugs and lack of responses from the creator in his own forum. At the moment, i'm happy with 1.03 except for one thing: the search block
The search block has search engines and none of them work except Alta Vista. The post and author work fine.
Here's the code:

Code: Select all

<!-- $Id: search.html,v 1.3 2007/04/11 01:44:52 angelside Exp $ //-->
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function qsearch_onSubmit()
{
	qs_enginename = document.qsearch_form.qsearch_select.value;
	qs_keywords = document.qsearch_form.keywords.value;
	switch( qs_enginename )
	{
	case 'site':
		break;
	case 'author':
		window.open('search.php?author=' + qs_keywords, '_self', '');
		return false;
	case 'google':
		window.open('http://www.google.com.tr/search?q=' + qs_keywords, '_google', '');
		return false;
	case 'yahoo':
		window.open('http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=' + qs_keywords, '_yahoo', '');
		return false;	
	case 'msnlive':
		window.open('http://search.live.com/results.aspx?q=' + qs_keywords, '_msnlive', '');
		return false;
	case 'altavista':
		window.open('http://www.altavista.com/web/results?itag=ody&q=' + qs_keywords + '&kgs=0&kls=0', '_altavista', '');
		return false;
	case 'lycos':
		window.open('http://search.lycos.com/?query=' + qs_keywords, '_lycos', '');
		return false;
	case 'odp':
		window.open('http://search.dmoz.org/cgi-bin/search?search=' + qs_keywords, '_odp', '');
		return false;
	default:
		if( (i = qsearch_findEngine(qs_enginename)) >= 0 )
		{
			window.open(qsearch_engines[i].url + qs_keywords, '_blank', '');
			return false;
		}
		break;
	}
	return true;
}
//-->
</script>

<div class="panel">
	<div class="inner">
		<span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>
			<h3>{L_SEARCH}</h3>
			<form name="qsearch_form" id="searchform" method="post" action="{U_SEARCH}" onSubmit="return qsearch_onSubmit();">
			<input type="text" tabindex="1" name="keywords" id="searchfield" size="22" maxlength="40" value="" class="inputbox autowidth" /><br /> <br />
			<select name="qsearch_select">
				<optgroup label="{L_SH_SITE}">
					<option value="site" style="background-color: #EEEEEE;">{L_SH_POSTS}</option>
					<option value="author" style="background-color: #EEEEEE;">{L_SH_AUTHOR}</option>
				</optgroup>
				<optgroup label="{L_SH_ENGINE}">
					<option value="google" style="background-color: #FEF2D6;">google</option>
					<option value="yahoo" style="background-color: #FEF2D6;">yahoo</option>
					<option value="msnlive" style="background-color: #FEF2D6;">msnlive</option>
					<option value="altavista" style="background-color: #FEF2D6;">altavista</option>
					<option value="lycos" style="background-color: #FEF2D6;">lycos</option>
					<option value="odp" style="background-color: #FEF2D6;">open directory</option>
				</optgroup>
			</select>
			<!-- &nbsp; -->
			<input type="hidden" name="search_fields" value="all" />
			<input type="hidden" name="show_results" value="topics" />
			<input type="submit" value="{L_SH}" class="button2" />
			</form>
			<hr />
			<a href="{U_SEARCH}">{L_SH_ADV}</a>
		<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span>
	</div>
</div>
<br clear="all" />
Any Ideas?

darkglower
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:34 pm

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by darkglower » Mon Dec 31, 2007 8:00 pm

hi, i created a new group and i want know, how can i add this new group on the leaders block in my phpBB3 portal?

User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: [Beta] phpBB3 Portal

Post by Tripp » Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:11 pm

It will automatically do it if you have the group displyed in the legend box on the index.php page.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”