[ABD] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
digitron
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 12:38 pm

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by digitron »

This must be the best mod I ve ever seen in 5 years that I use phpbb.Simply amazing
how nice a forum can look with it.I can confirm that the youtube,google video etc don't work
in RC5.It attaches the video but it will not start playing, it always displays loading on
its frame.
To test if that was an error from my host company I installed the RC1 and made a test.
The function worked correctly there for all the video streaming services (youtube,google etc).
In all cases I uploaded the prepatched files and made another test with manual editing them.
The results were the same.
I wish that the creator would take a look into this.
User avatar
Gleasonator
Registered User
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:19 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by Gleasonator »

Awesome mod...

but I've had problems. I sometimes get a message about "Too few characters" when I have 500+ characters.

Very sorry if this has been asked before. Is there a fix?
Sorry for my bad Engrish !
gleason|design

Image
JBosman
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by JBosman »

digitron wrote:...I can confirm that the youtube,google video etc don't work
in RC5.It attaches the video but it will not start playing, it always displays loading on
its frame.
To test if that was an error from my host company I installed the RC1 and made a test.
The function worked correctly there for all the video streaming services (youtube,google etc).
In all cases I uploaded the prepatched files and made another test with manual editing them.
The results were the same.
I wish that the creator would take a look into this.
Try using this fix, if you haven't done them already: YouTube and Google fix.

I am using the same RC5 with this fix installed, and there isn't a problem anymore. Keep in mind that this mod is incompatible with almost every other mod there is around here. Other then that, this is a great mod. I hope the author of this mod will implement a feature where you can add more BBCode buttons, or disable some existing.
With the love for all things and especialy this, figure it out!
gagan.mehrok
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:10 am

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by gagan.mehrok »

I tried to install fresh copy on my RC5.. but it didn't worked for me. So i m still using the old HTML based editor.... :(
cardiac_arrest
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 5:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by cardiac_arrest »

I've upgraded to the RC5 and it is working perfectly for me...even on a different style
cotp
Registered User
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by cotp »

Hello and thanks for this great MOD. :)

I have several questions for you

1) Is it a security issue to use such a MOD cause of html or not ?

2) Why can't we use smilies codes like

Code: Select all

 :mrgreen: 
instead we have to use the path to the image ?

3) How can I decide to remove some of the default bbcode images ?

4) Can you tell us how to create a prompt for a custom BBCODE or how to prefill default values ?

Thanks in advance

Cotp
Last edited by cotp on Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.
joebart72
Registered User
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:54 am

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by joebart72 »

It would be nice to update the install.txt for phpbb RC5... ;)
I learn English with phpbb.com :)
.:: Chico ::.
Registered User
Posts: 463
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:35 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by .:: Chico ::. »

Great MOD, beautiful.

But, if a create a custom bbcode, where he is gonna appear?

Thanks!
nybadboy
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:10 am

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by nybadboy »

Is there anyone tested this WYSIWYG 5.1.0c with phpBB3 RC-5?
Does it work properly each others?
I installed it on phpBB3 RC-5.. it doesn't work.. after installed and try to post new one or read the old one .. i can't post or read .. it showed up blank page.. is there anyone know how to fix that problem?
I did the exactly way as shown as from Readme_frist.txt and Hoteditor_Mod.
I don't know how to do after all.. if someone can help me, thanks in advance. :mrgreen:
cotp
Registered User
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by cotp »

nybadboy wrote:Is there anyone tested this WYSIWYG 5.1.0c with phpBB3 RC-5?
Does it work properly each others?
I installed it on phpBB3 RC-5.. it doesn't work.. after installed and try to post new one or read the old one .. i can't post or read .. it showed up blank page.. is there anyone know how to fix that problem?
I did the exactly way as shown as from Readme_frist.txt and Hoteditor_Mod.
I don't know how to do after all.. if someone can help me, thanks in advance. :mrgreen:
Did you copy the richedit folder in root by anychance ? :?

Installed it in RC5 Works fine with me...

Cotp
JBosman
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by JBosman »

I have made some changes to the installer, that should do the trick to install it correctly to phpBB3 RC5. Copy the richedit to the root of your phpBB3 RC5 install and add the following edits: Hoteditor_Mod.txt

I will try to also add some information on how to install this to subsilver2 without using the old files that came with the mod.

With Kind regards,
Last edited by JBosman on Fri Sep 07, 2007 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
With the love for all things and especialy this, figure it out!
cotp
Registered User
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by cotp »

JBosman wrote:Other then that, this is a great mod. I hope the author of this mod will implement a feature where you can add more BBCode buttons, or disable some existing.
No one has found how to disable some of the existing buttons (not the custom ones) ?

Cotp
JBosman
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by JBosman »

It is possible, but you have to edit some files that comes with the mod. I will try to place some information on how to do this when I get back from work. Which existing ones would you like to be disabled?
With the love for all things and especialy this, figure it out!
gagan.mehrok
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:10 am

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by gagan.mehrok »

nybadboy wrote:Is there anyone tested this WYSIWYG 5.1.0c with phpBB3 RC-5?
Does it work properly each others?
I installed it on phpBB3 RC-5.. it doesn't work.. after installed and try to post new one or read the old one .. i can't post or read .. it showed up blank page.. is there anyone know how to fix that problem?
I did the exactly way as shown as from Readme_frist.txt and Hoteditor_Mod.
I don't know how to do after all.. if someone can help me, thanks in advance. :mrgreen:
I have made some changes to the installer, that should do the trick to install it correctly to phpBB3 RC5. Copy the richedit to the root of your phpBB3 RC5 install and add the following edits: Hoteditor_Mod.txt

I will try to also add some information on how to install this to subsilver2 without using the old files that came with the mod.

With Kind regards,
I made second attempt. Done every thing as written in installation file. Still i end up with messed up NEW TOPIC PAGE. It won't load at all or new post don't show up.


Some installation problems with RC5.. Thatz for sure. and ya ya I have uploaded root to my http://domian.com/forum/

Help me out. Third time i want to land perfect...... :mrgreen:
cotp
Registered User
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta] HotEditor WYSIWYG MOD for phpBB3

Post by cotp »

gagan.mehrok wrote:I have uploaded root to my http://domian.com/forum/ :
By "root" you mean the richedit folder of course ;)

right :)

Cotp
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”