[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
MrMontana
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:14 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by MrMontana »

easygo wrote: Yes, you can! Don't disappoint me. :)

Just take a look into the body of files like chat/lib/template/loggedOut.html
and play something around in order to figure it out by yourself.
Well, i tryed, but then the errors started to show up -.- I probably inserted it in a wrong place, but i tryed to put the code before the Form starts..

easygo wrote:Looks like a wrong declared phpBB path to me, most likely in chat/lib/custom.php
Well, this chat is made on a sub-domain of a main forum.. So how you reckon i should edit it ?
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

A subdomain is not half bad in that case. Could you provide a link to this chat?
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
User avatar
MrMontana
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:14 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by MrMontana »

chat.g-thang.net
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

or g-thang.net/chat :lol: ...unfortunately, it's not available to general public.

Thus, how about a test user account to get shown what happens?
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
User avatar
MrMontana
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:14 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by MrMontana »

User : testing
Pass : testing
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Hey Mister, are you gonna be a char saver? OK :/ why not :/

Your redirect does not work as there's NO ucp.php in root/chat/ i.e. you may have
to think twice about the use of rewrite rules. That's all what I have to say.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
User avatar
MrMontana
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:14 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by MrMontana »

There cant be any ucp.php, because the failure in logging in should either say - wrong user, either = Not user of our forum yet ? Please register Here (link)... Thats all.. I dont need any redierects.. I dont know why it redierects to ucp.php, if all it needs to say - wrong Username or Password.. Seems that this chat aint connected with database at all... sad..
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Well, that's the meaning of NO ucp.php in root/chat/

I'm sorry, but regarding your special issue getting the phpbb3 chat path as
a kinda sub-domain, I ain't seen nothing but a home-made problem.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
sathsara
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:33 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by sathsara »

Hey, need a lil help here :D


Add the following function to your PHP code:

<?php
function getShoutBoxContent() {
// URL to the chat directory:
if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_URL')) {
define('AJAX_CHAT_URL', './chat/');
}

// Path to the chat directory:
if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_PATH')) {
define('AJAX_CHAT_PATH', realpath(dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME']).'/chat').'/');
}

// Validate the path to the chat:
if(@is_file(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php')) {

// Include Class libraries:
require_once(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php');

// Initialize the shoutbox:
$ajaxChat = new CustomAJAXChatShoutBox();

// Parse and return the shoutbox template content:
return $ajaxChat->getShoutBoxContent();
}

return null;
}
?>
Where do I have to add the code? Functions.php ? And
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

sathsara wrote:Hey, need a lil help here :D


Add the following function to your PHP code:

<?php
function getShoutBoxContent() {
// URL to the chat directory:
if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_URL')) {
define('AJAX_CHAT_URL', './chat/');
}

// Path to the chat directory:
if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_PATH')) {
define('AJAX_CHAT_PATH', realpath(dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME']).'/chat').'/');
}

// Validate the path to the chat:
if(@is_file(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php')) {

// Include Class libraries:
require_once(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php');

// Initialize the shoutbox:
$ajaxChat = new CustomAJAXChatShoutBox();

// Parse and return the shoutbox template content:
return $ajaxChat->getShoutBoxContent();
}

return null;
}
?>
Where do I have to add the code? Functions.php ? And
Hi,

in our Wiki, there's a newer How-to available. :)

http://ajax-chat.wiki.sourceforge.net/p ... ntegration

Just give it a shot! It's quite simple.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
sathsara
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:33 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by sathsara »

Oops, I managed but its showing an error and there should be an outline or something like that right? I added the shoutbox on the portal and the Index and now this it how it shows, I guessed its something with the css so I copied the shoutbox.css to theme folder and added
@import url("shoutbox.css");
to the stylesheet.css
Image
Any idea?
Thanks
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

sathsara wrote:Oops, I managed but its showing an error and there should be an outline or something like that right? I added the shoutbox on the portal and the Index and now this it how it shows, I guessed its something with the css so I copied the shoutbox.css to theme folder and added
@import url("shoutbox.css");
to the stylesheet.css
Image
Any idea?
Thanks
If you think there should be anything around then either gonna
break new ground or try this sample one for prosilver.

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p7660945

My own center block creation may show you what's possible ::

Image

In order to hide the error message regarding status 0, try

http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php? ... _id=774132
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
sathsara
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:33 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by sathsara »

Thanks for the help easygo,
but Im havin some problems, editing the chat.js did not solve the error and the shoutbox inside the box [your sample] is not working at all. and also I can't see any "user names" inside the shoutbox

Thanks
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

It works pretty well! Ensure you have purged the cache.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
sathsara
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:33 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by sathsara »

I tried but the only thing show up is this, Why don't I have user names in the shout box?

Image
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”