[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
ameisez
Registered User
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:04 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by ameisez »

easygo wrote:
br0nks wrote:hello, i have problem with that chat..

i mean, how can i add a some more emoticons?
can someone tell me step by step how to do it?

thanks so much!

Yeah, why not! First upload a new image file into chat/img/emoticons/.
Then open the script file chat/js/config.js in your text editor
and find the following code or array ::

Code: Select all

 	// Defines the list of emoticon files associated with the emoticon codes:
	emoticonFiles: new Array(
		'smile.png',
		'sad.png',
		'wink.png',
		'razz.png',
		'grin.png',
		'plain.png',
		'surprise.png',
		'confused.png',
		'glasses.png',
		'eek.png',
		'cool.png',
		'smile-big.png',
		'crying.png',
		'kiss.png',
		'angel.png',
		'devilish.png',
		'monkey.png',
		'idea.png',
		'important.png',
		'help.png',
		'error.png',
		'warning.png',
		'favorite.png'
	),
Here you can add the new file similar to the other values.

Now add a new emoticon code using this array (you will find it directly above)

Code: Select all

	// Defines the list of allowed emoticon codes:
	emoticonCodes: new Array(
		':)',
		':(',
		';)',
		':P',
		':D',
		':|',
		':O',
		':?',
		'8)',
		'8o',
		'B)',
		':-)',
		':-(',
		':-*',
		'O:-D',
		'>:-D',
		':o)',
		':idea:',
		':important:',
		':help:',
		':error:',
		':warning:',
		':favorite:'
 	),
Note that related entries should be in the same place
regarding the order in both arrays.

That's all! Hope it helps.
is there any unacceptable characters in the code? like for example I am using ":->" for my smug.gif smiley. In phpbb, it is not working probably because of the ">" character. after series of testing, it looks like that the following characters are not usable. "/", "\", ">", "<", " " ", would it be the same in this chat?
PHPBB on HOSTGATOR SERVER. MY PERSONAL CHOICE ;)
Need phpBB images and buttons? HIRE ME
my MOD: BB3 Media Player | a phpbb based media player
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

No, there's not the same regExp in use. Avoid single quotes (escaped or not) and the "&".

Also note that "\" wouldn't make sense because the escape char doesn't show up as a part of your code.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
Mudjosh
Registered User
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:04 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Mudjosh »

I am looking around and I cannot seem to find a way to remove the Language and Style dropdown menus.

I just need to find where to look and what I am looking for..

The reason I am removing them is because I am not using the chat the full 100%.. I reduced the width of the chat and the language dropdown menu went behind the chat area partially and looks horrible.

So as I don't really need it, I thought I would remove both the language and style menus.

If you could tell me where to look and what to look for, it would be amazing!

Thanks!
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Mudjosh wrote:I am looking around and I cannot seem to find a way to remove the Language and Style dropdown menus.

I just need to find where to look and what I am looking for..

The reason I am removing them is because I am not using the chat the full 100%.. I reduced the width of the chat and the language dropdown menu went behind the chat area partially and looks horrible.

So as I don't really need it, I thought I would remove both the language and style menus.

If you could tell me where to look and what to look for, it would be amazing!

Thanks!
It's your call! Here we go ::

Open chat/lib/template/loggedIn.html in your text editor and find/delete

Code: Select all

			<label for="styleSelection">[LANG]style[/LANG]:</label>
			<select id="styleSelection" onchange="ajaxChat.setActiveStyleSheet(ajaxChat.getSelectedStyle());">[STYLE_OPTIONS/]</select>
			<label for="languageSelection">[LANG]language[/LANG]:</label>
			<select id="languageSelection" onchange="ajaxChat.switchLanguage(this.value);">[LANGUAGE_OPTIONS/]</select>
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
Mudjosh
Registered User
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:04 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Mudjosh »

Perfect!

I know you did hard work on that.. But it just didn't look nice the way I was using it..

But this is absolutely EXACTLY what I have been looking for since about 2 weeks ago..

Thanks goes to the whole team who built this!

~ Jason
Bogey
Registered User
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:31 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Bogey »

I don't want my users to change their nickname... how could I turn that option off?

[EDIT:] Never mind... it's in config.php found it and fixed it :)
User avatar
RiTz21
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:20 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by RiTz21 »

I have phpbb 3.0.3 with this Mod fully functional in Chat mode.
If I upgrade to phpbb 3.0.4, will this Mod still function correctly?

RiTz21
Last edited by RiTz21 on Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

RiTz21 wrote:I have phpbb 3.0.3 with this Mod fully functional in Chat mode.
I I upgrade to phpbb 3.0.4, will this Mod still function correctly?

RiTz21
Yes, why not? The AJAX chat is more an add-on as a board modification. So as long as you keep in mind
what phpbb file addition you did before, it should work up to the next board upgrade (phpbb4?)
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by WheelGuy »

When the chat is intergrated into phpBB3, does it check the users ip address? I have a user that keeps getting "rejected" from the chat because of "Invalid IP Address". The only people that can see or log into chat, have to be registered users on the forum and are normally logged into the forum.
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Yes, by default it will be checked whether the IP address is already in use.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by WheelGuy »

Is there a possible workaround or have it just verify the IP matches to the user?
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Usually, it works as it should be. If not, or in order to figure it out, try again w/o
ipCheck by setting this option to false. See config file chat/lib/config.php
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
User avatar
Alternativa
Registered User
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Alternativa »

Why am I getting this error almost every time when I try to delete message.

error is:

Error: Connection status: 0

There is no error in Opera 9.63 or IE7 only in FF 3.05.

MySQL 5.0.67
PHP Version 5.2.6

Is there any solution?
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Alternativa wrote:Why am I getting this error almost every time when I try to delete message.

error is:

Error: Connection status: 0

There is no error in Opera 9.63 or IE7 only in FF 3.05.

MySQL 5.0.67
PHP Version 5.2.6

Is there any solution?
Here you go for my simple workaround ::

http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php? ... _id=774132

to hide this message (if status == 0), because 0 is not well-defined.

Regards
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

gr00vytunes wrote:Does anyone know where Ajax gets its time from? I am posted messages and they are 8 or 9 mins behind time??

Thanks in Advance

Anyone?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”