[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
roBBx
Registered User
Posts: 287
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by roBBx » Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:41 am

Hi to all, thanks madblueimp for your work!

I installed the chat with no problem (it's pretty easy), but the shoutbox results in that way, without any stylesheet (similar in prosilver):

Image

Anyone could tell me what's wrong? I controlled the instructions and verified the paths several times :?

Thanks!

SyzmicRecords
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by SyzmicRecords » Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:10 am

greetings all. great modification by easygo.. i installed the chat with no problems using the install file.. my forum structuring is /forum the chat is located /forum/chat . I found the modification for integrating the chat directly into the forum as created by 4seven. I'm having a slight problem, and I have attempted to get assistance from the author, but no replies..

here is the error:

Code: Select all

<b>[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice</b>: in file <b>/chat/lib/class/AJAXChatFileSystem.php</b> on line <b>15</b>: <b>file_get_contents(/chat/lib/template/loggedIn.html) [<a href='function.file-get-contents'>function.file-get-contents</a>]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory</b><br />
I believe the error is just due too incorrect settings in my files, but I am unsure of where/what the problem is..

chat/index.php

Code: Select all

// Show all errors:
error_reporting(E_ALL);

// Path to the chat directory:
define('AJAX_CHAT_PATH', dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME']).'/');

// Include custom libraries and initialization code:
require(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/custom.php');

// Include Class libraries:
require(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php');

// Initialize the chat:
$ajaxChat = new CustomAJAXChat();
?>
includes/functions.php

Code: Select all

    function getChatInterface() {
       static $ajaxChat;
 
       if(!$ajaxChat) {
          // URL to the chat directory:
          if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_URL')) {
             define('AJAX_CHAT_URL', '/');
          }
 
          // Path to the chat directory:
          if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_PATH')) {
             define('AJAX_CHAT_PATH', realpath(dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME']).'/chat').'/');
          }
 
          // Validate the path to the chat:
          if(@is_file(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php')) {
 
             // Include Class libraries:
             require_once(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php');
 
             // Initialize the chat interface:
             $ajaxChat = new CustomAJAXChatInterface();
          }
       }
 
       return $ajaxChat;
    }
i'm unsure if there are more settings then this.. much thanks for the assistance..
http://www.syzmicrecords.com/forum Tester/test123

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Tue Nov 04, 2008 4:13 pm

SyzmicRecords, what happens w/o using that add-on which displays all online chat users?

I guess this one is kinda bad defined ::
SyzmicRecords wrote:includes/functions.php

Code: Select all

    function getChatInterface() {
       static $ajaxChat;
 
       if(!$ajaxChat) {
          // URL to the chat directory:
          if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_URL')) {
             define('AJAX_CHAT_URL', '/');
          }
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

SyzmicRecords
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by SyzmicRecords » Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:17 pm

prior to adding the integration code, the chat link would open up a new window with the chat. Also, all users in the chat would receive the * by their name on the online users section..

this is the 2nd attempt at getting this integration to work.. the first time i was using only notepad to open and edit php files, had some errors i was able to figure out.. i finally noticed using dreamweaver helped reduce the errors..

now i am stuck at a standstill..

if you state it looks improper, what could i attempt to correct it??? im up for any recommendations, seeing the mod author isnt offering any assistance..

much thanks..

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:51 pm

SyzmicRecords wrote:this is the 2nd attempt at getting this integration to work.. the first time i was using only notepad to open and edit php files, had some errors i was able to figure out.. i finally noticed using dreamweaver helped reduce the errors..
Hum...as I've heard about several problems regarding Dreamweaver
and its usability as text editor, I would suggest you to use ::

http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

or similar.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

SyzmicRecords
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by SyzmicRecords » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:11 pm

ok i'll give it all a shot again with n++ and see what i come up with..

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:35 pm

Well then you're on a dead good way! Next, I would try

Code: Select all

	function getChatInterface() {

	global $phpbb_root_path;
	static $ajaxChat;

	if(!$ajaxChat) {
		// URL to the chat directory:
		if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_URL')) {
			define('AJAX_CHAT_URL', $phpbb_root_path . 'chat/');
		}
instead of

Code: Select all

	function getChatInterface() {
	
	static $ajaxChat;
	
	if(!$ajaxChat) {
		// URL to the chat directory:
		if(!defined('AJAX_CHAT_URL')) {
			define('AJAX_CHAT_URL', '/');
		}
for a number of reasons.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

SyzmicRecords
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by SyzmicRecords » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:11 pm

ok.. what about the paths... do they look correct?? its hard for me to understand that..

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:35 pm

SyzmicRecords wrote:ok.. what about the paths... do they look correct?? its hard for me to understand that..
Sry SyzmicRecords, I'm not sure what you're asking for at this point. The replacement job
from my previous post is the only one that had to be done, as far as I've seen yet.

However, this could be worth reading ::

http://ajax-chat.wiki.sourceforge.net/p ... +chat+path
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

KiELiE
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:20 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by KiELiE » Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:25 am

I recently installed the Ajax chat mod (ajax_chat-0.8.1.2_phpBB3).

I would like to chance a few things in the chat program.

1) When you click on a users name on the left it pastes the name in the input box,
what I would like it to do is add : after the nick, or wrap the nick in [], like nick: or [nick] for instance.

2) When someone has clicked on your nick and posts a msg, I would like the posted time on the left of the message that was posted to you to show in red, to get the users attention.

I would really appreciate the help, thank you.

fimo
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Sweden

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by fimo » Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:35 pm

easygo wrote:
20 wrote:Screenshots or demo :?:
Sure, why not :: a live demo is currently available at http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/
Hi easygo,

I have been trying to have the same nice blue box around my shoutbox but all i have is this ?
and i dont know how to change it to the same blue round corned in a box as the one on your site ?
can you help me there ?

This is what i got sofar... :oops:

Image
Last edited by fimo on Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:25 am

OK then let's go, fimo. :idea: After doing that ::

http://ajax-chat.wiki.sourceforge.net/p ... ntegration

place a new div tag like this (sample)

Code: Select all

<div class="forabg">
	<div class="inner">
		<span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>
		<ul class="topiclist">
			<li class="header">
				<dl>
					<dt>Shoutbox</dt>
				</dl>
			</li>
		</ul>
		<ul class="topiclist forums">
			<li>
				<dl>
					<dd>{SHOUTBOX}</dd>
				</dl>
			</li>
		</ul>
		<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span>
	</div>
</div>
into the html file of your choice.

Hope it helps.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

fimo
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Sweden

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by fimo » Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:03 pm

Hello again Easygo,

Thanks for the answer and it really helped my but how do i get

1)
the text input field to be a bit longer ?

2)
How to make a right pane, at the moment when ever a user type something it will push down the
chat box instead of a windows scrol on the right side (as on your site

Thank you so very much for your help

:)

Image

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:47 pm

// public goes private
Last edited by easygo on Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
AmateurCichlids
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Connecticut

Re: [DEV] AJAX Chat

Post by AmateurCichlids » Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:17 am

easygo wrote:
AmateurCichlids wrote:
madblueimp wrote:
Mav wrote:Nice looking mod. is it integrated with the phpbb3 smilies, or does it use it's own? it doesn't look like it uses the forum smilies (unless you've customised those already)
No, it uses it's own - they are part of the Tango Desktop Project (see img/emoticons/license.txt
).
To use your own smilies, the easiest way would be replacing the smilies with different ones using the same names.
You might as well adjust the method "replaceEmoticons" in js/chat.js to add your own smiley replacements.
But make sure you don't produce invalid XHTML.
The users on my board love the chat, but they miss all the forum smilies that we had in our old chat. I had modified an early version of chatspot to run on our old phpbb2 forum. Not wanting to go through that process again of modifying, rewriting, coding from scratch my own chat, I'd love to be able to change this one to use board smilies. Can you tell me if there's any php files I can modify and what function/class where I could parse $message or $text to use the built in functions already in phpbb3? I read through about 40 pages of this post the other night, never did find anything besides this old post. I'd modify chat.js as you suggested, but I don't know any javascript.
Thanks,
Tim
I guess you didn't read the important thing in post 1 of this thread, am I right?

So, my suggestion is to try this way ::

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0#p7169885

instead of reprogramming the whole script base just to have
the same old smilies as phpBB at the end of the day.

Hope it helps.
What important thing are you referring to?
This forum is still user to user support and I should ask madblueimp on the other site for support?
If that's what you're asking, I did read that. I also read a note that he was looking for someone to take over back in June or so.
I've also read the posts on replacing and adding smilies in js/config.js.
This seems very inefficient to me, since I already have to add and remove them for the board, it would be nice if I only had to do it in one place. Maybe have the chat only show the smilies that show for posting, but have all the board smilies allowed. Since we have over 200 on our board, listing them all in the config.js file isn't what I was looking for as a solution.

Has anyone set private room and private messaging to false in the lib/config.php and had it work?
Thanks,
Tim

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”