[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

indocobraone wrote:Could it be an error in sockets?
Then you may get a socket connection error, do you?
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
indocobraone
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:52 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by indocobraone »

easygo wrote:
indocobraone wrote:Could it be an error in sockets?
Then you may get a socket connection error, do you?
No I did not get a socket connection error.

jimmygjim
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 4:25 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by jimmygjim »

easygo wrote:It's even hard to reproduce w/o having a chat link + guest access + +
So what's the MySQL server version? I guess it should be v4.1.3 or higher
in order to work correctly with the AJAX Chat database installer.

See also :: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0#p7548625
Thanks for responding

ETA

removed my link, some idiot posted on the board - I thought this was a good community

I'll PM you

railroadfan2
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:19 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by railroadfan2 »

jimcarrel wrote:In folder chat/lib/config.php

Code: Select all

// Defines if login/logout and channel enter/leave are displayed:
$config['showChannelMessages'] = false;
change true to false, and chatbot login and logout will not show.
Thanks very much..that should reduce my daily log size by about 33% :) This fix works great.

accphotography
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:51 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by accphotography »

easygo wrote:
accphotography wrote:Would you like to see the code from the file you mentioned? Is that what you were getting at?
Yes, of course.
http://www.turboupload.com/files/get/kN ... ctions.txt

Sorry it's so long. I wasn't certain if you needed the whole thing or of any other way to show you.

Thanks!!

ACC
Last edited by camm15h on Sun Nov 23, 2008 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Code tag limit problem, uploaded to link instead.

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

Well, next time try to narrow down the choice and use BBCode code instead of quote, please.
Simply because nobody's wanting to get an eye disease, nor trouble with the board police.

Anyway! The problem might be caused by your path definition
accphotography wrote:define('AJAX_CHAT_PATH', realpath(dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME']).'../chat').'/');
as the result is something bad like shown in this sample :: /www/home/whatever/forum../chat/
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

railroadfan2 wrote:
jimcarrel wrote:In folder chat/lib/config.php

Code: Select all

// Defines if login/logout and channel enter/leave are displayed:
$config['showChannelMessages'] = false;
change true to false, and chatbot login and logout will not show.
Thanks very much..that should reduce my daily log size by about 33% :) This fix works great.
Whatever that means after weeks. 8-)

Unfortunately, this config setting won't have any effect on the Chat related logs view,
as far as I know! Please correct me if I'm wrong here. Thanks in advance.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

jimmygjim wrote:
easygo wrote:It's even hard to reproduce w/o having a chat link + guest access + +
So what's the MySQL server version? I guess it should be v4.1.3 or higher
in order to work correctly with the AJAX Chat database installer.

See also :: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0#p7548625
Thanks for responding

ETA

removed my link, some idiot posted on the board - I thought this was a good community

I'll PM you
Sorry, I haven't got a clue what's going wrong there after visiting your web site :?
as the returned HTML source seemed to be OK for me. Maybe, it's just a database issue
but most likely it's caused by the fact that you're using a virtual domain name.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

nexans76
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by nexans76 »

Code: Select all

#content .admin 
#content .moderator 
#content .user 
#content .guest 

Code: Select all

#content .vip { 
      color:#00AA00; 
   }
 
????????

Code: Select all

// Define AJAX Chat user roles: 
define('AJAX_CHAT_CHATBOT',      4); 
define('AJAX_CHAT_ADMIN',      3); 
define('AJAX_CHAT_MODERATOR',   2); 
define('AJAX_CHAT_USER',      1); 
define('AJAX_CHAT_GUEST',      0); 
define('AJAX_CHAT_VIP',      5);
VIP Members, Uploader, Supporter, online list of color?

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

easygo wrote:Means you have just to place a chat link like

Code: Select all

<a href="{YOUR_CHAT_PATH}">Chat</a>
e.g. in the overall_header.html of your phpBB3 style(s)
Lord, 94 pages....

I have this working just fine as it is, but my users have requested that i make the chat link show up in red if there are people in chat. I am not enough of a programmer to puzzle it out on my own, I fear, but something like this, maybe?

In functions.php, the existing code is:

Code: Select all

'U_CHAT'     => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}/chat/index.$phpEx"),
'CHAT_LABEL'   => 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']',
'CHAT_TITLE'    => 'Online: '.htmlentities(implode(', ', getChatOnlineUsers()), ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'), 
Can I do something like:

Code: Select all

'U_CHAT'      => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}/chat/index.$phpEx"),
              
If (count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()>0) {
'CHAT_LABEL'     => color="FF0000" 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']',  else,
'CHAT_LABEL'  => 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']', }

'CHAT_TITLE'   => 'Online: '.htmlentities(implode(', ', getChatOnlineUsers()), ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'), 
I know that it looks horrible, but it certainly proves my contention that I am no programmer... :oops:
Muggins

Potleg
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 12:25 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Potleg »

I'm looking for a method to unistall this Ajax chat as i now have an ijax chat within the forums and that chat is conflictiong with this current chat.

is there a method to uninstall this chat?

the link for the chat is here: www.xglclan.co.uk/forums/chat

User avatar
katib
Registered User
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:27 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by katib »

Hello
Is it possible to add an Edit button near the Delete button in the Shoutbox !?
Thank you

User avatar
Frug
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Frug »

Potleg wrote:I'm looking for a method to unistall this Ajax chat as i now have an ijax chat within the forums and that chat is conflictiong with this current chat.

is there a method to uninstall this chat?

the link for the chat is here: http://www.xglclan.co.uk/forums/chat
Delete the folder containing the chat, delete the modifications you made to your phpbb3 files, and delete the 4 database tables that begin with the words ajax_chat.
- - - - - - - - - - - Do not use dotted lines - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - - - or automatic signatures - - - - - - - - - -
Thar Shaddin - online freeform roleplaying for writers

nexans76
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by nexans76 »

ImageImage

ImageImage

what kind of changes are needed? install.xml? how is it necessary to make it?

nexans76
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by nexans76 »

what kind of changes are needed? install.xml? how is it necessary to make it?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”