[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

Hi Guys...

Does anyone know how i can get the Chat to show up on a different page. It is currently shown on my board index. I would also like to see it on my Arcade Index Page and whilst playing an Arcade game!

If you have any info that would be great!

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

If you will help me find someone to answer my question about changing the color of the link if there are members in chat, I will share my secrets! :D

Code: Select all

            <ul class="linklist rightside">

                <!-- IF not S_IS_BOT --><!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
                <li class="icon-ucp"><a href="{U_LINKS}" title="Links">Links</a></li>
                <li class="icon-chat"><a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{CHAT_TITLE}">{CHAT_LABEL}</a></li>
                <li class="icon-chat"><a href="{U_ABOUT}" title="Shoutbox">{L_SHOUT}</a></li>


<!-- IF S_GALLERY_NOTIFY --><li class="icon-gallery-notify"><!-- ELSE --><li class="icon-gallery"><!-- ENDIF --><a href="{U_IMAGE_GALLERY}" title="{L_GALLERY}">{L_GALLERY}</a></li><!-- ENDIF --><!-- ENDIF -->


                <li class="icon-faq"><a href="{U_FAQ}" title="{L_FAQ_EXPLAIN}">{L_FAQ}</a></li>
                <li class="icon-search"><a href="{U_SEARCH}" title="{L_SEARCH_ADV_EXPLAIN}">{L_SEARCH}</a></li>
                <!-- IF not S_IS_BOT -->
                    <!-- IF S_DISPLAY_MEMBERLIST --><li class="icon-members"><a href="{U_MEMBERLIST}" title="{L_MEMBERLIST_EXPLAIN}">{L_MEMBERLIST}</a></li><!-- ENDIF -->
                    <!-- IF not S_USER_LOGGED_IN --><li class="icon-register"><a href="{U_REGISTER}">{L_REGISTER}</a></li><!-- ENDIF -->
                    <li class="icon-logout"><a href="{U_LOGIN_LOGOUT}" title="{L_LOGIN_LOGOUT}" accesskey="l">{L_LOGIN_LOGOUT}</a></li>
                <!-- ENDIF --> 
The above is a snippet from my overall_header.html. I have had the mod installed for quite a while, so I can't recall any tribulations I may have had, but this works for me! The second instance, for the shoutbox, uses a different mod, but the same icon. Please don't be confused by the duplicates.
Muggins

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

muggins wrote:
easygo wrote:Means you have just to place a chat link like

Code: Select all

<a href="{YOUR_CHAT_PATH}">Chat</a>
e.g. in the overall_header.html of your phpBB3 style(s)
Lord, 94 pages....

I have this working just fine as it is, but my users have requested that i make the chat link show up in red if there are people in chat. I am not enough of a programmer to puzzle it out on my own, I fear, but something like this, maybe?

In functions.php, the existing code is:

Code: Select all

'U_CHAT'     => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}/chat/index.$phpEx"),
'CHAT_LABEL'   => 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']',
'CHAT_TITLE'    => 'Online: '.htmlentities(implode(', ', getChatOnlineUsers()), ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'), 
Can I do something like:

Code: Select all

'U_CHAT'      => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}/chat/index.$phpEx"),
              
If (count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()>0) {
'CHAT_LABEL'     => color="FF0000" 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']',  else,
'CHAT_LABEL'  => 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']', }

'CHAT_TITLE'   => 'Online: '.htmlentities(implode(', ', getChatOnlineUsers()), ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'), 
I know that it looks horrible, but it certainly proves my contention that I am no programmer... :oops:
Seems to be a bit more special but OK // here you go

Try adding

Code: Select all

		S_CHAT_ONLINE		=> (sizeof(getChatOnlineUserIDs())) ? true : false,
either BEFORE or AFTER those lines ::

Code: Select all

		'U_CHAT'     => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}/chat/index.$phpEx"),
		'CHAT_LABEL'   => 'Chat ['.count(getChatOnlineUserIDs()).']',
		'CHAT_TITLE'    => 'Online: '.htmlentities(implode(', ', getChatOnlineUsers()), ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'),
Also REPLACE this line in your overall_header.html

Code: Select all

                <li class="icon-chat"><a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{CHAT_TITLE}">{CHAT_LABEL}</a></li>
with

Code: Select all

                <li class="icon-chat"><a href="{U_CHAT}" title="{CHAT_TITLE}"<!-- IF S_CHAT_ONLINE --> style="color: #FF0000;"<!-- ENDIF -->>{CHAT_LABEL}</a></li>
Hope it helps.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

Thank you very much!

It certainly looks like it will work, and it most certainly looks better than that mess of a bass-ackwards question I posed! :mrgreen:

I will post back after I make the edits.
Muggins

User avatar
RiTz21
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:20 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by RiTz21 »

HELP!

I upgraded my Forum from 3.00 -> 3.03 and everything went well, except for the Ajax Chat version Version 2.0.0B8 that I had as a Mod (the only Mod on my Forum) (Chat was fine in 3.0.2, but was like below after going from 3.0.2. to 3.0.3)

Now, the Chat area at the bottom of the index page is broken and looks like this:
Image

How best should I fix this!?
Ideally, I think it would be best to uninstall it (how?!?!) and install a more recent non-Beta version...

Thanks for your Help!!

RiTz21
Image

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

RiTz21 wrote:HELP!

I upgraded my Forum from 3.00 -> 3.03 and everything went well, except for the Ajax Chat version Version 2.0.0B8 that I had as a Mod (the only Mod on my Forum) (Chat was fine in 3.0.2, but was like below after going from 3.0.2. to 3.0.3)
Damn close, but no cigar! The goal is that way ::

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0&t=543865

Good luck anyways.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

Your color change edits are just what doctor ordered, and I learned a good lesson in coding!

I owe you a beer, or a cup of coffee if you like. :D
Muggins

TogaOga
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:58 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by TogaOga »

I'm sorry, I'm kind of new to all of this

http://www.whitestones.us/Forum/chat/

you might have to register to see, but my chat just don't seem to work at all.

jimcarrel
Registered User
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by jimcarrel »

TogaOga wrote:I'm sorry, I'm kind of new to all of this

http://www.whitestones.us/Forum/chat/

you might have to register to see, but my chat just don't seem to work at all.
It's been a while since I used this chat. I'm pretty sure that you have not gone thru your config.php in the lib folder. You dont have your forums session id set in the config, you apparently havn't set a default style in the config, and a few other settings you have not changed.
Grace--Getting what I don't deserve
Mercy--Not getting what I do deserve

User avatar
MrMontana
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:14 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by MrMontana »

It doesnt work for me either...

All i did is changed the SQL settings, in config.php, but i do not know what else to edit to get it to work..
I get this if i go /chat/index.php :

Code: Select all

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
      
<iframe name="rotater" Width="100%" height="100%" frameborder="0" src="http://xlphp.net/blog2/" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowtransparency="true" scrolling="auto">
</iframe>
−
<!--
 399 310 772 188 121 747 908 375 658 989 471 891 842 282 539 788 863 399 310 772 188 121 747 908 375 658 989 471 891 842 282 539 788 863 399 310 772 188 121 747 908 375 658 989 471 891 842 282 539 788 863 526 640 917 51 415 140 573 716 965 688 395 829 76 810 801 733 244 95 205 283 488 189 705 173 743 574 947 608 694 973 886 298 223 449 99 309 936 432 209 623 454  ph
-->
I dont think i did soemthing wrong..
But i dont think i set default style either..
And there is no Installation Manual -.-
THe manual in readme.txt doesnt help at all..

User avatar
Sephiroth_bg
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 9:27 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Sephiroth_bg »

I have a question also. I was trying to find the answer here all morning but i got tired of reading, so sorry if there actually is one.
I'm using phpbb3.03 and i'm trying to install this ajax chat. however i have forced using the X-treme red style instead of prosilver or subsilver. And therefore i've got some problems with overall_header . I'm not quite sure what i am supposed to write there. The code is:

Code: Select all

<td background="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/header/h33.png" width="20%" height="66" align="center">
					<A HREF="{U_FAQ}"
					onMouseOver = "rollover('faq')"
					onMouseOut = "rollout('faq')"
					>
					<IMG SRC="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/buttons/faq1.png"
					NAME="faq"
					ALT="Home Page" BORDER=0
					HEIGHT=40 WIDTH=101
					>
					</A>
					<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
					<!--
					setrollover("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/buttons/faq2.png");
					//-->
					</SCRIPT>
				</td>
So it is a bit different. I will appreciate any help, thank in advance.

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

MrMontana wrote:It doesnt work for me either...

All i did is changed the SQL settings, in config.php, but i do not know what else to edit to get it to work..
I get this if i go /chat/index.php :

Code: Select all

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
      
<iframe name="rotater" Width="100%" height="100%" frameborder="0" src="http://xlphp.net/blog2/" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowtransparency="true" scrolling="auto">
</iframe>
−
<!--
 399 310 772 188 121 747 908 375 658 989 471 891 842 282 539 788 863 399 310 772 188 121 747 908 375 658 989 471 891 842 282 539 788 863 399 310 772 188 121 747 908 375 658 989 471 891 842 282 539 788 863 526 640 917 51 415 140 573 716 965 688 395 829 76 810 801 733 244 95 205 283 488 189 705 173 743 574 947 608 694 973 886 298 223 449 99 309 936 432 209 623 454  ph
-->
I dont think i did soemthing wrong..
But i dont think i set default style either..
And there is no Installation Manual -.-
THe manual in readme.txt doesnt help at all..
Strange somehow, but now you are the 2nd one here :?

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p7683375

and all I can say is such an iframe called rotater has never been a part of that mod installation.
So, if you don't know where the iframe came from, please contact your webhost provider.

If you think the problem is caused by another matter, come up with a chat link.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

WascallyWabbit
Registered User
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by WascallyWabbit »

I am having a problem after a domain/server switch. The chat module loaded fine before, but now it loads all the graphics and displays the welcome message and stops there. The chat link shows which users are connected correctly as well. It just hangs at the welcome message. Any help you be most appreciated :)

tx

accphotography
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:51 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by accphotography »

My domain finally took over today and now I'm getting this problem:
http://www.accphotography.com/chat/

What's wrong?

Thanks!

ACC

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

Double-check that your cookie settings are in synch, and that they reflect the domain name change.

The first error message suggests something like that to my untrained eye...
Muggins

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”