[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
xtremesniper
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:43 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by xtremesniper » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:19 am

easygo wrote:
xtremesniper wrote:No matter what setting I set my config.js to, the chat does not reflect them. Even after I purge the cache in the ACP. For example, I changed the settings so that...

1. sounds are off by default
2. showchannelmessages is off by default
3. auto focus on load is off by default

Thanks!
Don't forget the server-sided settings in chat/lib/config.php, especially for showChannelMessages.

Set $config['showChannelMessages'] to false, and it should be done. :)

To get the chat sounds off by default, go into chat/js/config.js and set audio to false.

-- worked for me after reloading the page (see loudspeaker)

Still no change? Then, it could be necessary to purge the browser's cache as well. :idea:

To the auto focus: Never tested yet! There might be a problem, let's see...
Thank you, modifying the chat/lib/config.php actually did the trick. What does chat/js/config.js affect, then? It seems to have similar setting values within it.

Now on to my next question:

I would love to know how you managed to implement your chatbox on this page ( http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/ ) the way that you did. Instead of a full blown chat system (using iFrames), I was looking for an implementation similar to that.

Thanks again!

gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:38 am

easygo wrote:
gr00vytunes wrote:
easygo wrote:
gr00vytunes wrote:when running the Chat on a local webserver the time is fine! so it must be the hosting server who's time is out??
You got it! That's why I made it bold for you last time. :)

See :: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p8300795

Well in chat/lib/config.php

Code: Select all

// Defines the timezone offset in seconds (-12*60*60 to 12*60*60) - if null, the server timezone is used:
$config['timeZoneOffset'] = null;
So it is the Server! I reported it to the Hosting company. If they don't sort it at least I can offset the time :)
I wish you were right, honestly! But this setting will only affect your opening hours (if currently in use)

On that score, there's still something to do. I know... :oops:
Damn! lol..

On the time issue My Domain Host Support has logged into chat to see it and has said the following

"I've just checked on a shell on the server itself, as well as echo'ing it out with a PHP script and can see that it is correct in both cases."

So back to the drawing board... Weird how the chat time is correct when it is installed on my local web server!

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:08 am

xtremesniper wrote:I would love to know how you managed to implement your chatbox on this page ( http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/ ) the way that you did. Instead of a full blown chat system (using iFrames), I was looking for an implementation similar to that.

Thanks again!
So if you would like to have roughly the same shoutbox design, just follow me. :)

http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/forum/vi ... ?f=9&t=278

That's it! Enjoy...
Last edited by easygo on Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

silkdream
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:14 pm

Error: Connection status: 404

Post by silkdream » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:16 pm

Error: Connection status: 404

What is the continuous problem?

Connection between DB?

xtremesniper
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:43 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by xtremesniper » Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:33 am

Thank you for that explanation, easygo. I haven't been able to test it yet because I think the full chat iFrame is growing on me, but I have saved it for later reference.

Thanks again, and great work on the mod! :D

Nathanael30
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:17 am

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Nathanael30 » Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:40 pm

Hi there,

first thumbs up to this chat, very very good !

Now i have a question about 'Adding additional chat channels'

i've added some channels but now i don't know where and how to set this from the wiki :

Note: This setting would add these channels as public channels accessible for all chat users. To restrict access to such a custom channel you would have to add your own custom conditions before adding the custom channels inside the method getChannels().

Can please anyone help me ?

WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by WheelGuy » Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:00 am

Would it be possible to use this chat as an IRC chat client?

Taer
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Taer » Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:10 am

Hey There,

Cant seem to load the wiki page, just a quick question about how to change the color of usernames in ajax chat.

Edit:

Found it here:

http://ajax-chat.wiki.sourceforge.net/p ... user+group

Great chat, keep up the awesome work :)

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:35 pm

xtremesniper wrote:Thank you for that explanation, easygo. I haven't been able to test it yet because I think the full chat iFrame is growing on me, but I have saved it for later reference.

Thanks again, and great work on the mod! :D
LOL who'd have thought that after quite a few requests // Anyway, thanks for the kind words.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes » Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:32 pm

gr00vytunes wrote:
easygo wrote:
gr00vytunes wrote:
easygo wrote:
gr00vytunes wrote:when running the Chat on a local webserver the time is fine! so it must be the hosting server who's time is out??
You got it! That's why I made it bold for you last time. :)

See :: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p8300795

Well in chat/lib/config.php

Code: Select all

// Defines the timezone offset in seconds (-12*60*60 to 12*60*60) - if null, the server timezone is used:
$config['timeZoneOffset'] = null;
So it is the Server! I reported it to the Hosting company. If they don't sort it at least I can offset the time :)
I wish you were right, honestly! But this setting will only affect your opening hours (if currently in use)

On that score, there's still something to do. I know... :oops:
Damn! lol..

On the time issue My Domain Host Support has logged into chat to see it and has said the following

"I've just checked on a shell on the server itself, as well as echo'ing it out with a PHP script and can see that it is correct in both cases."

So back to the drawing board... Weird how the chat time is correct when it is installed on my local web server!
Does anyone have any other ideas? This time thing is driving me crazy!!

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:03 pm

Move to a more serious host. :)
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

User avatar
thejdm
Registered User
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:18 pm
Location: pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by thejdm » Sun Jan 11, 2009 2:49 pm

looks pretty interesting might give this a go.
www.thejdm.com ...turn it on, y0

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo » Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:28 pm

easygo wrote:
gr00vytunes wrote:
easygo wrote:
gr00vytunes wrote:when running the Chat on a local webserver the time is fine! so it must be the hosting server who's time is out??
You got it! That's why I made it bold for you last time. :)

See :: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p8300795

Well in chat/lib/config.php

Code: Select all

// Defines the timezone offset in seconds (-12*60*60 to 12*60*60) - if null, the server timezone is used:
$config['timeZoneOffset'] = null;
So it is the Server! I reported it to the Hosting company. If they don't sort it at least I can offset the time :)
I wish you were right, honestly! But this setting will only affect your opening hours (if currently in use)

On that score, there's still something to do. I know... :oops:
@gr00vytunes

Here's a workaround now, especially for you! Let's go ::

OPEN

chat/lib/config.php

FIND/REPLACE

Code: Select all

$config['timeZoneOffset'] = null;
WITH

Code: Select all

$config['timeZoneOffset'] = 540;
OPEN

chat/lib/class/AJAXChat.php

FIND/REPLACE

Code: Select all

					NOW(),
					'.$this->db->makeSafe($this->ipToStorageFormat($ip)).',
WITH

Code: Select all

					DATE_ADD(NOW(), INTERVAL '.$this->getConfig('timeZoneOffset').' SECOND),
					'.$this->db->makeSafe($this->ipToStorageFormat($ip)).',
That's all! Enjoy...
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:05 pm

Hi easygo.. Nice one will have a try and report back!!

Padz
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:13 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by Padz » Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:19 pm

Hi,
at first i'm sry about my english, because i'm German.

My Problem:

When I edit the /lib/config.php file, I get an error like this:

Code: Select all

at /chat/lib/config.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /chat/lib/class/AJAXChatHTTPHeader.php on line 36: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /chat/lib/config.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /chat/lib/class/AJAXChatHTTPHeader.php on line 37: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /chat/lib/config.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /chat/lib/class/AJAXChatHTTPHeader.php on line 41: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /chat/lib/config.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /chat/lib/class/AJAXChatHTTPHeader.php on line 45: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /chat/lib/config.php:1)
In this example I edit this line:
$config['limitChannelList'] = null;

to this
$config['limitChannelList'] = array(0,1,2);

And these IDs exist!

It is equal whether I edit the languages, so that you can choose only German and English, or chosse only between two themes.
This error above always appears.

Padz

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”